Best oil and filter for over 200k miles?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. I have a 2007 Honda CR-V that just rolled over 200,000 miles and now needs an oil change, too. I'm 16, this is my "first car", I have only had it since September so I have never done an oil change on it before. I was curious to know what you guys would think the best oil and filter combo would be. If it matters, I get all my stuff at O'Reilly. Thanks!

Good on you for wanting to do the job yourself!

Telling us about your driving style will better help us recommend an oil/filter combo.

Do you know what the previous owner used?

Last edited:
First off - My hat's off to you for your motivation to do the work yourself. In my opinion, being able to do your own basic automotive maintenance is an extremely valuable thing.. and not enough young people today really know how to it, much less are willing to make the effort.

Having said that, without really knowing the history of that vehicle, nor your driving habits, I would say a good quality semi-syn and/or High-Mileage oil would do the trick, along with a good quality filter. Since you'll be buying from O'reilly, you might as well go with a WIX filter, or a Fram Tough Guard or Ultra.

Oil-wise, if I were in your shoes, I would most likely buy either Valvoline MaxLife or Pennzoil HM. Both are great oils, decently priced, and have good track records.

Good to see someone take the initiative to change their oil. While your oil is draining, it’s a perfect time to check your tires and tire pressures, your other fluid levels, and just a good look overall at the belts and underneath. Someday you will catch something in the early stages and easily fixable rather than waiting for failure and a expensive repair bill.

I agree with the previous suggestions of a synblend and or high mileage oil that meets specs.

Do you know what the previous owner used for oil? What oil filter is on it now?

welcome2.gif