Bilstein vs KYB vs ZF Group vs Monroe

Status
Not open for further replies.
Car is a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5L (4A91 engine), model of 2010.

No sport shocks are available from the title's manufacturers for it, only the following ones:

So which of the above is the most suitable for a sport driving style?

Bilstein has been top notch in all I've seen.

Monroe OESpectrum aren't very good. Which is a shame, cause the other Monroe shocks like Reflex and Sensatrac are good.

KYB has performed well for me in my 300ZX (before I went with coilovers) and my Matrix. If I'm not mistaken, they make the OE shock/struts for several Japanese manufacturers.

"ZF Group offers 4 brands: SACHS, LEMFORDER, BOGE and TRW" - only heard of Sachs and TRW. Sachs is an econo-line at best. Good for a few months before you sell the car sorta thing. TRW makes good tie rod ends, but I've no experience with their shock/struts.

Last edited:
I had the same impression.
I also think of changing front top mounts along with the struts. Any reason to change rear top mounts too? Car has about 80 thousand miles.

Sachs/Lemforder is OEM supplier for BMW Merecedes and Audi/VW, Id say theyre probably the best in terms of OE replacement. Bilsteins are probably a slight upgrade at B4, but B6 would be the best for sport shocks. The others are a cheaper quaflity replacement, id only go with them for the price.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Rudy1999 250
Bilstein B4 ..... Best out there.

Or B6, or B8. The point is, Bilstein.
thumbsup2.gif

Originally Posted By: Dumc87

"ZF Group offers 4 brands: SACHS, LEMFORDER, BOGE and TRW" - only heard of Sachs and TRW. Sachs is an econo-line at best. Good for a few months before you sell the car sorta thing. TRW makes good tie rod ends, but I've no experience with their shock/struts.