Recent Topics
Toyota 2TR-FE 2.7 questions
by Doublehaul. 12/12/18 12:32 AM
Anybody used Eurolub?
by FordCapriDriver. 12/12/18 12:18 AM
Micro-Green Cut Open
by David1. 12/11/18 11:45 PM
Witch way does this valve work?
by Dylan1303. 12/11/18 11:42 PM
Santa came early..
by leoblack9. 12/11/18 11:22 PM
dropped a zip tie in my prius trans
by eljefino. 12/11/18 09:54 PM
2 Cello's - Some talented fellows right here.
by StevieC. 12/11/18 09:49 PM
Something different for sure - Punjabi Celtic
by StevieC. 12/11/18 09:40 PM
Honda eu200i hiccuping @ low idle - fixed
by Jmoney7269. 12/11/18 09:34 PM
Your dealer is here - Humor
by StevieC. 12/11/18 08:46 PM
1994 Honda Civic LX Main Relay-solder
by Gito. 12/11/18 08:43 PM
Winter/Summer Fuel Economy
by RayCJ. 12/11/18 08:33 PM
0w20 oils - NOACK
by superangrypenguin. 12/11/18 08:19 PM
Liqui Moly Special Tec AA 5w20 API SN
by Johnny248. 12/11/18 08:15 PM
Buy a brand new 1966-1977 Ford Bronco
by StevieC. 12/11/18 07:50 PM
2012 Accord,QSUD 5W20,WIX 57356 filter,3K miles
by aquariuscsm. 12/11/18 07:05 PM
Check out this awsome work!
by Chris142. 12/11/18 06:47 PM
200,000 miles
by Marco620. 12/11/18 06:29 PM
Newest Members
tcoffin014, Schm1d, EagleC, Dinka, MechanicGuy
66654 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
18 registered members (ctechbob, billt460, CleverUserName, BigShug681, David1, 2 invisible), 809 guests, and 37 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,961
Posts4,924,862
Members66,654
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Vid card not working,came with desktop.... #4681297
03/01/18 07:57 AM
03/01/18 07:57 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681314
03/01/18 08:20 AM
03/01/18 08:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 6,520
New England
gathermewool Offline
gathermewool  Offline
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 6,520
New England
What kind of video card is it (brand, if any) and do you have drivers for it?


'14 Forester XT FA20DIT (Cobb Stage 1)
Edge 0W-40 + FU filter (64,774 miles)
'15 Legacy FB25 (OEM Stage, uh, neg. 7?)
Edge 0W-20 + FU filter (40,803 miles)
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681322
03/01/18 08:32 AM
03/01/18 08:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,013
PA,US
HemiHawk Offline
HemiHawk  Offline
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,013
PA,US
couple things to check... if you open the case, is there a power connector on the card? some cards need power not provided by the slot (higher end ones).

The other thing to do is go into the bios (usually by hitting F2 at bootup) and make sure the pci-e slot is enabled.


2016 Nissan Frontier Pro4x
2017 VW GTI sport
1995 Mustang GTS
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: gathermewool] #4681344
03/01/18 09:02 AM
03/01/18 09:02 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
Originally Posted By: gathermewool
What kind of video card is it (brand, if any) and do you have drivers for it?
Not sure of brand, not sure if it has the drivers for it. This is what comes up on device manager; AMD Radeon(TM)R5 240


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681348
03/01/18 09:07 AM
03/01/18 09:07 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,592
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,592
USA
Shut down the computer take the cover off and make sure the card is properly plugged in and power lead connected if equipped. Disconnect the hard drive so the OS does not boot. Go into BIOS and tell it to prefer the add-in card. You should be able to reboot and get the BIOS screen on a monitor attached to the card. Don't plug any monitor to the internal video. (Generally you cannot use both at once. If you want dual screens, you will need a card that runs both from the card.) Once you have that working, reconnect the hard drive and boot the OS.

Last edited by mk378; 03/01/18 09:07 AM.
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681351
03/01/18 09:14 AM
03/01/18 09:14 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,137
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,137
NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks


Garbage in garbage out.


The more details you give us the better answer we can give you.

What kind of cables are you using? VGA, DVI, HDMI?

What windows? Is this a fresh windows install?

What monitor some dont autoswitch between dvi and vga.

Did you have the other connector hooked up while trying one that didnt work?

How old is computer? Is this new to you or just suddenly stop working?

is it a refurb?


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681407
03/01/18 10:35 AM
03/01/18 10:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 12,906
Northern Kentucky
901Memphis Offline
901Memphis  Offline
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 12,906
Northern Kentucky
There's other reasons why you wouldn't have video. Are you hearing the computer boot up and stuff like loading windows? If you really think it's a bad video card just replace it with a new one, the basic ones are cheap.


Here is a great deal on the MSI Radeon R5 230 DirectX 11 R5 230 2GD5H LP 2GB 64-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready Low Profile Video Card , https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=14-137-287
I found.


