Does anti-seize ever go bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't think it does and I found a really good bargain on nickel anti-seize so I decided to jump on it.

I am assuming that as long as I keep it properly sealed and possibly even take the extra step of storing it in some sort of Ziploc bag to keep the air out in addition to the container that it comes in, I should be good for years if not decades, right?

Main thing I'm after is making sure my garage is stocked on certain essentials such as brake cleaner, carb cleaner, sealants, lubricants, MAF cleaner, etc. so that I don't have to stop in the middle of a job and run to the parts store for something that I should already have.

Was my thinking clear on anti-seize or did I just throw away money if I don't use it in X period of time?

I have been dipping into the same can of nickel anti seize for well over 20 years.
I would never have considered it going "Bad".
It ain't yogurt. Microbes can't live in it.
And air can't hurt it either.
Dirt would be the only issue.

The bristles on the little brush eventually start breaking off... other than that, it pretty much lasts forever.

In my experience with a 30 yr. can; it dries out and becomes super thick. I added some non detergent 20 engine oil to thin it. Works great Permatex tech told me oil is what the base fluid is. In use, the oil evaporates, leaving the metallic particles to do the "anti seizing".

Originally Posted By: 4wheeldog

What I was thinking about when I mentioned air is that I would imagine that air could create the possibility of it hardening over time if the threads on the cap get dirty. I realize I'm probably overthinking it a bit, but I just want it to last.

I think I have you guys beat. I still have the same can of nickel antiseize that was given to me 35 years ago. As others, I've had to periodically add oil to thin it back to original consistency.

Originally Posted By: qdeezie
Originally Posted By: 4wheeldog