Recent Topics
Hail damage means newer vehicle time!
by ZZman
06/20/18 03:39 PM
Trouble with Grease Gun
by tc1446
06/20/18 02:30 PM
Toyota brand conventional (TGMO)
by Jaha24k
06/20/18 01:45 PM
Any synthetic oil rebates currently or soon?
by 07Piloteer
06/20/18 01:32 PM
2018 Hyundai elantra motor oil
by kapama
06/20/18 01:00 PM
SN Plus on shelves
by 03s
06/20/18 12:23 PM
Group 90 Battery - 45 vs 60aH rating
by The Critic
06/20/18 12:19 PM
Tire on Church 15 Passenger Van
by Gebo
06/20/18 11:58 AM
Battery Disconnect Switch?
by Pike51
06/20/18 11:35 AM
03 Maxima Cam sensor questions
by LeakySeals
06/20/18 11:09 AM
Wood Fairing?? Yes, and it's beautiful!
by webfors
06/20/18 11:08 AM
2006 Prius
by Kira
06/20/18 11:06 AM
Amsoil XL 5w30, 10K OCI, 2006 Expeditition
by meborder
06/20/18 10:18 AM
Mouse Visiting Car
by Ifixyawata
06/20/18 10:07 AM
Hit a shopping cart at 30mph
by LeakySeals
06/20/18 10:00 AM
Let's Talk Bed Pillows
by LoneRanger
06/20/18 09:21 AM
Changed Speedo Gear on 700r4 Tailshaft
by Pike51
06/20/18 09:20 AM
Which do you prefer: ZL-1 Camaro or GS Corvette ?
by Mr Nice
06/20/18 08:41 AM
CVT Discussion
by Sierra048
06/20/18 08:28 AM
Can't get Unifi AP V2 to work on TDS...
by WhizkidTN
06/20/18 07:34 AM
Newest Members
nmac9, Theraven, battleman13, Shassis, Santo
65277 Registered Users
Who's Online
84 registered (A310, 28oz, Aero540T, 1998CamryCE, 853okg, 928, 10 invisible), 1653 Guests and 25 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65277 Members
67 Forums
285656 Topics
4767261 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4681297 - 03/01/18 07:57 AM Vid card not working,came with desktop....
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3652
Loc: los angeles
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4681314 - 03/01/18 08:20 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
gathermewool Offline


Registered: 01/09/09
Posts: 5987
What kind of video card is it (brand, if any) and do you have drivers for it?

Top
#4681322 - 03/01/18 08:32 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
HemiHawk Offline


Registered: 03/09/16
Posts: 835
Loc: PA,US
couple things to check... if you open the case, is there a power connector on the card? some cards need power not provided by the slot (higher end ones).

The other thing to do is go into the bios (usually by hitting F2 at bootup) and make sure the pci-e slot is enabled.
_________________________
2016 Nissan Frontier Pro4x
2017 VW GTI sport
1997 Jeep GC 4.0

Top
#4681344 - 03/01/18 09:02 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: gathermewool]
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3652
Loc: los angeles
Originally Posted By: gathermewool
What kind of video card is it (brand, if any) and do you have drivers for it?
Not sure of brand, not sure if it has the drivers for it. This is what comes up on device manager; AMD Radeon(TM)R5 240
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4681348 - 03/01/18 09:07 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1417
Loc: USA
Shut down the computer take the cover off and make sure the card is properly plugged in and power lead connected if equipped. Disconnect the hard drive so the OS does not boot. Go into BIOS and tell it to prefer the add-in card. You should be able to reboot and get the BIOS screen on a monitor attached to the card. Don't plug any monitor to the internal video. (Generally you cannot use both at once. If you want dual screens, you will need a card that runs both from the card.) Once you have that working, reconnect the hard drive and boot the OS.


Edited by mk378 (03/01/18 09:07 AM)

Top
#4681351 - 03/01/18 09:14 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12639
Loc: NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks


Garbage in garbage out.


The more details you give us the better answer we can give you.

What kind of cables are you using? VGA, DVI, HDMI?

What windows? Is this a fresh windows install?

What monitor some dont autoswitch between dvi and vga.

Did you have the other connector hooked up while trying one that didnt work?

How old is computer? Is this new to you or just suddenly stop working?

is it a refurb?
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4681407 - 03/01/18 10:35 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
901Memphis Offline


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 12893
Loc: Northern Kentucky
There's other reasons why you wouldn't have video. Are you hearing the computer boot up and stuff like loading windows? If you really think it's a bad video card just replace it with a new one, the basic ones are cheap.


