Recent Topics
Hemi MDS issues are how common?
by Gasbuggy. 12/18/18 03:21 AM
Why use Redline and Redline Clone oils...
by burla. 12/17/18 11:38 PM
Tire choice
by CincyReds. 12/17/18 11:14 PM
Transmission fluid leak
by dawgn86. 12/17/18 07:53 PM
QuickJack BL-5000SLX and my Optima...
by WhizkidTN. 12/17/18 07:23 PM
Champion Air Filter Opinions?
by JerryBob. 12/17/18 06:18 PM
Tundra transfer case plug torque (Borg Warner)
by Idlewild294. 12/17/18 06:03 PM
Winter tire question?
by Muskieteer. 12/17/18 05:31 PM
Who makes good ball joints these days?
by GSCJR. 12/17/18 04:51 PM
Bought a used Ford Fusion
by krismoriah72. 12/17/18 04:14 PM
Valvoline NextGen Tech Oil
by DirtyOilGuy. 12/17/18 04:08 PM
Witty comment regarding a lame car
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:43 PM
'80s oil literature
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:26 PM
Recommend on oil for 2017 Kia Sportage 2.4
by SlavaB. 12/17/18 02:57 PM
No more Delo at my Costco. T4 now
by BeerCan. 12/17/18 02:16 PM
Found this
by davedude. 12/17/18 02:15 PM
Practice CLS material
by RDY4WAR. 12/17/18 01:52 PM
2005 Chevy Silverado 5.3 vortex
by MSpeer. 12/17/18 12:01 PM
Newest Members
hopsofir, genera2800, oghl, hdlss, dsmdylan
66711 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
28 registered members (dlundblad, 53' Stude, Char Baby, ARB1977, D0nat, biron, 1 invisible), 829 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,205
Posts4,929,884
Members66,711
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Not Reporting Engine Codes #4663520
02/12/18 06:29 AM
02/12/18 06:29 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
borgward Offline OP
borgward  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
2013 Fiesta SE 1.6

OBD AutoDoctor 3.4.8 software

OBDLink LX Bluetooth OBD II scan tool

Is the Fiesta supposed to report Diagnostic Engine Codes?

Soon as I started the engine this evening, the wrench light came on and the
screen displayed Engine Malfunction Service Soon. Indeed there was a
throttle malfunction. No response to throttle position in it's midrange.

I ran OBD Auto Doctor software, clicked on Trouble Codes but got message "Confirmed Diagnostic Trouble
Codes -none

I drove the car for 30 minutes and saved the Data Log which I sent to OBD AutoDoctor. I got the following response by email:

"Thanks for the log. According to the log, it's very clear that your
car doesn't report any Diagnostic Trouble Codes. Unfortunately I don't
know the reason for not reporting."

The throttle problem would either be the position sensor in the throttle body, or the throttle pedal assembly, or possibly a bad connection between the two. Should OBD II report throttle pedal problems, or only throttle body problems?

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663529
02/12/18 06:47 AM
02/12/18 06:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,600
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,600
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Tool is probably not compatible with whatever protocol this car is using.
Does the Bluetooth adapter have a list of protocols? I am looking for this Fiesta protocol.

Edit: http://www.obdlink.com/lxbt/

Last edited by Trav; 02/12/18 06:51 AM.

ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663533
02/12/18 07:01 AM
02/12/18 07:01 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,600
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,600
MA, Mittelfranken.de
This is interesting but I have no idea if it is applicable to yours. If your car was built in Brazil there may be an issue with the tool. They list the 2013 Fiesta as being built in São Bernardo do Campo, Brazil (Ford Brazil) (2013–present)

http://www.obdlink.com/obdlink-vehicle-compatibility/


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: Trav] #4663560
02/12/18 07:29 AM
02/12/18 07:29 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
borgward Offline OP
borgward  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
https://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-427201-O...#productDetails

"Works on all 1996+ cars and light trucks sold in the USA (except hybrid or electric vehicles)"

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663594
02/12/18 08:14 AM
02/12/18 08:14 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,743
Chicago, IL
tomcat27 Offline
tomcat27  Offline
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,743
Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: borgward
https://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-427201-O...#productDetails

"Works on all 1996+ cars and light trucks sold in the USA (except hybrid or electric vehicles)"


clearly not. for your immediate problem, most chain auto stores will read your codes for free; then you can work towards getting your scan tool to function properly with your car.


2019 Cherokee, 2018 Jetta, 2014 Sentra, 1995 Escort, 1970 Cougar, 2013 XT250, 2010 Vstar, 2014 CTX1300
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: tomcat27] #4663604
02/12/18 08:28 AM
02/12/18 08:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
borgward Offline OP
borgward  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
I have had those places scan for that problem, but they could never get a read on it. They have been able to read other codes, just not throttle position codes. Thats why I bought my own device. I am thinking that there is code for the throttle position sensor, but not for the throttle pedal assy and/or connections between the two.

