Replacement home water heater

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all and Happy New Year....
My home water heater is 14 years old. Natural gas fired 45 gallon Rheem and has run like clockwork.

I feel that 2018 will bring the need for a replacement. I’m vaguely familiar with tankless heaters (a couple of coworkers have them and love them) but don’t know if they are still too new technology.

Never had issues with running out of hot water so an identical replacement type would be satisfactory.

Anyone on the board have suggestions/experiences to share?

Thanks to all in advance.

Tankless heaters have been used in Europe for about as long as I can remember.

They will likey last longer than your old tank heater, but cost more up front.

Overall savings vary depending on your usage

I have no experience with the tankless ones, but have contemplated their installation. For me, I crunched the numbers and the payback for the tankless was going to be over 12 years (extra install costs). Someone correct me, but the main advantage of the tankless is nearly unlimited hot water during high demand, correct?? If you don't need this, then carefully crunch the ownership costs. Today's NG tank heaters are quite efficient.

This should be a good discussion. I like the Terry Love plumbing forum, but heed forum opinions carefully, as always.

Regarding tank type brands....whew, it's tough to tell. Many sites I examined implied that today's heaters are a commodity and they all share similar construction and technology. The pros "tend" to say buy the cheapest 6 yr. warranty model, since the longer warranty models are simply more $$$ for the extended warranty. But, there is dissension among the ranks and Chevy/Ford arguments everywhere. Look for better components like metal drain valve vs. plastic. I tend to prefer A.O. Smith, then maybe Rheem. Last year I bought a Bradley White simply because its made in Michigan...go figure. Time will tell.

Last edited: