Recent Topics
Water Pump Paper Gasket With RTV? Longevity?
by nobb
06/17/18 08:22 PM
Who makes Briggs & Stratton oil?
by spk2000
06/17/18 08:13 PM
Shure stylus replacement
by aquariuscsm
06/17/18 07:54 PM
Any 'crazy UCL overdose' fans out there?
by addyguy
06/17/18 07:11 PM
Source for Castrol Edge Supercar 5w50 oil?
by Rainier42
06/17/18 06:50 PM
Cherry vs orange hand cleaner
by JHZR2
06/17/18 06:27 PM
Why buy low mileage tires?
by HowAboutThis
06/17/18 05:49 PM
Mercury 35-8M0065104 cut open w/ oil change pics
by dlundblad
06/17/18 05:37 PM
2019 Honda’s miniMOTOs (125cc)
by DuckRyder
06/17/18 05:18 PM
Car Sales Scammers on Letgo
by ZZman
06/17/18 04:18 PM
Air shocks or Timbren for trailer towing ?
by Oldtom
06/17/18 04:10 PM
Which coil for a 2002 Focus Zetec?
by slacktide_bitog
06/17/18 04:07 PM
Blink -Roadside assistance, any experience?
by MoneyJohn
06/17/18 03:22 PM
Some garage art!
by ls1mike
06/17/18 03:12 PM
California Law
by PiperOne
06/17/18 02:37 PM
honda vs tyc a/c condenser?
by researcher
06/17/18 02:31 PM
To all the Fathers out there.
by rollinpete
06/17/18 01:37 PM
'14 Mercedes E350 Coupe - Castrol Edge 0w40
by FlyPenFly
06/17/18 01:08 PM
2007 Chrysler 4.0L SOHC engine - why 10w-30 req'd?
by 92saturnsl2
06/17/18 12:54 PM
you can see my crack when I dismount a tire
by eljefino
06/17/18 12:44 PM
Newest Members
mostdecent, T1TN, Piper58, dunlop0078, Truth_Syrup
65258 Registered Users
Who's Online
93 registered (2009Edge, 4WD, addyguy, 330indy, 2015_PSD, 87sammy, 13 invisible), 1478 Guests and 42 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65258 Members
67 Forums
285489 Topics
4764539 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4655585 - 02/04/18 08:16 AM Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router
BobsArmory Offline


Registered: 03/28/10
Posts: 1320
Loc: Michigan
So I just upgraded my internet service from 30 Mbps to 100 Mbps (WOW Cable) and my old Zoom modem router combo unit cant handle the speed.

So I have 2 question.

1. Should I bother with getting a cable modem that is DOCSIS 3.1 or stay with the 3.0 version since I have no current plans to get any faster than 100 Mbps

2. Routers, thinking a dual band or maybe even a tri band router. I have a wife and 2 teenagers in the house, all the electronics and thinking of installing a 4 camera Arlo Pro security camera system in. My short list so far is ASUS RT-AC86U Dual Band Wireless Router AC2900 or a refurbished ASUS AC5300 Wireless Tri-Band (Dual 5GHz + Single 2.4GHz) Gigabit Router [RT-AC5300] for the same price.

Any thoughts or advise?
_________________________
Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

Top
#4655600 - 02/04/18 08:34 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32628
Loc: ME
Get the most versatile router you can... if all the RF channels are busy on your neighborhood the newer tech can "cope" better. Find your ISPs preferred list. It will also help if you ever need their tech support; they are less likely to blame your frugal independent choice.

Top
#4655604 - 02/04/18 08:39 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
2015_PSD Online   content


Registered: 09/26/10
Posts: 7231
Loc: SE Texas
I went with an Arris Surfboard SB6183 modem and a Netgear Nighthawk X8 both from Costco and kicked the gateway from Comcast to the curb about 2 years ago--performance is amazing. Comcast is now rolling fiber gigabit and if I go to that I will need to upgrade the modem as the 6183 is only good for 686mbs.
_________________________
2018 MB AMG GLC43 3.0L Coupe - M1 0W-40/OEM
2018 MB C300 2.0L - M1 0W-40/OEM
2015 F-250 6.7L PS Diesel - Delo 5W-40/CQ Blue
2014 Explorer 3.5L Limited - M1 AFE 0W-20/FU

Top
#4655611 - 02/04/18 08:47 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
RTexasF Offline


Registered: 10/01/02
Posts: 2878
Loc: North TX
I would choose 3.1 just to future proof. If the refurb AC5300 has the same warranty as new that would be my choice with kiddos. I have an AC2400 and it reaches every corner of a 2400 sq ft house even with the worst location and multiple walls.

Top
#4655665 - 02/04/18 09:45 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
MrHorspwer Offline


Registered: 12/18/06
Posts: 1420
Loc: Michigan
Originally Posted By: BobsArmory

1. Should I bother with getting a cable modem that is DOCSIS 3.1 or stay with the 3.0 version since I have no current plans to get any faster than 100 Mbps


My advice is to always choose a cable modem that is on your ISP's compatibility list. This is will shortcut the inevitable, "Well, it might be your equipment..." excuse if you ever have any issues and your modem is not on the list. From Wow's list, I'd probably pick the tried and true Motorola SB6141. FWIW,
Wow lists only one DOCSIS 3.1 modem on their list.

http://www.wowway.com/docs/wow/documents-support-internet/modem-compatibility-list.pdf

Full disclosure... I partially say the SB6141 because it's the same modem I have for Comcast 100 Mbps service in Michigan and it's been rock solid. I wish Wow served my neighborhood though. I've had them in a previous house and they're a great ISP.