I am thinking maybe a wiring harness connector problem. Like maybe a loose fit inside the connector. This issue usually happens when there is an abrupt change in weather. A lot of times I can turn the engine off and then on. The wrench icon disappears, there is no longer malfunction notice in the display and the symptom does not occur. If the Wrench icon and the notice still display after I restart, I can do the proceedure to turn them off and again the symptom goes away.

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663913
02/12/18 01:05 PM
02/12/18 01:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
The wrench light codes won't be picked up by a lot of cheap and aftermarket scanners. It's going to need a full featured scanner.

Most likely a failed throttle motor.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663948
02/12/18 01:46 PM
02/12/18 01:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
borgward Offline OP
borgward  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
Whats cheap? I bought ScanTool 427201 OBDLink LX Bluetooth: Professional OBD-II Scan Tool for Android & Windows from Amazon. $62.99. It's not one of the $10 or $12 ones. Any suggestions. The usual culprit is the throttle position sensor in the throttle body. Usually it is a matter of moisture getting in and corroding the contacts.The Fiesta is the only ford that the sensor is not replaceable. You have to buy a new throttle body for $600.

The funny thing is that I can turn the ignition off and then restart and the wrench icon, "Engine Malfunction Service Now" message, and the symptom all disappear. That's like if you had a fever, took you temperature, removed the thermometer and all of a sudden you have no fever.

I have read that there are Ford proprietary codes. What are proprietary codes? are they the OBDII engine malfunction codes? What do you need to read them?

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663961
02/12/18 02:02 PM
02/12/18 02:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 525
Albany, NY
ford46guy Offline
ford46guy  Offline
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 525
Albany, NY
Try forscan software.

http://forscan.org/download.html

Runs on your laptop. There is phone version too for a few bucks.


95 Tbird V8 240K PP SYNTH ULTRA 5W30
98 MGM 160K M1 HM 5W20
96 Explorer EB V6 159K PP SYNTH HM 5W30
95 Conti 155K MC 5W20
11 GS350 90K PP HM 5W30
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664022
02/12/18 03:13 PM
02/12/18 03:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,622
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,622
Santa Barbara, CA
Originally Posted By: borgward
Whats cheap? I bought ScanTool 427201 OBDLink LX Bluetooth: Professional OBD-II Scan Tool for Android & Windows from Amazon. $62.99. It's not one of the $10 or $12 ones. Any suggestions. The usual culprit is the throttle position sensor in the throttle body. Usually it is a matter of moisture getting in and corroding the contacts.The Fiesta is the only ford that the sensor is not replaceable. You have to buy a new throttle body for $600.

The funny thing is that I can turn the ignition off and then restart and the wrench icon, "Engine Malfunction Service Now" message, and the symptom all disappear. That's like if you had a fever, took you temperature, removed the thermometer and all of a sudden you have no fever.

I have read that there are Ford proprietary codes. What are proprietary codes? are they the OBDII engine malfunction codes? What do you need to read them?


That would be a cheap scanner even at $62.99.

The throttle body should be a lot cheaper since almost all new Fords do not have replaceable sensors, plus there is an extended warranty on a lot of models.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: bdcardinal] #4664031
02/12/18 03:23 PM
02/12/18 03:23 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
borgward Offline OP
borgward  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Central Texas
Extended warranty would have cost me $3900 over the time elapsed from the time the factory warranty expired. That's at $100 a month. I think it was a lot more per month last time I checked. Also I would have to have considered all that the fine print would not pay for. Would the extended warranty pay for the part so I can DIY?

I agree the throttle body should be cheaper, but the price is about $600. Please let me know if there is anywhere I can get a new one for hundreds of $ less. I have not found any anywhere.

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664039
02/12/18 03:29 PM
02/12/18 03:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,622
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,622
Santa Barbara, CA
Nevermind, that one is expensive. There are a lot of Ford models that have an extended warranty on the throttle body, but yours must not be. The ones that are part of the extended warranty dropped in price dramatically, like under $100. I am on vacation now but I don't think I have ever sold one for a Fiesta so failures are pretty rare.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664142
02/12/18 05:15 PM
02/12/18 05:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,341
Central Virginia
Silverado12 Offline
Silverado12  Offline
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,341
Central Virginia
FWIW I had the problem in my wife's 2010 Mustang and it was the throttle body motor. Ford makes a rebuild kit for it so you don't have to replace the entire unit. Junkyard link The junkyard is definitely a consideration.


12 Chevy Silverado ext. cab LS, 2WD 4.3 auto
18 Mustang GT 5.0 auto
07 Harley Dyna Street Bob 96 c.i. 6 sp.
00 Mustang GT auto
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664143
02/12/18 05:17 PM
02/12/18 05:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,341
Central Virginia
Silverado12 Offline
Silverado12  Offline
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,341
Central Virginia
I just looked up your car and throttle bodies are averaging $100 or less in my area.

Last edited by Silverado12; 02/12/18 05:17 PM.

12 Chevy Silverado ext. cab LS, 2WD 4.3 auto
18 Mustang GT 5.0 auto
07 Harley Dyna Street Bob 96 c.i. 6 sp.
00 Mustang GT auto
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664148
02/12/18 05:25 PM
02/12/18 05:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
Rockauto sells a reman TB from Cardone for $100.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™