Question for the math geniuses. Moly concentration

Status
Not open for further replies.
Normally a oil will have Moly at around 50-80 parts per million. Some oils like the Idemitsu Mazda Moly oil have 800 + ppm. Different moly of course. LiquiMoly’s MOS2 additive recommends a 2-5% concentration.

So by searching I came up with the answer that 800 ppm = 0.08% which sounds off to me. I am not good at math so can anyone confirm or refute this equation?

100% is 1 000 000 ppm (1 million ppm)
10% is 100 000 ppm
1% is 10 000 ppm
0.1% is 1000 ppm
0.01% is 100 ppm

so yes, 800 ppm is indeed 0.08%
smile.gif

800/1,000,000 = 0.0008 = 0.08%

Bonus calculation - so a 5% concentration would be 50,000 ppm.

So if LiquiMoly suggests a 2-5% dilution of their product into the sump then to get ppm we would have to know the concentration of their product? MSDS didn’t help much

Originally Posted By: PimTac
So if LiquiMoly suggests a 2-5% dilution of their product into the sump then to get ppm we would have to know the concentration of their product? MSDS didn’t help much

Part of that problem, is that we don't know the concentration of moly in the liqui-moly product.

You would need to know the ppm of Mo in the additive. Maybe you could find a VOA on it. Once the initial Mo conc is known it is:
C1 X V1 = C2 X V2

C1 is the moly conc of the additive
V1 is the volume of additive
C2 is the desired 800 ppm final conc
V2 is the volume of the sump

Solving for V1 we have:
V1 =(C2 X V2)/C1
Or
V1 = (800 X ounces in sump)/Additive PPM

Thanks for the formula. I’m horrible in algebra. I’m one of the small subset of boomers that was taught old math then switched to new math and then back to old. Thank goodness for calculators.

Try to look at it another way... which is also why people find metric logical...

1 mg is 1/1000 g. 1 kg is 1000g. 1000 x 1000 is 1000000.

1ppm is 1mg of something per 1kg of stuff.

So 1ppm is 1 mg of Mo per kg of oil.