installed Linux,then problems....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just installed Linux Mint onto laptop. I d/l'ed the os with the installer. It loaded up.I was even able to access a few websites,few as in 2 or 3. I the tried to d/l a driver updater,it wouldn't open. Then, it kept saying something about having to send a crash report. it seemed every page from then on did this. so I thought i'd reboot, now the !@#$ program on the flashdrive isn't working! it goes up to a rectangle where it states diagnostic, oem install,etc. then after that, a black background with a bunch of lines of code or something. Man am I [censored] right now. I thought this os was more faster, more stable, never look back, etc from what other people have said. I'm about to junk this os and just go to Win 7.

It may not be the OS. It may be the computer. I am no expert. I have installed Linux Mint on 5+ computers. It did not work on some due to a driver issue with the graphic card. Especially on older Dell laptops with ATI graphics. I kept Windows on them. One reason I only buy older Thinkpads. Everything works flawlessly with onboard graphics. Typing this on my R61 Thinkpad with Mint.

it's a great operating system once figured out. are you booting off the flash drive or the hard drive? at the grub prompt select the nomodeset option. report back.

if you can get to the desktop dry and install the updated display drivers. the computer should give you those options, do this before opening any other programs.

Originally Posted By: daves66nova
The laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1525

The processor is similar to what I am using on the Thinkpad if it is configured like this one:

1525 Specs

Was that the laptop with a bad hard drive?

Honestly, I hated Windows 8.1 on a Ebay computer I bought and experimented with Mint. There is a learning curve and things did not always go well due to lack of experience. Not the fault of Mint, just my lack of knowledge.