2012 Chevy Cruze LT 1.4T - 50k
2002 Buick Century 130k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Edge 0w40 + Fram XG3980
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681408
03/01/18 10:36 AM
03/01/18 10:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 12,906
Northern Kentucky
901Memphis Offline
901Memphis  Offline
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 12,906
Northern Kentucky
Check local Craigslist ads too if you want something really cheap or if you have a large computer store local like microcenter they might have a better deal.


2012 Chevy Cruze LT 1.4T - 50k
2002 Buick Century 130k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Edge 0w40 + Fram XG3980
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: Rand] #4681452
03/01/18 11:39 AM
03/01/18 11:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,674
los angeles
Originally Posted By: Rand
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
Dell OptiPlex 3020. The desktop has a video card that came with the computer when bought brand new. I tried hooking up to it and all I get is a blank screen. The one that I gotta use is the mobo one to use comp. How do I get it to recognize it? Thanks


Garbage in garbage out.


The more details you give us the better answer we can give you.

What kind of cables are you using? VGA, DVI, HDMI?

What windows? Is this a fresh windows install?

What monitor some dont autoswitch between dvi and vga.

Did you have the other connector hooked up while trying one that didnt work?

How old is computer? Is this new to you or just suddenly stop working?

is it a refurb?
The comp works well with vga cable with integrated connection.vga on both ends. Comp is 2+ y.o. Win 7. Cheapie Dell monitor. Comp was brand new.Only 1 cable was connected at 1 time. Vid card was never connected before to see if it worked or not. It's a work computer. Boss says its alright to mess with. I use a vga hdmi connector to connect to card. Card has hdmi output, monitor only has vga


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681472
03/01/18 12:04 PM
03/01/18 12:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,592
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,592
USA
Devices that claim to convert HDMI down to VGA are a very kludgey affair. And rather pointless, like putting wheelbarrow tires on a sports car. That is probably where your problem lies, not in the card itself.

Get a HDMI or DVI monitor and report back. The HDMI to DVI adaptation is a simple passive connector change.

Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: mk378] #4681497
03/01/18 12:42 PM
03/01/18 12:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,445
California
nthach Offline
nthach  Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,445
California
Originally Posted By: mk378
Devices that claim to convert HDMI down to VGA are a very kludgey affair. And rather pointless, like putting wheelbarrow tires on a sports car. That is probably where your problem lies, not in the card itself.

Get a HDMI or DVI monitor and report back. The HDMI to DVI adaptation is a simple passive connector change.


Yes. I tell people to ditch VGA and use the digital connections(DVI/DisplayPort and HDMI) all the time. Analog signalling with digital video is an afterthought most of the time.

DisplayPort is closer to DVI than it is to HDMI - HDMI is more of a consumer/media based interface than DVI is - DisplayPort supports both DVI and HDMI specs.

Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681506
03/01/18 12:52 PM
03/01/18 12:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,445
California
nthach Offline
nthach  Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,445
California
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
[/quote]The comp works well with vga cable with integrated connection.vga on both ends. Comp is 2+ y.o. Win 7. Cheapie Dell monitor. Comp was brand new.Only 1 cable was connected at 1 time. Vid card was never connected before to see if it worked or not. It's a work computer. Boss says its alright to mess with. I use a vga hdmi connector to connect to card. Card has hdmi output, monitor only has vga


HDMI is purely a digital standard, it doesn't have analog signalling in it. Lots of those cheap HDMI-VGA adapters don't work or are poorly made unless you get one from Apple or Bizlink/Foxconn(who also supply the OEMs with their DisplayPort to DVI adapters).

If you're careful in the BIOS/UEFI settings menu, you can go in and under one of the menus(usually Advanced or Devices), you can check the graphics settings. Most of the time, that's set to integrated graphics first. You can change it to set the external graphics card as the primary device - it will be seen by the BIOS/UEFI as discrete or PCI Express/PEG device. Try changing the order to see the external graphics first but don't set it to external/discrete graphics only or you'll be pulling the CMOS battery or shorting a jumper to clear the settings if that doesn't work.

Most OEM-spec graphics upgrade cards from HP/Dell/Lenovo/Acer don't need the 6-pin PCI Express external power plug to work either. Only the higher-spec Nvidia or AMD/ATI Radeon cards need that.

Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: daves66nova] #4681522
03/01/18 01:22 PM
03/01/18 01:22 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,346
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
uc50ic4more Offline
uc50ic4more  Offline
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,346
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
I have not read the thread but my guess is that if there are two video chips present in the system - one on the motherboard and other a plugin card - that the motherboard one is possibly set as the primary in the system's BIOS.

Re: Vid card not working,came with desktop.... [Re: uc50ic4more] #4681762
03/01/18 07:34 PM
03/01/18 07:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,137
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,137
NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: uc50ic4more
I have not read the thread but my guess is that if there are two video chips present in the system - one on the motherboard and other a plugin card - that the motherboard one is possibly set as the primary in the system's BIOS.


also questionable hdmi->vga converter in use.(might be whole problem)


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™