Here is a great deal on the MSI Radeon R5 230 DirectX 11 R5 230 2GD5H LP 2GB 64-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready Low Profile Video Card , https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=14-137-287
I found.
_________________________
2012 Chevy Cruze LT 1.4T - 50k
2002 Buick Century 130k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Edge 0w40 + Fram XG3980

Top
#4681408 - 03/01/18 10:36 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
901Memphis Offline


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 12893
Loc: Northern Kentucky
Check local Craigslist ads too if you want something really cheap or if you have a large computer store local like microcenter they might have a better deal.
_________________________
2012 Chevy Cruze LT 1.4T - 50k
2002 Buick Century 130k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Edge 0w40 + Fram XG3980

Top
#4681452 - 03/01/18 11:39 AM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: Rand]
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3652
Loc: los angeles
Originally Posted By: Rand
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks


Garbage in garbage out.


The more details you give us the better answer we can give you.

What kind of cables are you using? VGA, DVI, HDMI?

What windows? Is this a fresh windows install?

What monitor some dont autoswitch between dvi and vga.

Did you have the other connector hooked up while trying one that didnt work?

How old is computer? Is this new to you or just suddenly stop working?

is it a refurb?
The comp works well with vga cable with integrated connection.vga on both ends. Comp is 2+ y.o. Win 7. Cheapie Dell monitor. Comp was brand new.Only 1 cable was connected at 1 time. Vid card was never connected before to see if it worked or not. It's a work computer. Boss says its alright to mess with. I use a vga hdmi connector to connect to card. Card has hdmi output, monitor only has vga
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4681472 - 03/01/18 12:04 PM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1417
Loc: USA
Devices that claim to convert HDMI down to VGA are a very kludgey affair. And rather pointless, like putting wheelbarrow tires on a sports car. That is probably where your problem lies, not in the card itself.

Get a HDMI or DVI monitor and report back. The HDMI to DVI adaptation is a simple passive connector change.

Top
#4681497 - 03/01/18 12:42 PM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: mk378]
nthach Online   content


Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 3894
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: mk378
Devices that claim to convert HDMI down to VGA are a very kludgey affair. And rather pointless, like putting wheelbarrow tires on a sports car. That is probably where your problem lies, not in the card itself.

Get a HDMI or DVI monitor and report back. The HDMI to DVI adaptation is a simple passive connector change.


Yes. I tell people to ditch VGA and use the digital connections(DVI/DisplayPort and HDMI) all the time. Analog signalling with digital video is an afterthought most of the time.

DisplayPort is closer to DVI than it is to HDMI - HDMI is more of a consumer/media based interface than DVI is - DisplayPort supports both DVI and HDMI specs.

Top
#4681506 - 03/01/18 12:52 PM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
nthach Online   content


Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 3894
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
[/quote]The comp works well with vga cable with integrated connection.vga on both ends. Comp is 2+ y.o. Win 7. Cheapie Dell monitor. Comp was brand new.Only 1 cable was connected at 1 time. Vid card was never connected before to see if it worked or not. It's a work computer. Boss says its alright to mess with. I use a vga hdmi connector to connect to card. Card has hdmi output, monitor only has vga


HDMI is purely a digital standard, it doesn't have analog signalling in it. Lots of those cheap HDMI-VGA adapters don't work or are poorly made unless you get one from Apple or Bizlink/Foxconn(who also supply the OEMs with their DisplayPort to DVI adapters).

If you're careful in the BIOS/UEFI settings menu, you can go in and under one of the menus(usually Advanced or Devices), you can check the graphics settings. Most of the time, that's set to integrated graphics first. You can change it to set the external graphics card as the primary device - it will be seen by the BIOS/UEFI as discrete or PCI Express/PEG device. Try changing the order to see the external graphics first but don't set it to external/discrete graphics only or you'll be pulling the CMOS battery or shorting a jumper to clear the settings if that doesn't work.

Most OEM-spec graphics upgrade cards from HP/Dell/Lenovo/Acer don't need the 6-pin PCI Express external power plug to work either. Only the higher-spec Nvidia or AMD/ATI Radeon cards need that.

Top
#4681522 - 03/01/18 01:22 PM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova]
uc50ic4more Offline


Registered: 05/31/06
Posts: 3287
Loc: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
I have not read the thread but my guess is that if there are two video chips present in the system - one on the motherboard and other a plugin card - that the motherboard one is possibly set as the primary in the system's BIOS.

Top
#4681762 - 03/01/18 07:34 PM Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: uc50ic4more]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12639
Loc: NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: uc50ic4more
I have not read the thread but my guess is that if there are two video chips present in the system - one on the motherboard and other a plugin card - that the motherboard one is possibly set as the primary in the system's BIOS.


also questionable hdmi->vga converter in use.(might be whole problem)
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top