Recent Topics
Looking for Fram Ultra XG30 and XG5 cut open
by rubberchicken. 12/12/18 10:27 PM
92 f150 332 code
by ram_man. 12/12/18 10:05 PM
Mixing brands of brake fluid / gear lube
by SureshR. 12/12/18 09:26 PM
45,000 miles in the Caprice.
by ls1mike. 12/12/18 09:21 PM
Quality oils?
by Horsehaulin. 12/12/18 09:16 PM
Exhaust fumes in cabin
by Skater4life27. 12/12/18 08:40 PM
Squeaky sunroof
by dishdude. 12/12/18 08:09 PM
Liqui Moly Top Tec 1800
by Chuckh. 12/12/18 07:56 PM
2006 Pathfinder Transmission Shudder
by Bluestream. 12/12/18 07:10 PM
Maybe E-10 is better? - PentaStar (Flex Fuel)
by StevieC. 12/12/18 06:52 PM
Shipping cost
by Fitter30. 12/12/18 06:45 PM
Purolator P1 14476 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 12/12/18 06:00 PM
Which car to buy?
by jrcowboys. 12/12/18 04:55 PM
New Tire Cracking
by robd. 12/12/18 04:43 PM
SAR B6P - Thoughts?
by 28oz. 12/12/18 03:59 PM
Time to sell the 1-ton Dually
by 02SE. 12/12/18 03:55 PM
Shell Rotella Grease
by WMW0505. 12/12/18 02:27 PM
Need to add attic ladder in stairwell
by Klutch9. 12/12/18 12:51 PM
Newest Members
Horsehaulin, JLew, bmrk1100, Rrrracer, jefe_de_estado
66664 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
21 registered members (Falcon_LS, dishdude, csandste, edhackett, javacontour, 2 invisible), 1,001 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,007
Posts4,925,877
Members66,664
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Have you used testing strips? #4637129
01/16/18 07:39 PM
01/16/18 07:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,485
S California
OneEyeJack Offline OP
OneEyeJack  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,485
S California
Have you used testing strips for transmission or other fluids?


Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637156
01/16/18 08:05 PM
01/16/18 08:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,108
Upstate NY
Donald Offline
Donald  Offline
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,108
Upstate NY
Only for coolant. By the way the shelf life of many test strips is a year or two.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637229
01/16/18 09:21 PM
01/16/18 09:21 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 5,663
Fort Lauderdale, FL
DoubleWasp Offline
DoubleWasp  Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 5,663
Fort Lauderdale, FL
That's why I love how Chrysler has avoided running trans fluid through the radiator in so many applications.


07 Lincoln Navigator M1 0w-40/FU
68 Charger R/T / Supercharged 440 VR1/DBL7349
07 Ram 3500 4x4 / Cummins 6.7 /DBL7349
17 Maserati GranTurismo Cabrio
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637261
01/16/18 09:58 PM
01/16/18 09:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,220
Port Orange, Florida
Panzerman Offline
Panzerman  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,220
Port Orange, Florida
I used them to monitor my anti freeze and add pencool. It pretty much eliminates the need to change antifreeze.
First thing they do when you pull a big truck in with engine trouble is check the antifreeze to see if you scored a piston liner.



2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Hemi 4x4
2016 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637297
01/16/18 11:40 PM
01/16/18 11:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,884
Central Washington
Colt45ws Offline
Colt45ws  Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,884
Central Washington
I have used the brake fluid strips. The ones that are looking for copper ppm. Works pretty good. Need to get some coolant strips.

Last edited by Colt45ws; 01/16/18 11:40 PM.

-Colton
2002 Ford Crown Vic PI 207k, Ex-Kootenai County, ID Unit #42
Down for engine swap
2003 Ford Crown Vic PI 75k
Castrol EDGE HM 5W30, Fram XG2
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: Panzerman] #4637298
01/16/18 11:49 PM
01/16/18 11:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,825
Taiwan
Ducked Offline
Ducked  Offline
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,825
Taiwan
Originally Posted By: Panzerman
I used them to monitor my anti freeze and add pencool. It pretty much eliminates the need to change antifreeze.
First thing they do when you pull a big truck in with engine trouble is check the antifreeze to see if you scored a piston liner.


What's a piston liner?

Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637299
01/16/18 11:55 PM
01/16/18 11:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,825
Taiwan
Ducked Offline
Ducked  Offline
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,825
Taiwan
Didn't know you could get them for transmission fluid. What does that test for?

Presumably ATF only though so not much use to me at the moment, since I have a manual transmission.

You won't be able to get anything like that in Taiwan anyway, but GF is in the Yook at present and that'd be a fairly light thing for her to bring back, so I'll look into what's available.

Last edited by Ducked; 01/16/18 11:55 PM.
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: Ducked] #4637302
01/16/18 11:59 PM
01/16/18 11:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,612
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,612
Santa Barbara, CA
Originally Posted By: Ducked
Originally Posted By: Panzerman
I used them to monitor my anti freeze and add pencool. It pretty much eliminates the need to change antifreeze.
First thing they do when you pull a big truck in with engine trouble is check the antifreeze to see if you scored a piston liner.


What's a piston liner?



The cylinder wall. Some engines they can be replaced fairly easily, especially larger diesel engines. Other engines you bore it out and press in a new sleeve.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637462
01/17/18 07:53 AM
01/17/18 07:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
SHOZ Offline
SHOZ  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
You can use a volt meter for testing coolant. Or pH strips, anything under a pH of 9 is trouble.

Quote:
Begin with a cold engine. Remove the radiator cap and start the engine. Set your digital multimeter to DC volts at 20 volts or less. When the engine reaches operating temperature, insert the positive probe directly into the coolant. Rev the engine to 2,000 rpm and place the negative probe on the negative battery terminal. If the digital meter reads .4 volts or less, your coolant is in good condition. If itís greater than .4 volts, the electrolysis additives are exhausted, and you may be in the market for a new radiator, a water pump or a heater core in the future. All of those are far more expensive than a simple coolant change.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: SHOZ] #4637531
01/17/18 09:28 AM
01/17/18 09:28 AM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 718
Canada
i_hate_autofraud Offline
i_hate_autofraud  Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 718
Canada
Originally Posted By: SHOZ
You can use a volt meter for testing coolant. Or pH strips, anything under a pH of 9 is trouble.

Quote:
Begin with a cold engine. Remove the radiator cap and start the engine. Set your digital multimeter to DC volts at 20 volts or less. When the engine reaches operating temperature, insert the positive probe directly into the coolant. Rev the engine to 2,000 rpm and place the negative probe on the negative battery terminal. If the digital meter reads .4 volts or less, your coolant is in good condition. If itís greater than .4 volts, the electrolysis additives are exhausted, and you may be in the market for a new radiator, a water pump or a heater core in the future. All of those are far more expensive than a simple coolant change.


Sorry, the digital multimeter test does not work, it turns out the reading you get is related to coolant concentration, 50/50 mix measures higher
then 30/70 mix and 60/40 mix measures highest, etc. Tried this out here, in car and in glass beakers on the bench.

Then I found this PDF:

BOGUS COOLANT TEST Ė Pat Goss Blows It!
https://app.box.com/s/mc3kaetdmj38ebzomyscxe9wt8rvotdg

Turns out Pat Goss made this claim on YouTube and Motorweek, he later answered posts that
segment was incorrect.

If the engine is running, injector and ignition power, etc, on the engine creates a normal
voltage drop thru the return path to the battery, usually .1 to .2 V DC that adds to the meter reading!

If you change your meter over to the lowest DC amps range with a probe in the coolant, you'll see a current
from 1 to 20 Micro-amps (.000020A). Corrosion is actually a current issue rather the voltage and you'd need
current in the high milli-amp range (.010A +)for a corrosion problem due to currents and dissimilar metals, etc,
I'll stick with Ph test strips or change GM Dexcool sooner. I also have another car in the garage that runs regular glycol
and it responds the same way.

Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: bdcardinal] #4637593
01/17/18 10:44 AM
01/17/18 10:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,143
Waco, TX
Linctex Offline
Linctex  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,143
Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: bdcardinal
Originally Posted By: Ducked
What's a piston liner?

The cylinder wall. Some engines they can be replaced fairly easily, especially larger diesel engines.


These are called "wet sleeves"

Originally Posted By: bdcardinal

Other engines you bore it out and press in a new sleeve.


These are called "dry sleeves"


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: i_hate_autofraud] #4637709
01/17/18 12:42 PM
01/17/18 12:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
SHOZ Offline
SHOZ  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
Originally Posted By: i_hate_autofraud
Originally Posted By: SHOZ
You can use a volt meter for testing coolant. Or pH strips, anything under a pH of 9 is trouble.

Quote:
Begin with a cold engine. Remove the radiator cap and start the engine. Set your digital multimeter to DC volts at 20 volts or less. When the engine reaches operating temperature, insert the positive probe directly into the coolant. Rev the engine to 2,000 rpm and place the negative probe on the negative battery terminal. If the digital meter reads .4 volts or less, your coolant is in good condition. If itís greater than .4 volts, the electrolysis additives are exhausted, and you may be in the market for a new radiator, a water pump or a heater core in the future. All of those are far more expensive than a simple coolant change.


Sorry, the digital multimeter test does not work, it turns out the reading you get is related to coolant concentration, 50/50 mix measures higher
then 30/70 mix and 60/40 mix measures highest, etc. Tried this out here, in car and in glass beakers on the bench.

Then I found this PDF:

BOGUS COOLANT TEST Ė Pat Goss Blows It!
https://app.box.com/s/mc3kaetdmj38ebzomyscxe9wt8rvotdg

Turns out Pat Goss made this claim on YouTube and Motorweek, he later answered posts that
segment was incorrect.

If the engine is running, injector and ignition power, etc, on the engine creates a normal
voltage drop thru the return path to the battery, usually .1 to .2 V DC that adds to the meter reading!

If you change your meter over to the lowest DC amps range with a probe in the coolant, you'll see a current
from 1 to 20 Micro-amps (.000020A). Corrosion is actually a current issue rather the voltage and you'd need
current in the high milli-amp range (.010A +)for a corrosion problem due to currents and dissimilar metals, etc,
I'll stick with Ph test strips or change GM Dexcool sooner. I also have another car in the garage that runs regular glycol
and it responds the same way.
Are they applying 14V to the metal or just using the meter? I don't seee that mentioned.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637734
01/17/18 01:20 PM
01/17/18 01:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,612
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,612
Santa Barbara, CA
Thanks, ya I knew there were better terms for it but I couldn't think of them.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Have you used testing strips? [Re: OneEyeJack] #4637864
01/17/18 03:51 PM
01/17/18 03:51 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
SHOZ Offline
SHOZ  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,949
Illinois
Here is AC Delcos take on flushing and testing coolant.

ACDelcoís guidelines for replacing engine coolant

Quote:
Electrolysis
Electrolysis is the presence of high current circulating through the coolant. When coolant inhibitors are depleted, this level is usually higher than what is found in a normal system. Verify that no electrolysis is present in the cooling system before and after the system has been repaired to provide a basis for additional repair. Use a digital voltmeter set to 12 volts. Attach one test lead to the negative battery post and insert the other test lead into the radiator coolant, making sure the lead does not touch the filler neck or core. Any voltage reading over 0.3 volts indicates that stray current is finding its way into the coolant.

Electrolysis is an intermittent condition that often occurs when a device or accessory that is mounted to the radiator is energized, such as a poorly grounded cooling fan or other accessory. It can be checked by watching the voltmeter and turning on and off various accessories or by engaging the starter motor.



And another site for electrolysis.

Testing for chemical electrolysis:


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™