Recent Topics
Is there a new (2018) list of GM Dexron VI licensees?
by garageman402. 09/26/18 01:20 AM
Thoughts on new AMAZON branded oil...?
by PantherFan88. 09/25/18 10:47 PM
Clutch kit?
by andrewp1998. 09/25/18 10:34 PM
Galaxy S8+ weird app when clearing storage
by KrisZ. 09/25/18 10:18 PM
Brake bleeder - cfm ?
by hallstevenson. 09/25/18 09:43 PM
18' Corolla vs 18' Elantra
by wolf_06. 09/25/18 09:41 PM
Using Tc-w3 bad for my car?
by Floydian. 09/25/18 09:25 PM
I'm going to start using type F in my gm autos
by turtlevette. 09/25/18 09:17 PM
Cleaning deceased MIL condo and found $15K cash
by Mr Nice. 09/25/18 09:12 PM
Gluten
by StevieC. 09/25/18 07:55 PM
Amazon Prime delivering inside your house
by StevieC. 09/25/18 07:49 PM
2018 MB C300 M1 0W-40 3,475 Miles
by 2015_PSD. 09/25/18 06:44 PM
02-05 Silverado frame rot
by Oildudeny. 09/25/18 06:38 PM
Aftermarket Back Up Camera
by lancerplayer. 09/25/18 06:20 PM
Service champ filter CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 05:05 PM
Pressure washer pump life just 23 hours?
by HawkeyeScott. 09/25/18 05:01 PM
STP S 10590 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 05:00 PM
2003 BMW M5-Unknown oil 2500 mi
by Audios. 09/25/18 04:54 PM
Newest Members
Pat_Roberts, Peppz, Jfa02, ibsfusion, Fearcat707
66070 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
25 registered members (Ablebody, anndel, BJD78, bmod305, 4 invisible), 377 guests, and 39 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics291,027
Posts4,854,672
Members66,070
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Amp wiring question #4675066
02/23/18 06:50 AM
02/23/18 06:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,591
West Michigan
buck91 Offline OP
buck91  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,591
West Michigan
Well past my big speaker phase of youth but I did score a deal on a very moderate sub and amp combination for my summer cruiser. Reading the factory manual for the amp Iím a little confused. Itís listed as a 2/3/4 channel amp and bridgable. How would one wire this to one single voice coil sub? Also the manual shows two 30A fuses wired in parallel on the battery power line. This seems odd to me, can I replace it with a single larger fuse and or why size?



2011 F150 4x4 5.0L
1996 Mustang GT 5spd/ragtop
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675068
02/23/18 06:57 AM
02/23/18 06:57 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
If you're using a SVC sub, bridge two of the channels together by connecting to the A channel negative and B channel positive, either left or right. Connect your RCA input to either L or R channel.

Yes, a single 60a fuse on the B+ wire is fine.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675070
02/23/18 07:00 AM
02/23/18 07:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,406
Atlanta
DuckRyder Offline
DuckRyder  Offline
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,406
Atlanta
I donít think it will run as a mono amp. Note the line between the upper L+ and lower L- as well as the upper R- and lower R+ Those look like the bridges to me.


Robert
  • 2007 Toyota Prius Touring
  • 2005 Honda Civic Sedan
  • 1972 Ford F100
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675077
02/23/18 07:15 AM
02/23/18 07:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
It'll run mono just fine. The lines are indicating your speaker connections. Just use one or the other.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: 14Accent] #4675079
02/23/18 07:18 AM
02/23/18 07:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,406
Atlanta
DuckRyder Offline
DuckRyder  Offline
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,406
Atlanta
Originally Posted By: 14Accent
It'll run mono just fine. The lines are indicating your speaker connections. Just use one or the other.


It will run 2 channel bridged but how will it run mono?


Last edited by DuckRyder; 02/23/18 07:24 AM.

Robert
  • 2007 Toyota Prius Touring
  • 2005 Honda Civic Sedan
  • 1972 Ford F100
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675082
02/23/18 07:22 AM
02/23/18 07:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,088
socal
barkingspider Offline
barkingspider  Offline
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,088
socal
Yeah, that amp is not for mono use. It states 2/3/4 channel.


06 Cadillac Escalade Ext
17 Cadillac ATS (wife)
05 Toyota Camry (daughter)
11 GMC Canyon off-road (daily)
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675093
02/23/18 07:48 AM
02/23/18 07:48 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
Johnny2Bad Offline
Johnny2Bad  Offline
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
Some amps can be bridged, some cannot. It depends on the topography (basically, the type of circuit used) or the configuration (some amps are already bridged internally to get higher power output ... they cannot be bridged a second time).

