Was I the bad guy? incident at my YMCA

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been doing spin classes (stationary bike class) for about 7 years at my local YMCA, I go 2x per week and rarely miss a class unless I'm sick or travelling. Most of the spin class participants are regulars too.

There is one family that attends with their son who is autistic. My wife found out years ago that the parents bring this kid to class to burn off some energy so he will sleep properly at night. Parents are now in their 60's and son is about 20 if I guess correctly. This family started attending about 4 years ago. In the last 3 years it's just the father and son, the mom has issues with her knees.

So, this kid farts. The class is in a closed room, one ceiling fan. We are all working hard. Nobody smells great at end of class, but whatever.
When this kid started attending 4 years ago, if he [censored], he'd yell out "EXCUSE ME" and keep going. Co-incidentally as his mom stopped going to class - the kid passes gas loudly and doesn't make any apology - his dad doesn't even acknowledge the events.

Back in November I complained to the instructor about his issue, she agreed that it had gotten worse, and she would talk with father.
I suspect there was no discussion with anyone.

So last Monday evening, we are 15 minutes into a 45 minute class and this kid has released 3 loud bombs, stinking up the room. I blurted out:
"Really xxxxx, 3 times already? !!" The kid doesn't know I was talking to him, he's totally un-aware of people talking to him - aside from his family members.

At the end of the class, I ask the father to do something about this issue. The father explains to me that he can't do anything and the kid can't control his body. I reacted by saying "so this is now my problem?" father just shakes his head and retreats, I asked him if they could get him to have a bowel movement before class, or feed him dinner after class, not before. No response from the father.