Is buying farmland a bad idea?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know ZERO about farming. The bank officer where I bank told me of a farm that is about to be foreclosed on.
The guy that owns it parents died and he bought out his siblings with a loan and is unable to keep up on the payments.
It has 146 acres of tillable land, a house, barn, no implements and is in NW Ohio. $903K. I can buy it without a mortgage.
The banker says it has very good soil and is a very good farming district. Who would I contact about evaluating it and what
else should I know? I would lease the land as I have no knowledge or intention or farming it.

I buy farmland as investment properties. There are pluses and minuses, but overall it's been pretty good to me. I lease all my land out for cash rent, and do my own property management. But I grew up on a farm, so I know my way around one too.

These are generalities, but Ohio state says NW Ohio farmland was around $6,200 per acre in 2016 and average cash rents were $170. Those are just averages, and you really need to know the local area and production history to know where the place you are looking at falls in the spectrum. Ag is also in a downturn right now, so I'd expect both of those numbers to keep slipping downwards over the next couple years.

There are professional management companies that will do the management for you if you don't want to. Farmers National is one example. They will take about 6% of the gross though. If you have no Ag knowledge, or connections with Ag knowledge, it may be worth it to you. I say this as someone who has been in Ag all their life - farmers may be generally portrayed as honest down to earth people, but....like all walks of life there are good people and bad. You need to make sure you end up with a good tenant who doesn't take advantage of you, or who depletes the soil and then disappears.