Are you positive the two fuses are wired in parallel? That sounds strange and doesn't fit any known purpose. Have you confirmed it with a DMM? Are you sure they are not individual fuses each bank of power amplifiers, or are they two fuses wired in series?

The difference will determine whether you need to maintain two 30A fuses or can substitute one 60A fuse. If you can substitute one 60A fuse you will still need to jump the empty fuse socket. In the end I would just forget about the whole fuse thing and carry on as configured. Getting it wrong carries a slight risk of fire or a definite risk of blowing fuses, if the amp would even work at all. I don't see the point.

There is a 3-channel configuration. That would probably be achieved by taking the bridged 2-channel L or R and cutting the bridged configuration, leaving two individual L and two individual R channels. Now they can bridge two of those four into a third channel.

All of the above taken together seems to indicate you cannot bridge the amp to one channel, due to reason 2 (it's already bridged in 2 channel mode).

EDIT: Upon further examination of the speaker output wiring notes silkscreened on the unit it definitely contains four amplifiers (L + L and R +R), with two L and two R, which are bridged in 2 ch mode (L + L and R + R) and although I don't see any silkscreen about 3 channel mode, I'm sure in the manual it would be L + (L+R, bridged) +R configuration. So, no, your mono dreams are over with this amp.

You could simply not use one channel, and configure it in mono mode that way. In fact it's your only option. Most Solid State amps are fine with one channel unused. In that case you would only use the RCA input on the channel you intended to connect to a sub (or whatever) and leave the unused channel RCA unconnected.

Sub frequency signals are usually present equally in both L and R channels of the source, so there is no real penalty in only using one channel as long as the frequencies are truly sub or very low bass ... about 120 Hz or less; above 120 Hz they do become directional.

Last edited by Johnny2Bad; 02/23/18 08:05 AM.

'57 FL Straight 50 wt
'90 Miata 1.8L w/Rotrex Supercharger [Mobil1 0W-40]
'96 Ram 1500 [3.7L Mobil1 0W-20 / 1L 15W-50]
'01 PT Cruiser [Mobil1 0W-40]
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675110
02/23/18 08:11 AM
02/23/18 08:11 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
Johnny2Bad Offline
Johnny2Bad  Offline
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
If you're confused about the wiring diagram silkscreen, it goes like this:

L+ top row to L- bottom row, bridged 2 ch mode (Channel 1)
R- top row to R+ bottom row, bridged 2 ch mode (Channel 2)

Note the little bars connecting the above configuration, including one little bar connecting the words "bridged" to the above wiring.

So, if you intend to use this amp, connect it as above, but only with one channel (you choose, 1 or 2, but not both). Leave the unused channel speaker outputs and the RCA input of that channel unconnected. Doing so will give you the highest power from each channel (the used and unused ones). Without a manual you can't be positive of the 3-ch mode, as it's not indicated on the silkscreen. Regardless, it would offer the same power in the "middle" channel as the above configuration, so there is no need to go there.


'57 FL Straight 50 wt
'90 Miata 1.8L w/Rotrex Supercharger [Mobil1 0W-40]
'96 Ram 1500 [3.7L Mobil1 0W-20 / 1L 15W-50]
'01 PT Cruiser [Mobil1 0W-40]
Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4675163
02/23/18 09:11 AM
02/23/18 09:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,531
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,531
USA
Fuses are wired in parallel because a 60 amp fuse is not made in that physical form factor. The "mega fuse" is more expensive than two small ones.

Like the others said you would use only half of the amplifier to drive a single speaker. This is likely OK if you don't want it really loud.

Re: Amp wiring question [Re: buck91] #4676291
02/24/18 10:50 AM
02/24/18 10:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,591
West Michigan
buck91 Offline OP
buck91  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,591
West Michigan
Thanks all! I feel like a gommer asking but its just been so long. Anyways, the amp is an older Pioneer GM-4000F which will be connected to a JVC Arsenal KD-AHD59 which does have sub output (unfortunately they are stereo outs). Basically what I'm hearing is that if I bridge channel A to B using either left or right speaker outputs it should work just fine with my SVC sub (its a Insignia of unknown model/specs as I haven't pulled it from enclosure to check yet). I by no means need a huge thumper just want a little more balanced sound in my cruiser.

Oh, and the manual clearly shows parallel 30A fuses at the battery connection. Very weird.

Edit: Here is the three channel mode. I wonder if I can just run the mono output from channel B....




Last edited by buck91; 02/24/18 11:08 AM.

2011 F150 4x4 5.0L
1996 Mustang GT 5spd/ragtop

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™