ATV with a plow or a snow thrower?

The house I had built and recently moved into has a lot of surface area of potential snow to remove.
208' X 10' drive, the drive is wider just off the road for several feet plus there is a large pad between the house and the metal building.
I don't have a thing to remove snow yet.

I don't know much of anything about ATV's or removing snow.

I'm a mechanic by trade and can pretty much work on anything however.

I'd like to buy a large Cub Cadet 3X 34 Pro self propelled snow thrower. My wife while in her 30's and in good shape, is 5'8"
and a scant 121 pounds. Think she can handle a large snow thrower?

If I'm better off getting an ATV and plowing, what should I look at?

If I had no other use for the ATV other than pushing snow, I'd opt for Cub Cadet snowblower.

Do you have/need/use a riding mower? If so, I'd be tempted to buy something like a Deere X series (or any mower heavier duty than a run of the mill "lawn tractor") and put a snowblower on it for winter use.

Last edited:
Reactions: JC1
Having used both I can say a 4x4 ATV can really plow some snow and it's fun and easy.
Don't waste your time with a riding mower with a snow blade even a 4x4 stiener is awful and the two wheel drive with chains arent much better. That said you only have so many places to push snow. A 4x4 ATV is like a mini pick up with a plow but that does no good once you got it pushed up and it snows some more.
I have to say, not as fun but a big snow blower moves the snow and then some.
You can create mountains.
It's alot cheaper as well. A 4x4 ATV with a plow will set you back thousands and a two wheel drive isn't any better than a riding mower.
Go with the snow blower.

Personally I'd look at a Honda or Simplicity pro if going with a walk behind