Recent Topics
Smart charges/time
by Duffyjr. 12/13/18 08:24 AM
7.3 powerstroke water pump
by mobilaltima. 12/13/18 07:10 AM
98 Jeep Cherokee, what oil is spec'd?
by otis24. 12/13/18 06:31 AM
fixing LED Christmas lights
by danez_yoda. 12/13/18 06:30 AM
Things are not as they seem to be..
by CourierDriver. 12/13/18 06:09 AM
Oz Ranger Raptor
by Shannow. 12/13/18 05:22 AM
Shop vac recommendations
by dlundblad. 12/13/18 05:06 AM
Internet Network Issues
by ZeeOSix. 12/13/18 04:13 AM
Looking for Fram Ultra XG30 and XG5 cut open
by rubberchicken. 12/12/18 10:27 PM
92 f150 332 code
by ram_man. 12/12/18 10:05 PM
Mixing brands of brake fluid / gear lube
by SureshR. 12/12/18 09:26 PM
45,000 miles in the Caprice.
by ls1mike. 12/12/18 09:21 PM
Quality oils?
by Horsehaulin. 12/12/18 09:16 PM
Exhaust fumes in cabin
by Skater4life27. 12/12/18 08:40 PM
Squeaky sunroof
by dishdude. 12/12/18 08:09 PM
Liqui Moly Top Tec 1800
by Chuckh. 12/12/18 07:56 PM
2006 Pathfinder Transmission Shudder
by Bluestream. 12/12/18 07:10 PM
Maybe E-10 is better? - PentaStar (Flex Fuel)
by StevieC. 12/12/18 06:52 PM
Shipping cost
by Fitter30. 12/12/18 06:45 PM
Newest Members
Horsehaulin, JLew, bmrk1100, Rrrracer, jefe_de_estado
66664 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
85 registered members (aquariuscsm, 4WD, aba4430, Bailes1992, Audios, 12 invisible), 1,766 guests, and 42 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,012
Posts4,925,993
Members66,664
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router #4655585
02/04/18 08:16 AM
02/04/18 08:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan
BobsArmory Offline OP
BobsArmory  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan
So I just upgraded my internet service from 30 Mbps to 100 Mbps (WOW Cable) and my old Zoom modem router combo unit cant handle the speed.

So I have 2 question.

1. Should I bother with getting a cable modem that is DOCSIS 3.1 or stay with the 3.0 version since I have no current plans to get any faster than 100 Mbps

2. Routers, thinking a dual band or maybe even a tri band router. I have a wife and 2 teenagers in the house, all the electronics and thinking of installing a 4 camera Arlo Pro security camera system in. My short list so far is ASUS RT-AC86U Dual Band Wireless Router AC2900 or a refurbished ASUS AC5300 Wireless Tri-Band (Dual 5GHz + Single 2.4GHz) Gigabit Router [RT-AC5300] for the same price.

Any thoughts or advise?


Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter
Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655600
02/04/18 08:34 AM
02/04/18 08:34 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,560
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,560
ME
Get the most versatile router you can... if all the RF channels are busy on your neighborhood the newer tech can "cope" better. Find your ISPs preferred list. It will also help if you ever need their tech support; they are less likely to blame your frugal independent choice.

Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655604
02/04/18 08:39 AM
02/04/18 08:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,594
Planet Earth
2015_PSD Offline
2015_PSD  Offline
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,594
Planet Earth
I went with an Arris Surfboard SB6183 modem and a Netgear Nighthawk X8 both from Costco and kicked the gateway from Comcast to the curb about 2 years ago--performance is amazing. Comcast is now rolling fiber gigabit and if I go to that I will need to upgrade the modem as the 6183 is only good for 686mbs.

Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655611
02/04/18 08:47 AM
02/04/18 08:47 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,966
North TX
RTexasF Offline
RTexasF  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,966
North TX
I would choose 3.1 just to future proof. If the refurb AC5300 has the same warranty as new that would be my choice with kiddos. I have an AC2400 and it reaches every corner of a 2400 sq ft house even with the worst location and multiple walls.

Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655665
02/04/18 09:45 AM
02/04/18 09:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,460
Michigan
MrHorspwer Offline
MrHorspwer  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,460
Michigan
Originally Posted By: BobsArmory

1. Should I bother with getting a cable modem that is DOCSIS 3.1 or stay with the 3.0 version since I have no current plans to get any faster than 100 Mbps


My advice is to always choose a cable modem that is on your ISP's compatibility list. This is will shortcut the inevitable, "Well, it might be your equipment..." excuse if you ever have any issues and your modem is not on the list. From Wow's list, I'd probably pick the tried and true Motorola SB6141. FWIW,
Wow lists only one DOCSIS 3.1 modem on their list.

http://www.wowway.com/docs/wow/documents-support-internet/modem-compatibility-list.pdf

Full disclosure... I partially say the SB6141 because it's the same modem I have for Comcast 100 Mbps service in Michigan and it's been rock solid. I wish Wow served my neighborhood though. I've had them in a previous house and they're a great ISP.

