Catch Cans...

Status
Not open for further replies.

wemay

Site Donor 2023
Recently i posted a thread regarding my neighbor's 2011 (said 2010 in error) Kia Optima 2.4 reaching 200k miles. He isnt fussy about maintenance, mostly getting conventional oil changes at the dealership and quick lubes etc. Car has been exceptionally reliable.

Today i saw him under his hood and asked if all is well. He said, "yup, just emptying my catch can." Surprised, i asked how long he's had it. "It's been installed since 10k miles." He's of rhe opinion it has kept deposits at bay.

My question is do you think CC actually work? I've been unreasonably cynical about them for years, having read both sides.

I have no experience with them, but am interested. Can you share the pros & cons you have learned?

Fact is they collect oil. Keeping the elements caught out of the intake manifold is good no matter what. How much benefit is a variable. A great benefit is placement, preferably plumbed with a long enough hose for condensation to occur. Mine has a hose running from the firewall, along the fender, down to the front of the engine, can mounted at the lowest point behind the radiator on the splash guard. It is, so far, 100% effective, as the return hose is free of oil deposits. Naysayers argue assumptions. I have one, it collects stuff. Some of it is oil that would otherwise be on my intake valves that would not be removed due to lack of PFI. I view it as a bypass filter for oil, I will still be cleaning the valves periodically, but not as frequently. How well it works only time will tell.
Best place for it is in the lowest, coolest place possible for the condensation to occur.

I have a Moroso catch can in my PCV line on my Suburban. Even with the updated valve cover, I still drain out plenty of oily milkshake from mine at every oil change.
My intake is clean.

Buy a good one. Cheap ones are cheap. I bought this for about $75 on ebay: