Recent Topics
School me on Radon...
by dareo - 02/28/20 08:56 PM
How do I bend this fence?
by Chris142 - 02/28/20 07:52 PM
Mercon LV in the transfer case?
by buck91 - 02/28/20 07:41 PM
Wix vanilla filters?
by NavyVet88 - 02/28/20 07:33 PM
What gas do pre-1974 LEADED gas cars run?
by wowthisexists - 02/28/20 05:50 PM
Does anyone do this?.,,
by BigCahuna - 02/28/20 05:49 PM
RMD-- Is this the time to take it?
by csandste - 02/28/20 03:29 PM
Timken Rear Wheel Bearing - Any Good?
by Delta - 02/28/20 02:47 PM
121k 2011 GMC Terrain 2.4 ~ PP 6250 miles
by Matt1980 - 02/28/20 02:42 PM
Mopar coolant alternative?
by ram_man - 02/28/20 02:38 PM
Old (but new) filters
by RF12 - 02/28/20 01:54 PM
5.3 DOD/AFM Delete - Looking for LS Advice
by RoadDukie - 02/28/20 01:47 PM
Help picking battery powered mower
by Huie83 - 02/28/20 01:41 PM
Can I use 75w instead 70w gear oil?
by Polyalphaolefin - 02/28/20 11:57 AM
Alternative to Unaffordable New SUV?
by Fitz98 - 02/28/20 11:24 AM
Newest Members
StratMan, ABchevy, RAOD, MichaelTx, duesenberg
70826 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
120 registered members (4WD, atikovi, ArrestMeRedZ, Al, 762fermeandyou, Avery4, 12 invisible), 1,971 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics302,056
Posts5,208,260
Members70,826
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Not Reporting Engine Codes #4663520 02/12/18 06:29 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
B
borgward Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
2013 Fiesta SE 1.6

OBD AutoDoctor 3.4.8 software

OBDLink LX Bluetooth OBD II scan tool

Is the Fiesta supposed to report Diagnostic Engine Codes?

Soon as I started the engine this evening, the wrench light came on and the
screen displayed Engine Malfunction Service Soon. Indeed there was a
throttle malfunction. No response to throttle position in it's midrange.

I ran OBD Auto Doctor software, clicked on Trouble Codes but got message "Confirmed Diagnostic Trouble
Codes -none

I drove the car for 30 minutes and saved the Data Log which I sent to OBD AutoDoctor. I got the following response by email:

"Thanks for the log. According to the log, it's very clear that your
car doesn't report any Diagnostic Trouble Codes. Unfortunately I don't
know the reason for not reporting."

The throttle problem would either be the position sensor in the throttle body, or the throttle pedal assembly, or possibly a bad connection between the two. Should OBD II report throttle pedal problems, or only throttle body problems?

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663529 02/12/18 06:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 22,999
T
Trav Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 22,999
Tool is probably not compatible with whatever protocol this car is using.
Does the Bluetooth adapter have a list of protocols? I am looking for this Fiesta protocol.

Edit: http://www.obdlink.com/lxbt/

Last edited by Trav; 02/12/18 06:51 AM.

ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663533 02/12/18 07:01 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 22,999
T
Trav Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 22,999
This is interesting but I have no idea if it is applicable to yours. If your car was built in Brazil there may be an issue with the tool. They list the 2013 Fiesta as being built in São Bernardo do Campo, Brazil (Ford Brazil) (2013–present)

http://www.obdlink.com/obdlink-vehicle-compatibility/


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: Trav] #4663560 02/12/18 07:29 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
B
borgward Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
https://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-427201-O...#productDetails

"Works on all 1996+ cars and light trucks sold in the USA (except hybrid or electric vehicles)"

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663594 02/12/18 08:14 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,938
T
tomcat27 Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,938
Originally Posted By: borgward
https://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-427201-O...#productDetails

"Works on all 1996+ cars and light trucks sold in the USA (except hybrid or electric vehicles)"


clearly not. for your immediate problem, most chain auto stores will read your codes for free; then you can work towards getting your scan tool to function properly with your car.


2019 Cherokee, 2018 Jetta, 2014 Sentra, 2001 Camry, 1995 Escort, 1970 Cougar, 2013 XT250, 2010 Vstar, 2014 CTX1300
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: tomcat27] #4663604 02/12/18 08:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
B
borgward Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
I have had those places scan for that problem, but they could never get a read on it. They have been able to read other codes, just not throttle position codes. Thats why I bought my own device. I am thinking that there is code for the throttle position sensor, but not for the throttle pedal assy and/or connections between the two.

I am thinking maybe a wiring harness connector problem. Like maybe a loose fit inside the connector. This issue usually happens when there is an abrupt change in weather. A lot of times I can turn the engine off and then on. The wrench icon disappears, there is no longer malfunction notice in the display and the symptom does not occur. If the Wrench icon and the notice still display after I restart, I can do the proceedure to turn them off and again the symptom goes away.

