Recent Topics
Let's Talk Bed Pillows
by LoneRanger
06/20/18 09:21 AM
Changed Speedo Gear on 700r4 Tailshaft
by Pike51
06/20/18 09:20 AM
Which do you prefer: ZL-1 Camaro or GS Corvette ?
by Mr Nice
06/20/18 08:41 AM
CVT Discussion
by Sierra048
06/20/18 08:28 AM
Can't get Unifi AP V2 to work on TDS...
by WhizkidTN
06/20/18 07:34 AM
Need mini grease gun
by Duffyjr
06/20/18 07:02 AM
Mazda 6 O2 sensor - CA emission
by Chester11
06/20/18 06:57 AM
Brake Bleeder
by supton
06/20/18 06:56 AM
As close to blowing out as you can get
by wwillson
06/20/18 06:04 AM
changing tranny filter
by Dennisistheman
06/20/18 06:04 AM
From small things...
by Silk
06/20/18 05:57 AM
Anyone signing up for the Space Force
by Shannow
06/20/18 03:58 AM
Pennzoil Platinum at Walmart
by TheLawnRanger
06/19/18 11:21 PM
Mopar OEM and Fram Ultra Oil filters, '18 Jeep JL
by IndyFan
06/19/18 10:45 PM
What’s the odds..
by Eric Smith
06/19/18 09:51 PM
Who can relate?
by Reddy45
06/19/18 09:43 PM
No more oil changes
by goodtimes
06/19/18 09:19 PM
Separating toddlers from their parents?
by fdcg27
06/19/18 08:50 PM
gm 8.6 truetrac
by Spitter
06/19/18 08:45 PM
New addition to my garage: 2000 Corvette FRC
by MrHorspwer
06/19/18 08:34 PM
Newest Members
Theraven, battleman13, Shassis, Santo, aligoodn
65276 Registered Users
Who's Online
87 registered (9050lx, 853okg, 2015_PSD, 28oz, 2009Edge, 330indy, 10 invisible), 1460 Guests and 34 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65276 Members
67 Forums
285641 Topics
4766896 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4655532 - 02/04/18 07:31 AM MetroPCS
willbur Offline


Registered: 06/06/13
Posts: 287
Loc: sw ohio
Greetings-

MetroPCS plans sure look good. They supposedly use the T-Mobile network. Has anyone had experience with MetroPCS to share?

Top
#4655560 - 02/04/18 07:59 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
BobsArmory Offline


Registered: 03/28/10
Posts: 1320
Loc: Michigan
I have had MetroPCS for 3 years now. 4 phones unlimited everything for just $100 per month (plus taxes). Bought my phones outright, Alcatel A30, Alcatel Fierce 4 and two LG Stylo 3 phones. The phone prices are so good that I don't even run insurance on them. Great service and coverage unless I venture into the upper peninsula of Michigan but then everyone has a problem there no matter what provider you have.

For me, MetroPCS is a major win.
_________________________
Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

Top
#4655645 - 02/04/18 09:26 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
madRiver Offline


Registered: 07/11/15
Posts: 3537
Loc: New England
The most important thing is to ask people who use them or T Mobil local to you and in your travel areas.

T Mobil is garbage in NH but that is area specific.

Top
#4655656 - 02/04/18 09:39 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
BigBuck Offline


Registered: 09/29/10
Posts: 497
Loc: VA
I have a 2 phone plan. Tax included is nice so you know you don't have to check the bill every month looking for what new fee they added this week.

I liked sprint better, but metropcs isnt bad.
_________________________
2013 Kia Optima
46,470 miles
Chevron Supreme 5w20

1997 Ford F250 H.D. 5.8
26,500 miles
Formula Shell 5w30

Top
#4655680 - 02/04/18 10:02 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
Chris142 Offline


Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 16817
Loc: Deplorable in apple valley, ca
I had Metro 5 yrs ago and the service was worthless here. Had a 5 hr dead zone between victorville,cal and King man,az. The only service that worked here was Verizon....and I was paying $280/month for that plus 2 phones. Now that metro is using AT&T there service is much better.

We switched back to metro last month. Plus they give you a free phone,Verizon charges you $600 for the same phone!

We are paying $79/month for 2 lines unlimited.
_________________________
02 Wrangler durablend 10w40
87 F250 traveler 15w40
04 Tahoe super-s 10w30
Z400 castrol T 10w40
Can am maveric edge 5w40
57 case tractor 15w40

Top
#4655682 - 02/04/18 10:03 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
bmwtechguy Offline


Registered: 06/15/04
Posts: 2673
Loc: South Carolina
I have several friends that use MetroPCS, and they are not complaining. MetroPCS is a wholly-owned prepaid service of T-mobile.
They have a fast-growing number of stores everywhere they have service. They are a great value if you have good T-mobile coverage where you use your phone. T-mobile's tower footprint is the fastest growing network here in the US, trying to catch up with Verizon and AT&T. They have a reputation for very fast internet speed in the areas they serve.

