D-A Lubricant

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does anyone have experience with D-A Lube Reliant J-4 FS 5W-40? We have a couple of customers running it now and their oil analysis reports show it to be on par or better than T-6 in reguard to cumulitave wear metals, the base number does come back a little lower but the oxidation also comes back lower and it apears to have more calcium and less magnesium which I believe is a good thing.

http://www.dalube.com/pdfs/Reliant J-4 FS.pdf

John Walko

Last edited by a moderator:
no help on the boutique oil..but Rotella/Mobil/Delo make fine products. Lots of stellar UOAs on these that I have seen.

Curious as to why the 5w40? Why not 10w30 or 15w40 HDEOs?

Never have I lost an engine due to any make of oil. I have been driving since 1964 and if anyone in here was driving in 1964, we were using ancient oil designs back then as compared to the space cadet wizards in college oil engineering today..imho

no offense intended in the above statement..

I have to agree with your statement. I was an infant when you started driving, but I'm friends with a gentleman who's been a heavy equipment/Semi Truck diesel mechanic since the mid 70's. I've known him before I was in my teens, - which was right about the time he started working on diesel motors. He just recently retired.

I greatly value his knowledge, so I asked him what was the "Best" brand of oil to run in my Series 60 Detroit. He told me in all his years, he never saw any evidence that one of the major brands was better than the others. He also said the only oil related failures that he'd seen were actually operator failures. Once they had a rookie mechanic forget to torque a drain plug after performing a PM, and a few Drivers over the years who failed to keep an eye on their truck's dipstick. His advise to me was use a major brand and follow Detroit's recommended change intervals.