Best oil for me

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a delivery driver. There are lots of short trips and city traffic. I commute to the city 40 miles on the highway so there is a 50/50 mix of city/highway miles. I use a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8L V6. This van has 187,500 miles on it.

It leaks oil at multiple locations. I am not fixing this problem. I mention it as a point to note in my oil selection. I understand that 2 quarts of top off between 5,000 mile oil change intervals is a lot and adds to my oil cost. I would have to tear down the engine to fix all of the leaks. I would rather spend time and money on a new vehicle at $1500 instead.

I keep it maintained other than the oil leaks. I replaced the antifreeze and auto trans fluid within the last 3,000 miles.

I use Mobil1 5W20 High Mileage Synthetic at the moment. Cost is a huge problem at each oil change. I will continue to use this oil if it is the most cost efficient one for me to use. However, I am researching whether a switch to conventional oil will reduce my oil cost efficiency considering that the reduction in up front cost also reduces the gas mileage benefit of using synthetic oil.

What is the formula for this cost efficiency calculation between synthetic oil, conventional oil, and gas mileage? Should I use conventional oil or synthetic?

I'd pick up a 5 gallon pail of Rotella T4 10W-30. It works out to about $3/qt and will handle just about anything you can throw at it.

I'm gonna have to agree with bumping it to a 5w30. But try Pennzoil High Mileage 5w30.

M1 HM in the 10W-30 grade.
This would likely reduce leaks/consumption and shouldn't cause any measurable decline in fuel economy.
You can get four jugs cheaply each year by taking advantage of Mobil's spring and fall MIRs.
If I had an engine with known leak/consumption problems in a place where it never gets really cold, I don't think I'd use a 5W-20 grade oil in it.