Different versions of Edge 0w30 (normal v a5/b5)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I bought some oil to service my BMW 330cd. I ordered Castrol Edge 0w30 A5/B5 in error.
I realized this just before I was about to refill the car. I went to the car parts place to buy the 0w30 which had BMW LL04 on the bottle.
However as I had bought the a5/B5 oil in early Dec and I didn't have time off work to do the job till after xmas I can no longer return this oil.

So I've been trying to find out the difference between Edge 0w30 and edge 0w30 A5/B5. Would this have caused catastrophic engine failure in my BMW?
I am a high mileage driver I do about 20k a year and I change the oil every 10k.

Originally Posted By: vase_shagger
Would this have caused catastrophic engine failure in my BMW?

Short answer - No.

Your car won't care.

I wouldn't. A5/B5 is a low HTHS, high SAPS oil. LL04 is a high HTHS, mid SAPS oil.

Or if you are going to run it, stick to a 10k interval and don't beat on the engine too much. My 1.5TDCI Ford Focus destroyed Castrol Edge 0w30 A5/B5 in 5000miles.

Castrol Edge 0w30 A5/B5 is a great oil for N/A petrols. Not so much turbo diesels.

Oils have specs for reasons. Will it cause catastrophic engine failure? No it won't, but if your car has a DPF (diesel particulate filter), the higher ash content in the full SAPS oil you bought COULD negatively affect the life of the DPF due to the higher SAP or "ash" in the oil additive package. For one oil change kept to 5000 miles vs your normal 10k miles, then you could maybe still use the oil. But for me, I would just use it to change oil on a different, more compatible engine, such as another family member or friend's car.

Here are the ACEA sequences
http://www.acea.be/uploads/news_documents/ACEA_European_oil_sequences_2016.pdf

That Edge A5/B5 is a good oil, but it's high-SAPS and low HTHS.
The Edge C3 is the opposite, it's low or mid-SAPS and high HTHS, it also has the BMW LL-04 spec that you require.