Mobil 1 EP and AP for 6-10k drains?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patman

Staff member
I've been running M1 0w20 AFE in my Honda for a few years now and have always had great UOAs, and have typically done 6-10k intervals. I'm now starting to get the itch to try one of the other flavors of M1, either Extended Performance or Annual Protection. My reasoning is that even though AFE has served me well so far, perhaps one of the other two choices might help keep the engine a bit cleaner inside and with only one oil change per year the cost isn't that much higher for me (especially if I go with EP which is only usually $3 more per jug than AFE) Also, knowing that EP and AP have a higher level of PAO in it gives me the warm and fuzzies.
smile.gif

So would I really see the benefit of EP or AP over AFE even though I'm not doing the 15-20k intervals that those two oils are designed for? And which of those two choices would you pick?

No. What benefit do you expect to see at that interval? Is M1 AFE not keeping your engine clean? I'd use EP, it has the higher PAO content, IIRC. Plus that might be beneficial in your cold winters.

You know I've seen just a few of the new AP UOA's and frankly I really wasn't impressed they showed no better wear metal etc. than the regular Mobil 1 or their EP. Presently in see no real value in Mobil AP.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: volk06
No. What benefit do you expect to see at that interval? Is M1 AFE not keeping your engine clean?

Without taking off the valve cover, it's hard to say for sure but I figure that EP and AP must have better detergent packages in order to justify the higher price tag.

M1 EP,. 5w/30. Look at the zinc and prosperous ppm. Compare it to 0/20. I'm switching my Accord to 5/30: I do not need a 0/20 for my climate that I live in and if you look in Europe they say 0-30 or 5/30. Same 4cly engine

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Patman
Originally Posted By: volk06