Recent Topics
Toyota Genuine oil 10W30
by gordond. 09/22/18 09:27 AM
Good Dealers
by HowAboutThis. 09/22/18 09:12 AM
electric brakes rely on heat to work?
by motor_oil_madman. 09/22/18 09:09 AM
help please 7.25 briggs idle too fast
by edwardh1. 09/22/18 08:49 AM
Java update and Flash not working
by JLTD. 09/22/18 08:47 AM
Bought a Giulia
by RamFan. 09/22/18 08:38 AM
Toyota Genuine oil 10W30
by gordond. 09/22/18 08:37 AM
Mobil 1 Extended Protection High Mileage Test
by njohnson. 09/22/18 07:57 AM
WPA 3 Wireless Security Coming
by StevieC. 09/22/18 01:16 AM
Robo Calls/Telemarketers
by Nick1994. 09/22/18 12:47 AM
What oil should be used!
by BigShug681. 09/22/18 12:28 AM
VW Electronic Parking Brake
by StevieC. 09/21/18 11:48 PM
Leak Sealing and Mould Treatments?
by Ducked. 09/21/18 11:44 PM
UPS / FedEx / USPS
by StevieC. 09/21/18 11:21 PM
puncture repair question
by neo3. 09/21/18 10:55 PM
Can I use a 10 amp extension cord for...
by gregk24. 09/21/18 10:48 PM
In the unlikely event of a crash
by StevieC. 09/21/18 10:09 PM
Newest Members
Sarrge, Big_R, gordond, mrgreggn, JRMFt11
66040 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
79 registered members (Astro14, Aero540T, A310, 14Accent, aquariuscsm, 10 invisible), 1,829 guests, and 46 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,821
Posts4,850,961
Members66,040
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
School me on Intel CPUs #4644920
01/24/18 01:13 PM
01/24/18 01:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
28oz Offline OP
28oz  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
I'm typically an AMD guy for all my desktop builds, but may have the opportunity to get a used Cisco UCS C240 M4 rack server with dual Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 CPUs for dirt cheap. I don't really have a need for a beast like this, so I'm wondering how good of a CPU it would be for a workhorse desktop. I'll probably scavange the 192GB of DDR4 (I'm sure ECC...) it comes with along with its SSDs.

The socket is listed as "R3" which is also LGA-2011-v3, correct? I see desktop motherboards with that socket on Newegg.

My thought is to use one of those CPUs in an LGA-2011-v3 socketed motherboard with a desktop OS. Would use it for an all-around desktop (some gaming, video/slideshow rendering for the wife, etc..).

Any issues with this since it's a Xeon?


-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645062
01/24/18 03:46 PM
01/24/18 03:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 935
Atlantic Beach, FL
Throt Offline
Throt  Offline
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 935
Atlantic Beach, FL
What speed is that DDR4?

I need about 16GBs of 2400.


'18 Cadillac ATS AWD, 2.0L T-GDI, 5500, Factory Fill/Filter, his (lease)
'17 Elantra, 2.0L, 22,500, QS Ult. 0w20 w/ FU, hers (lease)
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645092
01/24/18 04:18 PM
01/24/18 04:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
From my understanding those CPU have different socket than the typical desktop CPU.

ECC DDR4, that'll probably sell for a premium in the shortage market we have now.


"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645097
01/24/18 04:20 PM
01/24/18 04:20 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
itguy08 Offline
itguy08  Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
Given RAM prices, that RAM would probably pay for a new machine or a nice vacation!

Other than that, it's a server grade CPU so any boards you find may be proprietary (power supply, case, etc) and require the use of that ECC RAM. See what SuperMicro offers - they specialize in server stuff on the cheap (but very reliable).

Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: Throt] #4645098
01/24/18 04:20 PM
01/24/18 04:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
28oz Offline OP
28oz  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: Throt
What speed is that DDR4?

I need about 16GBs of 2400.


I believe it's 2400.


-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: itguy08] #4645100
01/24/18 04:22 PM
01/24/18 04:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
28oz Offline OP
28oz  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: itguy08
Given RAM prices, that RAM would probably pay for a new machine or a nice vacation!