I would say that if their plans or current promos offer you what you need, and there is good coverage where you use your phone, then you cannot go wrong with MetroPCS. They are definitely spending lots of money to improve their network and have better building penetration than ever with the new frequencies (bands) they are now using.

That being said, we use Cricket, wholly owned prepaid arm of AT&T. It works best in the building I work in, and we have 5 lines of service for $100 total. 5Gb data each line.

Top
#4655724 - 02/04/18 10:36 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: bmwtechguy]
Mike Thompson Offline


Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 140
Loc: Carlsbad CA
I had Metro for a couple months a year ago; it was the worst service I ever had. Part of the problem is the fact that is a red-headed stepchild of T-Mobil, it gets whatever bandwidth is left over. Dropped calls, downloads stopped in the middle, finally gave up. The good thing is there are no contracts. T-mobil came up with a 55 yr. old and over plan 2 totally unlimited lines for $60, inc. canada and Mexico, where I frequent often. Finally happy with phone service.

Top
#4655739 - 02/04/18 10:48 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
alarmguy Offline


Registered: 07/10/12
Posts: 2148
Loc: South Carolina
Also check out Cricket wireless, Cricket owned by ATT so you have their network all the time. We have been using it for a few years now, basic plan = unlimited everything, prices include ALL taxes and fees.

Get up to 5 lines $100 a month, total cost, 4 lines $100 (correct, get 4 lines and 5th is free) we have 3 lines = $90 a month ACTUAL payment

FYI, I also have a work supplied Verizon phone and can say, the Cricket works everyplace any other ATT phone and Verizon phone works/


Edited by alarmguy (02/04/18 10:50 AM)
_________________________
14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50

Top
#4655860 - 02/04/18 12:17 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
bmwtechguy Offline


Registered: 06/15/04
Posts: 2673
Loc: South Carolina
Recently Cricket took away some of the discount for those 4th and 5th lines, so 3 lines of 5Gb each is still $90, but 4 lines is now $110 and 5 lines is $130. I understand we can keep the current $100 for 5 lines as long as we don't change any anything. We've been "grandfathered", so to speak.

Top
#4655964 - 02/04/18 01:57 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: bmwtechguy]
alarmguy Offline


Registered: 07/10/12
Posts: 2148
Loc: South Carolina
Yes you are correct and I thought I checked before I made that post.
However depending on what's important to somebody, like if you don't stream movies or whatever they have another plan where you can get 4 lines for a hundred and unlimited everything.
The only thing is download speeds are limited to 3 megabits per second and not a big deal on a phone if it's not important to someone.

Yes correct again I believe Cricket grandfather's in anything that anybody is already paying and has a history of that. The cool thing is when there's no contracts there's no obligation to stay with any company and that's what I love about no contract phones I got tired of all the games with contracts and added on fees... Our family has had Cricket for a couple years now the service has been is rock solid as AT&T is. However I knew it was just a matter of time before offering five lines for $100 would end ... And so it did...
We pay the same as we've always paid $90 a month three lines unlimited everything, 5 gigs high speed per line which has been increased a few times at no extra cos.

anyway here's the link hope it works click


Edited by alarmguy (02/04/18 02:05 PM)
_________________________
14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50

Top
#4656056 - 02/04/18 03:24 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
Y_K Offline


Registered: 05/29/09
Posts: 2147
Loc: WA (USA)
Can you use your phone as a hot spot on Metro?

Top
#4656133 - 02/04/18 04:46 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: Y_K]
BobsArmory Offline


Registered: 03/28/10
Posts: 1320
Loc: Michigan
Originally Posted By: Y_K
Can you use your phone as a hot spot on Metro?


Yes
_________________________
Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter

Top
#4656182 - 02/04/18 06:03 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17771
Loc: PNW
I've had MetroPCS for about 9 months, no complaints. I like that they include all taxes and fees in their price plans.

Top
#4656427 - 02/04/18 10:07 PM Re: MetroPCS [Re: willbur]
daves87rs Offline


Registered: 02/23/09
Posts: 16963
Loc: Michigan
Metro is doing well and growing fast around here...
_________________________
Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success.

Henry Ford

Top
#4662756 - 02/11/18 10:28 AM Re: MetroPCS [Re: Y_K]
bmwtechguy Offline


Registered: 06/15/04
Posts: 2673
Loc: South Carolina
Originally Posted By: Y_K
Can you use your phone as a hot spot on Metro?


Yes and no, depending on the terms of your plan. The newest unlimited 4 lines for $100 does not include hotspot or "tethering" as they call it. You can probably add that for extra cost.

Some plans or promos include a limited amount of tethering. You have to read the fine print.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >