Recent Topics
Where do I buy Toto toilets? That has them!
by Vern_in_IL. 12/14/18 10:04 PM
Best filter cutter for the price?
by DONWATERS. 12/14/18 09:38 PM
5W-40 vs 10W-30 for a 2018 Audi A4
by jcr1293. 12/14/18 09:25 PM
Gave up on quadrajet electric choke today...
by leroyd92. 12/14/18 08:54 PM
2015 Odyssey - Which synthetic ATF?
by AngryScientist. 12/14/18 07:56 PM
Hyundai extended my warranty
by ernied. 12/14/18 07:33 PM
2016 Traverse 6350mi Schaeffers 9000 5W30
by chevman4life. 12/14/18 07:21 PM
Oil filter for Canadian winter
by Popsy. 12/14/18 06:11 PM
12-14-18 only! Irwin vise @ Menards. $99.99
by Kruse. 12/14/18 06:01 PM
10" Subwoofer - $6.52 Each
by Greg L. 12/14/18 05:31 PM
Finding 507.00 spec oil
by sloinker. 12/14/18 05:31 PM
New Tires for the Old Chevy!
by dogememe. 12/14/18 05:09 PM
Back to Basics II
by MolaKule. 12/14/18 04:31 PM
"SG(+)" 15w40 or better oil 1987 BBC 454
by F239141. 12/14/18 03:52 PM
All Mazda 3’s have bad OCV’s?
by buster. 12/14/18 03:44 PM
Bad cylinder 3 misfire.
by Hemispheres. 12/14/18 02:49 PM
Small leak at toilet base - bad wax ring?
by Oro_O. 12/14/18 02:38 PM
Newest Members
NEKGuy, Deltafaatl, wsalopek, jcr1293, maxwellk
66684 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
82 registered members (bcossa2001, 87sammy, 2015Corolla, aquariuscsm, benhen77, ariefnrst, 7 invisible), 1,507 guests, and 46 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,088
Posts4,927,538
Members66,684
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Blinker problems after a radio upgrade #4668918
02/17/18 04:47 PM
02/17/18 04:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,940
Champlain/Hudson Valley
Kira Offline OP
Kira  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,940
Champlain/Hudson Valley
What a pain.

Left hand directionals went out in BIL's 2000 Acura RL (nice car, A+ maintained).
Removed and replaced the blinker relay with new. $95 at dealer.
The left blinkers operated for 5 seconds then grew weak and stopped working.
Yes, I checked the dual filament bulb and it was OK.

THEN my brother-in-law said this all began right after some shop removed the factory GPS unit (above the ACC panel) and installed a multiple input radio (iPhone input) with a handmade frame.

Another relay is coming from RockAuto ($56) but my hope isn't high.

Heaven only knows what happened.

Re: Blinker problems after a radio upgrade [Re: Kira] #4668924
02/17/18 04:58 PM
02/17/18 04:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,595
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,595
USA
All the blinkers go through the hazard blinker button. Does that button work?

Also the same blinker relay does both left and right. So if only one side doesn't work, it's something else.

Last edited by mk378; 02/17/18 05:00 PM.
Re: Blinker problems after a radio upgrade [Re: Kira] #4668927
02/17/18 05:02 PM
02/17/18 05:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,044
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,044
Utah
Many after market radios have special after market wiring harness adapters to have everything function properly-since many things are integrated. If they didn't use a special harness to integrate everything back to OEM after the radio change-this could account for the issues.


For example- on Siverados the turn signal chimes come through the Left (driver's speaker). There is a PAC wiring harness one has to use to have full functionality. There are a couple of Pioneer radios that use a small speaker built in to the radio itself for the turn signal/door chimes instead of the door speaker.

Installing an after market radio in late model cars is hardly a "plug and play" situation any more.

Last edited by CKN; 02/17/18 05:03 PM.
Re: Blinker problems after a radio upgrade [Re: Kira] #4668933
02/17/18 05:10 PM
02/17/18 05:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,582
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,582
MA, Mittelfranken.de
You need to do some electrical diagnosing, it sounds like they may have pulled power for the additional iphone thing from something in the blinker system.
Pull the relay and blinker fuse and see what else doesn't work and go from there. Post your findings. I may have a diagram on hand for this one so I can look the circuit up but that is a good starting point.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Blinker problems after a radio upgrade [Re: Kira] #4675369
02/23/18 10:56 AM
02/23/18 10:56 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,099
Texas
WyrTwister Offline
WyrTwister  Offline
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,099
Texas
Originally Posted By: Kira
What a pain.

Left hand directionals went out in BIL's 2000 Acura RL (nice car, A+ maintained).
Removed and replaced the blinker relay with new. $95 at dealer.
The left blinkers operated for 5 seconds then grew weak and stopped working.
Yes, I checked the dual filament bulb and it was OK.

THEN my brother-in-law said this all began right after some shop removed the factory GPS unit (above the ACC panel) and installed a multiple input radio (iPhone input) with a handmade frame.

Another relay is coming from RockAuto ($56) but my hope isn't high.

Heaven only knows what happened.


Do not know about an Accura , but on latter GM trucks ( and cars , I think ) it is necessary to buy an interface to perserve the " chimes " function .


Wyr
God bless
Re: Blinker problems after a radio upgrade [Re: Kira] #4675483
02/23/18 12:50 PM
02/23/18 12:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,469
California
nthach Offline
nthach  Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,469
California
Japanese cars up until recently were simple compared to GM or European products - but if that Acura had navigation things can get complicated as there's also CAN/IEBus(Toyota's AVC-LAN, Honda's GA-NET and Pioneer's IP-Bus are based off IEBus) and parking brake/reverse/VSS signals that the navigation computer and display will use to interface with the vehicle.

Sounds like the audio shop tapped into a 12V source they shouldn't be using. Get a copy of the EWD for this car and find out which wires they tapped into. Typically, many aftermarket systems will be happy with the factory +12V hot at all times and switched power lines from the factory audio connectors.

If he had a Bose unit, there should be a converter to grab the aftermarket pre-outs into line-level outputs the Bose system's amp/DSP can understand - that needs external power to operate.


BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™