A scarcity of truck drivers is biting into profits

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Chris142
Most trucking companies do not pay well. Not too many people will work 11 hrs a day plus live out of truckstops for less than min wage.

This.

Nobody wants to pay a living wage because it cuts into their profits, and they wonder why they can't hire anyone. This is why we have "steering wheel holders" driving the trucks on the road and creating dangerous situations.

The same story happens in a lot of industries though. I work in the technology industry. One area of my company has a very high rate of turn over and they can't seem to figure out why, even though the reasons are obvious. High work loads, demanding hours, and lower pay than the rest of the industry. It's not rocket science.

Originally Posted By: Chris142
Most trucking companies do not pay well. Not too many people will work 11 hrs a day plus live out of truckstops for less than min wage.

Yup, drivers will be more abundant as companies increase wages.
No different then any other business. Good news for the workers.

We got an increase last year from $.43 per mile to .50 per mile dry bulk. Liquid went from .50 to .55 per mile. Plus paid for other work while unloading, 25 bucks for each night you sleep in truck, etc. I'm part time now, but wish we were making the big bucks 10 years ago so I could have put even more into retirement. Wal-Mart was stealing our drivers so our company had to pay more to compete with them. Richmond, VA is a good place to live if you drive because there are a lot of hubs there.