Bluetooth mice - worth it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dishdude

$100 Site Donor 2023
I'd like to use a Bluetooth mouse with my Dell Latitude 5285 (like a Surface) so I don't have a dongle sticking out the side. Do these things stay paired or am I going to be frustrated when I need to keep pairing it and fighting to get the thing to connect? Running W10. Looking for something compact to travel with.

I've been using one on my laptop for three years now. Its a Logitech and it works great. Takes two AA batteries you have to replace about once a year. Oh I'm on Windows 10 as well.

Last edited:
I think it's worth it. At work I have two mice, a wired one and a BT one, and not having a wire is good for two reasons: no extra drag, and less things moving around my desk. [I kept the wired one and try to alternate hands from time to time.] I have a laptop for work, and a laptop at home, and both use BT mice. I wouldn't go back for anything.

I really want to get BT headphones as I'm getting tired of the wire getting wrapped around my chair.

I've got 3 Logitech M310's we use, just the right size to fill your hand and the single AA battery lasts 6+ months. There's no pairing involved with the set up, just plug in the micro adapter and your ready for use. Never had one not stay paired. You can pick them up for $12-$15.

Get a Logitech etc. not some no-name brand. Bluetooth uses more battery power than a simple wireless mouse, you are looking at more frequent battery replacement or using rechargeable batteries.

Originally Posted By: wymi516
I've got 3 Logitech M310's we use, just the right size to fill your hand and the single AA battery lasts 6+ months. There's no pairing involved with the set up, just plug in the micro adapter and your ready for use. Never had one not stay paired. You can pick them up for $12-$15.

That's what I have. I was worried about reliability before buying it but it works perfectly. I endorse it.