Other than that, it's a server grade CPU so any boards you find may be proprietary (power supply, case, etc) and require the use of that ECC RAM. See what SuperMicro offers - they specialize in server stuff on the cheap (but very reliable).


The socket is LGA-2011-v3, which is available on desktop motherboards, even though the CPU itself is a server grade Xeon.

For example: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157601


-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645110
01/24/18 04:30 PM
01/24/18 04:30 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
itguy08 Offline
itguy08  Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
I stand corrected. I thought all Xeons needed ECC memory. So used to just purchasing it that I never thought to look to see if it supported anything else.

Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645173
01/24/18 05:38 PM
01/24/18 05:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,430
Illinois
javacontour Offline
javacontour  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,430
Illinois
How many cores will your target OS support, let alone the MB you choose?

Linux and similar no problem. I think in the Windows world, the release you choose, Home, Pro, or Enterprise may come with limits.


network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: javacontour] #4645177
01/24/18 05:45 PM
01/24/18 05:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
28oz Offline OP
28oz  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: javacontour
How many cores will your target OS support, let alone the MB you choose?

Linux and similar no problem. I think in the Windows world, the release you choose, Home, Pro, or Enterprise may come with limits.


That's a good point. For application compatibility with the wife and kids school stuff, It'd probably be Windows 10 pro. This CPU, I believe, has 10 cores. I have been able to find articles where this has been fine for Windows 10 pro, but I haven't found anything yet definitively saying 10 pro would support that many cores.


-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645182
01/24/18 05:47 PM
01/24/18 05:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,159
USA
Reddy45 Offline
Reddy45  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,159
USA
Those are close to the processors used in servers at my work. They're really more suited for business purposes, but would do fine for the purposes you list.

Now if you were planning to use them to build your own NAS or streaming media server, then that's even better!

Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4645747
01/25/18 10:24 AM
01/25/18 10:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,430
Illinois
javacontour Offline
javacontour  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,430
Illinois
Just a quick search of Google indicates that Intel X99 chipset does support E5-26xx v3 processors, but you said it's a V4. So you may need a server or workstation MB that has something like the C612 chipset.


network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: javacontour] #4645763
01/25/18 10:35 AM
01/25/18 10:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
28oz Offline OP
28oz  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 429
Utah, USA
Originally Posted By: javacontour
Just a quick search of Google indicates that Intel X99 chipset does support E5-26xx v3 processors, but you said it's a V4. So you may need a server or workstation MB that has something like the C612 chipset.


Thanks, I'll look into that further. The more I think about it though, the clock speed may be insufficient for some gaming purposes as games don't rely so much on number of cores. If I can get this machine, it may just be a home lab box or I'll part it out and take the kids on a vacation or something.

Thanks everyone!


-----------------
1990 Nissan 300zx - Castrol Edge Euro 0W-40
2004 Nissan Quest - Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W-40
2003 Ford Excursion 7.3 PSD - Mobil 1 TDT 5w-40
Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4647147
01/26/18 04:28 PM
01/26/18 04:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
itguy08 Offline
itguy08  Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
Originally Posted By: 28oz
That's a good point. For application compatibility with the wife and kids school stuff, It'd probably be Windows 10 pro. This CPU, I believe, has 10 cores. I have been able to find articles where this has been fine for Windows 10 pro, but I haven't found anything yet definitively saying 10 pro would support that many cores.


You should be fine with 10 cores on Win 10 Pro. My Ryzen 7 box is 8C/16T and running W10 Pro it's fine. It will use all 16 of those threads if need be.

Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: itguy08] #4647365
01/26/18 08:15 PM
01/26/18 08:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
itguy08 Offline
itguy08  Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,322
Somewhere
According to this thread:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind...30-b9e7519c823f

Win 10 supports 2 physical CPUs and as many cores as you can put in there. You will want to run Win 10 Pro x64 though.

Re: School me on Intel CPUs [Re: 28oz] #4650017
01/29/18 12:04 PM
01/29/18 12:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,252
Lexington, KY
BearZDefect Offline
BearZDefect  Offline
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,252
Lexington, KY
Rather than using that fine server as a home computer (servers tend to be very noisy when their cooling fans rev up) I would sell it as-is for a nice sum and use the cash to buy something more suitable for home use.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™