Solus OS

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know there are a few of you that enjoy using Linux as either your main OS or as a hobby. I've been using Linux as my main home OS since 2007 and for the most part have stuck with Ubuntu and Mint (and close derivatives). But I've also played with other distros from Fedora to Manjaro to OpenSUSE along with some independent distros. Two I have recently played with over the past year have been very good. If you're a KDE fan, KaOS is an Arch like (but not based on Arch) independent distro that is pretty cool. But the one that I am now using as my main distro is Solus OS with the Budgie desktop.

The great thing is that Solus OS is very easy to install and use so you don't have to have anymore experience in Linux than you would installing Ubuntu or Mint. The software selection is good (as expected, not as good as Ubuntu/Mint but pretty much everything you need is there). If you're looking for something new or looking to leave Winblows, I highly recommend giving Solus OS a try.

Was giving some thought to installing Ubuntu Budgie but heard it's larger and slower than Ubuntu Mate or Mint Mate, my two go-to's.

How does U Budgie compare to Solus? Is Solus notably larger than Mate distros? Does Budgie bring something to the table that Mate lacks?

Have an extra machine running Peppermint Linux and another one that I have access to. All about ten years old. Maybe I'll give Solus a try before Ubuntu Mate 18.04 is released.

See that Solus also has MATE as an alternate. My primary Mint computer is rather low end and seems to run better with MATE than Cinnamon. So I'd probably go with Solus Mate. Wonder what that would gain me over Mint MATE or Ubuntu MATE? Any thoughts?

Originally Posted By: csandste
Was giving some thought to installing Ubuntu Budgie but heard it's larger and slower than Ubuntu Mate or Mint Mate, my two go-to's.