Alabama picked for Toyota-Mazda plant, sources say

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: javacontour
Actually, which level of government is putting up the funds?

If Alabama is anything like IL, most education is LOCALLY funded. So if the state is funding the tax breaks, it is not taking away from local funds.

Personally, I'm not in favor of such special tax deals. If an enterprise is going to make money, then it doesn't need special help from the government. But, the reality is tax breaks are part of the national business climate.

I'd rather see them simply give EVERYONE a break, and if business can't make it on the lower taxes, then that place isn't for them.

Also, education isn't a panacea. I work in IT. In my previous job, I would travel the nation training people on technologies like Java,
Networking, Solaris, Fault Analysis, and anything else in Sun Microsystems course catalog. Today, we have very little instructor led training. Companies expect people to learn it via Google or on-line training.

I'm a Systems Support Engineer these days. I go on-site. In the past 18 years, my customers have changed. Where I once worked with people in the United States, today I largely work with people in India and Eastern Europe.

Educated Systems Administrators and DBAs in the US are being replaced with off-shore workers.

Education is no guarantee that you will keep your well paying job.

In some ways, there is a bit more security in working in the factory, as you are actually touching something and it's there in AL.
If your job can be done with a keyboard, it can be done anywhere in the world.

So while education is important, never forget that we still need skilled trades and that many well educated people are being replaced with the global labor pool.

Originally Posted By: edyvw
Originally Posted By: Thermo1223