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663913 02/12/18 01:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,227
1
14Accent Offline
Offline
1
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,227
The wrench light codes won't be picked up by a lot of cheap and aftermarket scanners. It's going to need a full featured scanner.

Most likely a failed throttle motor.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2007 Chevrolet Impala LT
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663948 02/12/18 01:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
B
borgward Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
Whats cheap? I bought ScanTool 427201 OBDLink LX Bluetooth: Professional OBD-II Scan Tool for Android & Windows from Amazon. $62.99. It's not one of the $10 or $12 ones. Any suggestions. The usual culprit is the throttle position sensor in the throttle body. Usually it is a matter of moisture getting in and corroding the contacts.The Fiesta is the only ford that the sensor is not replaceable. You have to buy a new throttle body for $600.

The funny thing is that I can turn the ignition off and then restart and the wrench icon, "Engine Malfunction Service Now" message, and the symptom all disappear. That's like if you had a fever, took you temperature, removed the thermometer and all of a sudden you have no fever.

I have read that there are Ford proprietary codes. What are proprietary codes? are they the OBDII engine malfunction codes? What do you need to read them?

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4663961 02/12/18 02:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 619
F
ford46guy Offline
Offline
F
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 619
Try forscan software.

http://forscan.org/download.html

Runs on your laptop. There is phone version too for a few bucks.


95 Tbird V8 240K PP SYNTH ULTRA 5W30
98 MGM 160K M1 HM 5W20
96 Explorer EB V6 159K PP SYNTH HM 5W30
95 Conti 155K MC 5W20
11 GS350 90K PP HM 5W30
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664022 02/12/18 03:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,005
bdcardinal Offline
Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,005
Originally Posted By: borgward
Whats cheap? I bought ScanTool 427201 OBDLink LX Bluetooth: Professional OBD-II Scan Tool for Android & Windows from Amazon. $62.99. It's not one of the $10 or $12 ones. Any suggestions. The usual culprit is the throttle position sensor in the throttle body. Usually it is a matter of moisture getting in and corroding the contacts.The Fiesta is the only ford that the sensor is not replaceable. You have to buy a new throttle body for $600.

The funny thing is that I can turn the ignition off and then restart and the wrench icon, "Engine Malfunction Service Now" message, and the symptom all disappear. That's like if you had a fever, took you temperature, removed the thermometer and all of a sudden you have no fever.

I have read that there are Ford proprietary codes. What are proprietary codes? are they the OBDII engine malfunction codes? What do you need to read them?


That would be a cheap scanner even at $62.99.

The throttle body should be a lot cheaper since almost all new Fords do not have replaceable sensors, plus there is an extended warranty on a lot of models.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: bdcardinal] #4664031 02/12/18 03:23 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
B
borgward Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 245
Extended warranty would have cost me $3900 over the time elapsed from the time the factory warranty expired. That's at $100 a month. I think it was a lot more per month last time I checked. Also I would have to have considered all that the fine print would not pay for. Would the extended warranty pay for the part so I can DIY?

I agree the throttle body should be cheaper, but the price is about $600. Please let me know if there is anywhere I can get a new one for hundreds of $ less. I have not found any anywhere.

Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664039 02/12/18 03:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,005
bdcardinal Offline
Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,005
Nevermind, that one is expensive. There are a lot of Ford models that have an extended warranty on the throttle body, but yours must not be. The ones that are part of the extended warranty dropped in price dramatically, like under $100. I am on vacation now but I don't think I have ever sold one for a Fiesta so failures are pretty rare.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664142 02/12/18 05:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,837
Silverado12 Offline
Offline
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,837
FWIW I had the problem in my wife's 2010 Mustang and it was the throttle body motor. Ford makes a rebuild kit for it so you don't have to replace the entire unit. Junkyard link The junkyard is definitely a consideration.


12 Chevy Silverado ext. cab LS, 2WD 4.3 auto
18 Mustang GT 5.0 auto
07 Harley Dyna Street Bob 96 c.i. 6 sp.
00 Mustang GT auto
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664143 02/12/18 05:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,837
Silverado12 Offline
Offline
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,837
I just looked up your car and throttle bodies are averaging $100 or less in my area.

Last edited by Silverado12; 02/12/18 05:17 PM.

12 Chevy Silverado ext. cab LS, 2WD 4.3 auto
18 Mustang GT 5.0 auto
07 Harley Dyna Street Bob 96 c.i. 6 sp.
00 Mustang GT auto
Re: Not Reporting Engine Codes [Re: borgward] #4664148 02/12/18 05:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,227
1
14Accent Offline
Offline
1
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,227
Rockauto sells a reman TB from Cardone for $100.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2007 Chevrolet Impala LT
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™