Recent Topics
Pennzoil Platinum at Walmart
by TheLawnRanger
Yesterday at 11:21 PM
Mopar OEM and Fram Ultra Oil filters, '18 Jeep JL
by IndyFan
Yesterday at 10:45 PM
What’s the odds..
by Eric Smith
Yesterday at 09:51 PM
Who can relate?
by Reddy45
Yesterday at 09:43 PM
No more oil changes
by goodtimes
Yesterday at 09:19 PM
Separating toddlers from their parents?
by fdcg27
Yesterday at 08:50 PM
gm 8.6 truetrac
by Spitter
Yesterday at 08:45 PM
New addition to my garage: 2000 Corvette FRC
by MrHorspwer
Yesterday at 08:34 PM
Rockauto 5% off
by Spitter
Yesterday at 08:32 PM
fumoto oil valve
by Santo
Yesterday at 08:19 PM
Grand solar minimum...
by ridgerunner
Yesterday at 07:57 PM
Pentofrost coolant $10 Autozone
by PD001
Yesterday at 07:49 PM
The things you find cleaning Garage 30+ btls slob
by digger327
Yesterday at 07:20 PM
Castrol GTX Magantec 0w20 - 6 pack $21.99 - Amazon
by 04SE
Yesterday at 07:07 PM
Havoline Pro DS 5w20 $3.15/quart - Amazon
by 04SE
Yesterday at 07:06 PM
Needing New Dipstick
by Geauxtiger
Yesterday at 05:11 PM
'98 Mercedes E300TD Rotella T5 10W-30 5k miles
by KenO
Yesterday at 04:35 PM
Premium guard oil filters
by Jaha24k
Yesterday at 04:09 PM
76 super motor oil- synthetic blend 5w-30
by Jaha24k
Yesterday at 04:07 PM
Who makes the Mopar 5038041AA filter?
by Quattro Pete
Yesterday at 03:55 PM
Newest Members
Shassis, Santo, aligoodn, memyself, MichiganKid419
65274 Registered Users
Who's Online
43 registered (bdcardinal, 2015_PSD, Bandito440, Billbert, CKN, 2003f7, 2 invisible), 1067 Guests and 33 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65274 Members
67 Forums
285629 Topics
4766649 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4644920 - 01/24/18 12:13 PM School me on Intel CPUs
28oz Offline


Registered: 04/20/17
Posts: 337
Loc: Utah, USA
I'm typically an AMD guy for all my desktop builds, but may have the opportunity to get a used Cisco UCS C240 M4 rack server with dual Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 CPUs for dirt cheap. I don't really have a need for a beast like this, so I'm wondering how good of a CPU it would be for a workhorse desktop. I'll probably scavange the 192GB of DDR4 (I'm sure ECC...) it comes with along with its SSDs.

The socket is listed as "R3" which is also LGA-2011-v3, correct? I see desktop motherboards with that socket on Newegg.

My thought is to use one of those CPUs in an LGA-2011-v3 socketed motherboard with a desktop OS. Would use it for an all-around desktop (some gaming, video/slideshow rendering for the wife, etc..).

Any issues with this since it's a Xeon?
_________________________
-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40

Top
#4645062 - 01/24/18 02:46 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
Throt Offline


Registered: 11/15/14
Posts: 905
Loc: Jacksonville, FL
What speed is that DDR4?

I need about 16GB’s of 2400.
_________________________
'18 Cadillac ATS AWD, 2.0L T-GDI, 3500, Factory Fill/Filter, his (lease)
'17 Elantra, 2.0L, 21,000, QS Ult. 0w20 w/ FU, hers (lease)

Top
#4645092 - 01/24/18 03:18 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
PandaBear Offline


Registered: 08/05/02
Posts: 14212
Loc: Silicon Valley
From my understanding those CPU have different socket than the typical desktop CPU.

ECC DDR4, that'll probably sell for a premium in the shortage market we have now.
_________________________
"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah

Top
#4645097 - 01/24/18 03:20 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 3222
Loc: Somewhere
Given RAM prices, that RAM would probably pay for a new machine or a nice vacation!

Other than that, it's a server grade CPU so any boards you find may be proprietary (power supply, case, etc) and require the use of that ECC RAM. See what SuperMicro offers - they specialize in server stuff on the cheap (but very reliable).

