Why so many different Linux programs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
As covered in my other thread, I've finally made Linux Mint, with the help of several kind members here, the only program on my computer. I completely erased Windows. It's gone. As I explained in my other thread, I'm a novice when it comes to computers.

So my question is: Why are there so many versions of Linux programs? For example, why is there a Linux Mint, and a Linux Mate. What's the difference? What is Gnome? Fedora? What can one do that another one can't. I'm sure to a computer literate person it all makes perfect sense. To me, not so much.

Last edited:
The reason there are so many versions is that different distros are for different things or even different layouts. If you check out distrowatch as it shows different versions and what they are for. There is a version called Tomato firmware for Broadcom routers. Some are for tablets, movie production (Ubuntu studio) etc.

google can be your friend.
I am fairly tech savvy but a relative linux noob... those are pretty basic questions so I will take a stab at it.
I dont promise 100% correctness
smile.gif

Mint is a distro.. maintained by the "linux mint" people
The combination of different software programs packaged with the installer that you just installed.

Fedora is a different distribution of linux maintained by different people.

Mate and Gnome are desktop environments (there are quite a few others)

Basically what you see when you are at the desktop.. they all look different, and have different resource requirements.

For example one might run better on a 10 year old laptop, and another might LOOK much better on a new modern computer.

There are also commercial versions of linux with commercial support(mainly for business use) that cost $$$

There are also specialized use variants.
for example one that is ready to go as a router software, or one with Graphic design software all ready to go.