Boss is being a royal pain in the...

Status
Not open for further replies.
...you know...I work for the federal gov in IL, but I live in OH. I have an apartment in IL where I stay during the week, and come home on the weekends to be with my family. I am off tomorrow (federal holiday) and I would be making my usual 5 hour drive back to IL tomorrow to be ready for work on Tuesday, but the forecast is calling for snow here, in IL, and everywhere in between for tomorrow. I sent my boss a text to give him a head's up that I may have to take Tuesday off (leave) if the roads are too bad for travel tomorrow. He suggested that I head back today, but my car is at my mechanic's and I won't get it back until tomorrow morning. He said he wasn't going to approve my leave. I told him I wasn't going to risk my life trying to drive back on dangerous roads, and if I didn't make it back, I would just have to lose a day's pay. He didn't respond to that. I've been doing this drive for 13 years, and I think my boss has always had some resentment towards me because I never moved close to work, and his way of dealing with it to give me an extremely hard time when I need to take leave due to bad weather. It doesn't happen that often...in fact, it's only happened 3 or 4 times over those 13 years. I'm not worried about getting my leave, I will just go to his boss, and he always sides with me on these issues. That also makes my boss mad, but I say tough. He has always given us techs a hard time when it comes to taking leave, and he almost always gets overruled by his boss. You'd think he'd stop being difficult, but he just keeps at it...maybe this time his boss will tell him this is enough...I've only got a little over two years left until I retire, and I think my boss is going to do his best to make that time as miserable as possible...

Originally Posted By: salesrep
....dang, too bad. He sounds quite small.

Quite the opposite...he weighs like 380...but I know what you mean...