Top
#4645098 - 01/24/18 03:20 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: Throt]
28oz Offline


Registered: 04/20/17
Posts: 337
Loc: Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: Throt
What speed is that DDR4?

I need about 16GB’s of 2400.


I believe it's 2400.
_________________________
-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40

Top
#4645100 - 01/24/18 03:22 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: itguy08]
28oz Offline


Registered: 04/20/17
Posts: 337
Loc: Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: itguy08
Given RAM prices, that RAM would probably pay for a new machine or a nice vacation!

Other than that, it's a server grade CPU so any boards you find may be proprietary (power supply, case, etc) and require the use of that ECC RAM. See what SuperMicro offers - they specialize in server stuff on the cheap (but very reliable).


The socket is LGA-2011-v3, which is available on desktop motherboards, even though the CPU itself is a server grade Xeon.

For example: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157601
_________________________
-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40

Top
#4645110 - 01/24/18 03:30 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 3222
Loc: Somewhere
I stand corrected. I thought all Xeons needed ECC memory. So used to just purchasing it that I never thought to look to see if it supported anything else.

Top
#4645173 - 01/24/18 04:38 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 10306
Loc: Illinois
How many cores will your target OS support, let alone the MB you choose?

Linux and similar no problem. I think in the Windows world, the release you choose, Home, Pro, or Enterprise may come with limits.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#4645177 - 01/24/18 04:45 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: javacontour]
28oz Offline


Registered: 04/20/17
Posts: 337
Loc: Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: javacontour
How many cores will your target OS support, let alone the MB you choose?

Linux and similar no problem. I think in the Windows world, the release you choose, Home, Pro, or Enterprise may come with limits.


That's a good point. For application compatibility with the wife and kids school stuff, It'd probably be Windows 10 pro. This CPU, I believe, has 10 cores. I have been able to find articles where this has been fine for Windows 10 pro, but I haven't found anything yet definitively saying 10 pro would support that many cores.
_________________________
-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40

Top
#4645182 - 01/24/18 04:47 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
Reddy45 Online   shocked


Registered: 08/15/08
Posts: 2967
Loc: USA
Those are close to the processors used in servers at my work. They're really more suited for business purposes, but would do fine for the purposes you list.

Now if you were planning to use them to build your own NAS or streaming media server, then that's even better!

Top
#4645747 - 01/25/18 09:24 AM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 10306
Loc: Illinois
Just a quick search of Google indicates that Intel X99 chipset does support E5-26xx v3 processors, but you said it's a V4. So you may need a server or workstation MB that has something like the C612 chipset.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#4645763 - 01/25/18 09:35 AM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: javacontour]
28oz Offline


Registered: 04/20/17
Posts: 337
Loc: Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: javacontour
Just a quick search of Google indicates that Intel X99 chipset does support E5-26xx v3 processors, but you said it's a V4. So you may need a server or workstation MB that has something like the C612 chipset.


Thanks, I'll look into that further. The more I think about it though, the clock speed may be insufficient for some gaming purposes as games don't rely so much on number of cores. If I can get this machine, it may just be a home lab box or I'll part it out and take the kids on a vacation or something.

Thanks everyone!
_________________________
-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40

Top
#4647147 - 01/26/18 03:28 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 3222
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: 28oz
That's a good point. For application compatibility with the wife and kids school stuff, It'd probably be Windows 10 pro. This CPU, I believe, has 10 cores. I have been able to find articles where this has been fine for Windows 10 pro, but I haven't found anything yet definitively saying 10 pro would support that many cores.


You should be fine with 10 cores on Win 10 Pro. My Ryzen 7 box is 8C/16T and running W10 Pro it's fine. It will use all 16 of those threads if need be.

Top
#4647365 - 01/26/18 07:15 PM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: itguy08]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 3222
Loc: Somewhere
According to this thread:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind...30-b9e7519c823f

Win 10 supports 2 physical CPUs and as many cores as you can put in there. You will want to run Win 10 Pro x64 though.

Top
#4650017 - 01/29/18 11:04 AM Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz]
BearZDefect Offline


Registered: 08/15/05
Posts: 2233
Loc: Lexington, KY
Rather than using that fine server as a home computer (servers tend to be very noisy when their cooling fans rev up) I would sell it as-is for a nice sum and use the cash to buy something more suitable for home use.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >