'Wheels Up, Guns Down' rallies in South Florida

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was a County Officer during the early 2000s in that area (Miami, Fl. NW 17th avenue between 40th and 79th street). I can tell you MLK Day was a challenge. 95% good folks looking to celebrate a great American and 5% incredibly dangerous knuckleheads ruining everything for everyone else.

Ah yes stunting on public roads using vehicles that are designated for offroad use only.

And once again us law abiding motorcycle riders look bad by proxy.

Originally Posted By: wemay
I was a County Officer during the early 2000s in that area (Miami, Fl. NW 17th avenue between 40th and 79th street). I can tell you MLK Day was a challenge. 95% good folks looking to celebrate a great American and 5% incredibly dangerous knuckleheads ruining everything for everyone else.

Similar story with Cinco de Mayo around Chicago when I lived there, there was a small portion of the population that thought celebrating should involve speeding through red lights while people hung out of the car windows waving flags. Everybody knew to watch and wait for a while every time the light changed...just nuts. I celebrated my wife and I both getting to and from work without getting killed or maimed that day...

My dirt bike is road legal with plate, lights, reg, and all, but there's no way I'm going out in the middle of anybody those events. Police are supposed to be extra tough this year.

I saw where the Miami PD raided several homes and confiscated stolen dirt bikes. One of the "wheelie boys" had posted a photo on his social media complaining and stating they were taken from a fenced in yard and had "clean" VIN #'s. The bikes he was referring to were all found to have been stolen out of Houston (where he was from). I hope these bikes make it back to their rightful owners.

Originally Posted By: Virtus_Probi