Changing valve gasket on Ranger. Varnish?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NSG

Wanted to ask the question. I'm replacing the valve cover gasket on my 01' Ranger which has about 185k miles on it. Just doing maintance and other things so figured why I am doing injectors/plugs...etc. Might as well change the gasket since everything is apart. Plus gives me the chance to paint the valve cover.

Anyways, this is what the inside looks like. I can get a better picture. Seems to be coated in varnish. NOTE that there is ZERO sludge... anywhere. Just coated. Should I try a different oil or clean it with other products running through the system? I've heard people say seafoam it but honestly I think that stuff is a probably snake oil.

I have been using Valvoline high mileage 5e30 for probably 5+ years and changed it every 5k miles along with motor-craft filter.

Just wanted some thoughts. If all appears normal and this isn't a problem then I will button it up once I am done with everything and continue to do what I've been doing...etc.

2ca2798e22e08dbd9f941065247db051-full.jpg

Thanks,
-Nigel

Originally Posted By: NSG
my 01' Ranger which has about 185k miles... Seems to be coated in varnish. NOTE that there is ZERO sludge...

Just wanted some thoughts. If all appears normal and this isn't a problem

Yes, Nigel - after 185,000 that is to be expected. Nothing at all out of the ordinary.

The Ford "Lima" engine is pretty TOUGH.
Yours looks like brand new compared to some I have seen!!

Wouldn't worry and keep driving. I am guessing you have not owned it from new? It can be avoided with frequent enough oil changes. Could have been one owner going too long on several changes with the cheapest oil they could find. Without sludge though, pretty harmless.

Don't bother with the "cleaning" products. Not worth the time and effort or money.

Originally Posted By: Linctex
Yes, Nigel - after 185,000 that is to be expected. Nothing at all out of the ordinary.