Originally Posted By: BobsArmory

2. Routers, thinking a dual band or maybe even a tri band router. I have a wife and 2 teenagers in the house, all the electronics and thinking of installing a 4 camera Arlo Pro security camera system in. My short list so far is ASUS RT-AC86U Dual Band Wireless Router AC2900 or a refurbished ASUS AC5300 Wireless Tri-Band (Dual 5GHz + Single 2.4GHz) Gigabit Router [RT-AC5300] for the same price.


The AC5300 is a beast. I assume you're looking at the refurb units at Micro Center for $279? At that price, I can't recommend against it.

My experience (I have an Asus RT-AC87U) is that 5 GHz doesn't have the range that 2.4 GHz has and when the signal does start to drop, the performance drops much more quickly. I tend to keep stationary items, like my Apple TVs, on the 5 GHz band, where I know they're in-range and will stay there. All our mobile devices are on the 2.4 band.

I installed a trio of Arlo cameras last week. Easy peasy and no network issues.

Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655715
02/04/18 10:30 AM
02/04/18 10:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,565
South Carolina
alarmguy Offline
alarmguy  Offline
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,565
South Carolina
I have Spectrum 100 mbps and seem to exceed the 100 all the time, mostly.
I just did a test wondering exactly I would pull today, as its a dreary stormy rain soaked day here.

I have a TP link Docsis 3.0 and Tplink Archer C7 AC 1700 router, both maybe about 2 years old (maybe less, cant remember) Been rock solid. "Just because" I also did a firmware update on the C7 since it was available. I also have snap on ferrite filters on all equipment power lines and cables.

My results just a few minutes ago, using my new HP A12 desktop on 5G wifi-

SPEED TEST PLUS
Internet Quality Test

DOWNLOAD
116.65
Mbps

UPLOAD
11.59
Mbps

LATENCY
28
ms

JITTER
2
ms

Quality is Excellent
Your broadband connection and line quality is
Excellent

Last edited by alarmguy; 02/04/18 10:31 AM.

14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50
Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4655730
02/04/18 10:42 AM
02/04/18 10:42 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,966
North TX
RTexasF Offline
RTexasF  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,966
North TX
Quote:
My experience (I have an Asus RT-AC87U) is that 5 GHz doesn't have the range that 2.4 GHz has and when the signal does start to drop, the performance drops much more quickly. I tend to keep stationary items, like my Apple TVs, on the 5 GHz band, where I know they're in-range and will stay there. All our mobile devices are on the 2.4 band.


We do the same and it works out extremely well. Never a flutter when streaming and phones stay hooked up both inside & out. Phones, tablets, and laptops on 2.4 with TVs and TIVO on 5.0. Nine items connected to router although all are not being used at the same time of course.

Quote:

My advice is to always choose a cable modem that is on your ISP's compatibility list.


Excellent advice, I had forgotten about that completely.....it's a MUST!

Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: MrHorspwer] #4656014
02/04/18 02:40 PM
02/04/18 02:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan
BobsArmory Offline OP
BobsArmory  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan


""The AC5300 is a beast. I assume you're looking at the refurb units at Micro Center for $279? At that price, I can't recommend against it.""


There is a refurb AC5300 for $219. Forgot the name of the store for the moment.


Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter
Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4656048
02/04/18 03:15 PM
02/04/18 03:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,177
US-WA
Dyusik Offline
Dyusik  Offline
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,177
US-WA
I have my old modem form 6+ years ago. Currently streaming 4K, plus laptop, 3 phones, etc etc etc. Have not yet seen the need to upgrade. Router is ASUS RT-AC52U, payed 70 bucks for it... scratching my head over the nearly 400 dollar price tag on Amazon...


95 Cherokee 190K DELO 10W30, XG8
07 IS250 103K Napa 10w30, FULL
04 YZF-R1 19K DELO 15w40, XG7317
99 HD XL1200S 21K VR1 20w50, NG1515
14 RX450h 35k PP MIX, NG7047
Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4659863
02/08/18 09:52 AM
02/08/18 09:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,208
CA
MysticGold04 Offline
MysticGold04  Offline
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,208
CA
I agree with the SB6141 modem. For the price, you cannot beat the Asus AC5300 router. I am a recent Linksys fan convert to Asus routers. I bought two of the TM-AC1900 routers (TMobile) and converted them to RT-AC68Us.


drive
'02 Saturn SC2 99,342 Maxlife 5w30
'04 Highlander 2AZ 200,129 Castrol Magnatec 5w30
'17 Dodge Durango SXT-V6 20422 Pennz Plat 0w20


Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory] #4663242
02/11/18 05:57 PM
02/11/18 05:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan
BobsArmory Offline OP
BobsArmory  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,343
Michigan
Well I ended up getting a Netgear CM600 modem. It was on the list and cheap. I didn't get the DOCSIS 3.1 modem because they are 2X more expensive at this time. I would guess that if I ever need a 3.1 they will have dropped in price. I did get the ASUS AC5300 router. It was a pretty good deal but it didn't come with the included CD, Manual, ethernet cable. Not a big deal.

Everything is up and running smoothly. It's interesting to see the router switching devices between bands seamlessly as the girls come home and start up all the electronic stuff in the house. Kind of like having an air traffic controller inside your modem!


Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™