Castrol Edge 0w40 Formulation Change

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been running the Castrol Edge 0W40 for a few years. I regularly send in samples to Blackstone for analysis. I noticed a significant change in the additive package around my 6/2017 and 11/2017 reports. Boron has increased from around 1-2 up to around 30-50. Calcium has increased from around 1800 up to around 2300-2500. Magnesium has dropped significantly from around 550 down to 100-200 and recently all the way down to 20-30. Zinc has increased slightly. The wear metals are all still good and low and have not changed much.

I also recently noticed that the 0W40 is now being manufactured in Belgium and not Germany as it has been in the past.

I did a search and did not find any information on the formulation changes or change in country of manufacture. Does anyone have an idea what is going on and any implications as a result of these changes?

According the most recent safety data sheets, Castrol is listing less PAO than before. I believe it is now 25-50% instead of 50-75%.

All of the certifications remain the same on the bottle, so it works for me!

Originally Posted By: drtyler
According the most recent safety data sheets, Castrol is listing less PAO than before. I believe it is now 25-50% instead of 50-75%.

Works for me.

Just changed the oil in my garden tractor this afternoon with it. Said made in Belgium. Ought to do the job of protecting that 25 hp beast.

Originally Posted By: drtyler

I didn't think manufactures gave that info. I thought they considered it a secret.