5w-30 when 5w-20 is required

Status
Not open for further replies.
Google lead me here and I appreciate the help.

2015 explorer limited. v6 (no eco). 25k miles. 5w-20 required.

story
Place an online order through autozone for 6 quarts of 5w-20 mobile one synthetic yesterday. Picked it up today to do the oil change. Running a bunch of errands to get ready for the game and not paying attention. Do the change, nice and clean and it's not until I go to dump the old oil back into the bottles that I noticed my 5 quarts was 5w-30... The single quart was the correct 5w-20. Receipt and order were both correct.

So I'm an engineer and anal about stuff (hence doing my own oil changes in upstate ny winter). Google shows mixed results stating mostly that i'll be ok. However it could reduce mileage, hp and cause extra wear. It also seems that newer cars have tighter specs. So I plan to go back to see if they'll refund me 6 new quarts. But curious if they don't what risk i'm in? I probably wouldn't care if just the single quart was off. How big a deal is this for the next 7.5k?

The 5w30 u used is probably resource conserving (a thin 30)
Currently running 5w30 in my families 5.4 which asks for 5w20
The engine sounds the same...no noticeable drop in fuel efficiency
Consumption decreased running 5w30 vs 5w20
Still getting about 17 mpg highway
The difference in kinematic viscosity of running an ilsac 5w20 and 5w30 is very small
9.0 ish to 10.x (m1 website says theirs is 11.0) at running temp.
I wouldnt worry but its ur vehicle

Your engine will not know the difference of a few tenths of a Cst. I use 10w30 in a Focus which recommends 5W20 and I use 5W30 in a Ram which recommends 5W30.