I am new to canister filters...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Opinions/facts/suggestions appreciated.

I'm thinking about doing 10k intervals, but am ignorant to the relative quality of the canister filters available. This is my first vehicle with a canister, and Fram Ultra is not available for it. So-

Wix looks to be good quality but their website suggests a maximum suggested interval of 7500 miles. I've just bought some Amsoil filters which should be solid and go 15k, as I'd like to try an extended interval (with UOA and their oil, also just purchased). However if their oil keeps going up in price I can't see the value of being a Preferred Customer for only their oil filters.

Maybe I'm looking at going with Wix, a known quantity, and an inexpensive off-the-shelf synthetic for 7500. (Egads I hate WM though)

What says the brain trust? I'll appreciate any experiences with various filters, especially in Toyotas.

My son runs the OEM canister filter in his 328i for 15k miles with no issues. The car has over 115k on it.

I run 10k OCI's in both of my Toyotas with canister filters and have always used Fram Extra Guards. Now I'm sure that some will say that the Fram EG isn't good enough, but I've never had one come out looking damaged or worn out in any way. I just posted a Blackstone report for my Sienna and no problems were noted. My opinion only, and your mileage may vary.

Filter as in metal can "spin-on" = canister.

Bare element that goes into a cavity inside the engine = cartridge.

I've taken a Toyota filter to 8100 and two Hastings filters to 9800 in a Pontiac Vibe 1.8. I know this isn't scientific, but none of them gave me any cause for concern by the way they looked on removal.

I also used Wix, Fram, and Beck-Arnley filters for shorter OCIs, and they all came out fine, too. All of these were "regular" filters, not marketed as anything out of the ordinary.

Originally Posted By: JLTD
Opinions/facts/suggestions appreciated.