Originally Posted By: BobsArmory

2. Routers, thinking a dual band or maybe even a tri band router. I have a wife and 2 teenagers in the house, all the electronics and thinking of installing a 4 camera Arlo Pro security camera system in. My short list so far is ASUS RT-AC86U Dual Band Wireless Router AC2900 or a refurbished ASUS AC5300 Wireless Tri-Band (Dual 5GHz + Single 2.4GHz) Gigabit Router [RT-AC5300] for the same price.


The AC5300 is a beast. I assume you're looking at the refurb units at Micro Center for $279? At that price, I can't recommend against it.

My experience (I have an Asus RT-AC87U) is that 5 GHz doesn't have the range that 2.4 GHz has and when the signal does start to drop, the performance drops much more quickly. I tend to keep stationary items, like my Apple TVs, on the 5 GHz band, where I know they're in-range and will stay there. All our mobile devices are on the 2.4 band.

I installed a trio of Arlo cameras last week. Easy peasy and no network issues.

Top
#4655715 - 02/04/18 10:30 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
alarmguy Offline


Registered: 07/10/12
Posts: 2146
Loc: South Carolina
I have Spectrum 100 mbps and seem to exceed the 100 all the time, mostly.
I just did a test wondering exactly I would pull today, as its a dreary stormy rain soaked day here.

I have a TP link Docsis 3.0 and Tplink Archer C7 AC 1700 router, both maybe about 2 years old (maybe less, cant remember) Been rock solid. "Just because" I also did a firmware update on the C7 since it was available. I also have snap on ferrite filters on all equipment power lines and cables.

My results just a few minutes ago, using my new HP A12 desktop on 5G wifi-

SPEED TEST PLUS
Internet Quality Test

DOWNLOAD
116.65
Mbps

UPLOAD
11.59
Mbps

LATENCY
28
ms

JITTER
2
ms

Quality is Excellent
Your broadband connection and line quality is
Excellent


Edited by alarmguy (02/04/18 10:31 AM)
_________________________
14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50

Top
#4655730 - 02/04/18 10:42 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
RTexasF Offline


Registered: 10/01/02
Posts: 2878
Loc: North TX
Quote:
My experience (I have an Asus RT-AC87U) is that 5 GHz doesn't have the range that 2.4 GHz has and when the signal does start to drop, the performance drops much more quickly. I tend to keep stationary items, like my Apple TVs, on the 5 GHz band, where I know they're in-range and will stay there. All our mobile devices are on the 2.4 band.


We do the same and it works out extremely well. Never a flutter when streaming and phones stay hooked up both inside & out. Phones, tablets, and laptops on 2.4 with TVs and TIVO on 5.0. Nine items connected to router although all are not being used at the same time of course.

Quote:

My advice is to always choose a cable modem that is on your ISP's compatibility list.


Excellent advice, I had forgotten about that completely.....it's a MUST!

Top
#4656014 - 02/04/18 02:40 PM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: MrHorspwer]
BobsArmory Offline


Registered: 03/28/10
Posts: 1320
Loc: Michigan


""The AC5300 is a beast. I assume you're looking at the refurb units at Micro Center for $279? At that price, I can't recommend against it.""


There is a refurb AC5300 for $219. Forgot the name of the store for the moment.
_________________________
Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

Top
#4656048 - 02/04/18 03:15 PM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
Dyusik Offline


Registered: 09/26/14
Posts: 1978
Loc: US-WA
I have my old modem form 6+ years ago. Currently streaming 4K, plus laptop, 3 phones, etc etc etc. Have not yet seen the need to upgrade. Router is ASUS RT-AC52U, payed 70 bucks for it... scratching my head over the nearly 400 dollar price tag on Amazon...
_________________________
95 Cherokee 190K DELO 10W30,XG8
07 IS250 97K FB ?w??,FULL
04 YZF-R1 19K DELO 15w40,XG7317
99 HD XL1200S 18K 76 20w50,1515
14 RX450h 30k PP 0w20,NAPAG

Top
#4659863 - 02/08/18 09:52 AM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
MysticGold04 Offline


Registered: 01/12/05
Posts: 1197
Loc: CA
I agree with the SB6141 modem. For the price, you cannot beat the Asus AC5300 router. I am a recent Linksys fan convert to Asus routers. I bought two of the TM-AC1900 routers (TMobile) and converted them to RT-AC68Us.
_________________________
drive
'02 Saturn SC2 97,342 Maxlife 5w30
'04 Highlander 2AZ 196,820 Castrol Magnatec 5w30
'17 Dodge Durango SXT-V6 15422 Pennz Plat 0w20



Top
#4663242 - 02/11/18 05:57 PM Re: Help, Need a new DOCSIS cable modem and router [Re: BobsArmory]
BobsArmory Offline


Registered: 03/28/10
Posts: 1320
Loc: Michigan
Well I ended up getting a Netgear CM600 modem. It was on the list and cheap. I didn't get the DOCSIS 3.1 modem because they are 2X more expensive at this time. I would guess that if I ever need a 3.1 they will have dropped in price. I did get the ASUS AC5300 router. It was a pretty good deal but it didn't come with the included CD, Manual, ethernet cable. Not a big deal.

Everything is up and running smoothly. It's interesting to see the router switching devices between bands seamlessly as the girls come home and start up all the electronic stuff in the house. Kind of like having an air traffic controller inside your modem!
_________________________
Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

Top