Recent Topics
ULTRA-POWER 57082
by ET16. 12/16/18 06:56 AM
No collision totaled vehicle
by madRiver. 12/16/18 06:32 AM
Brightest backup light for my daughters car?
by BobsArmory. 12/16/18 06:26 AM
M1 0W20 EP Good To At Least 10K Miles ?
by ChrisD46. 12/16/18 03:29 AM
Gift for young Army Cadet
by Snagglefoot. 12/16/18 12:33 AM
Instacart Grocery Delivery
by dogememe. 12/16/18 12:26 AM
My brother bought this...
by miden851. 12/15/18 09:12 PM
Watch out for scammers
by Chris142. 12/15/18 08:45 PM
15K OCI R53 2006 Mini Cooper S 144k
by dx92beater. 12/15/18 08:32 PM
Beneficial clean fuel.injectors in Ultrasonic Cleaner
by JLawrence08648. 12/15/18 06:54 PM
Back to Basics III
by MolaKule. 12/15/18 05:30 PM
Castrol Edge 0W40 vs. 5W40...Liqui Moly?
by TiGeo. 12/15/18 04:56 PM
Schumacher XCS15 voltage
by sweezy722. 12/15/18 04:19 PM
Newest Members
MikeMTL, AJ11, bandito, Spkrdctr, torchredone12
66691 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
69 registered members (andyd, Audios, atikovi, BeerCan, Astro_Guy, 2009Edge, 6 invisible), 1,513 guests, and 41 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,139
Posts4,928,416
Members66,691
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? #4617805
12/29/17 01:17 PM
12/29/17 01:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,340
Midwest USA
LoneRanger Offline OP
LoneRanger  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,340
Midwest USA
Going to upgrade my old circa 2008 Cisco/Linksys 2.4Ghz 802.11G router now that I've got the new cable modem. Certainly got my money's worth out of it!!

Want a good basic Dual Band (2.4 & 5Ghz) job preferably with a USB port so I can connect up an external drive for easy WiFi backups and etc. The Netgear R6200 looks like it fits the bill, and has USB 3.0 port which is the newest standard. Internet subscription is only for 30Mbps (all I need), have only 5 - 7 clients, so I've no worries about an 802.11ac router getting it done. Need the 5Ghz band due to 2.4 getting crowded around me.

The Netgear R6200 also has Beam Forming but not sure it works when router on 2nd floor and clients on 1st?

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-routers/R6200.aspx#tab-techspecs

Their 6120 is a little less money, has USB 2.0 port instead of 3.0, no Beam Forming:

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-routers/R6120.aspx#tab-techspecs



'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QS HM 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617813
12/29/17 01:27 PM
12/29/17 01:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
For under $100, I'd probably get this one instead:
http://a.co/12YGxSa

Well ranked by smallnetbuilder.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617815
12/29/17 01:28 PM
12/29/17 01:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,174
Waco, TX
Linctex Offline
Linctex  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,174
Waco, TX
I used to be a huge fan of D-link... not so much anymore.

Happy with my Netgear I'm using now.


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617818
12/29/17 01:30 PM
12/29/17 01:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 756
MO
wkcars Offline
wkcars  Offline
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 756
MO
My current and previous routers are netgear no issues, the old router was still running fine but it was old like your cisco.

Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617820
12/29/17 01:34 PM
12/29/17 01:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,575
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,575
ME
Take a look at TP-Link, most of them can run DD-WRT and have all sorts of cool gadgets.

IMO USB 2.0 would probably be fast enough for just backups.

Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617822
12/29/17 01:37 PM
12/29/17 01:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,791
Southeast Alabama
SrDriver Offline
SrDriver  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,791
Southeast Alabama
Both myself and some friends have had good luck with TP-Link routers. I have the Archer C9 and it has good range.

Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617835
12/29/17 01:51 PM
12/29/17 01:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,959
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,959
Ontario, Canada
Netgear makes decent stuff in the consumer and SMB realm, I think you've made a good choice.

I'm not a fan of Toilet Paper Link, or D-Link.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617836
12/29/17 01:52 PM
12/29/17 01:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,598
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,598
USA
Netgear is a decent brand. The 6120 is a lot less of a machine than the 6200, though either one would be suitable for a 30 Mb connection. The ports on the 6120 are limited to 100 Mb while the 6200 is gigabit ready. Personally I'd buy a TP-Link Archer C7.

USB3 has not been a great idea for routers since it has GHz signals on the wiring, and the inevitable RF leakage tends to jam the 2.4 GHz radio that is just inches away.

Beam Forming kicks in when someone is on the edge of the coverage range. It's basically trading speed for distance.

Last edited by mk378; 12/29/17 02:06 PM.
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617858
12/29/17 02:15 PM
12/29/17 02:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 524
Fairfax, VA
TinyVoices Offline
TinyVoices  Offline
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 524
Fairfax, VA
I agree with the above suggestion for the tp-link archer c7. One of the best routers for the money.

I currently have a linksys ac1200wrt and very much like it.


2010 Mazda RX8 Sport - 37k miles - ????
2006 Toyota Matrix XR AWD (Wife) - 130k miles - Valvoline Max Life 5w30
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617871
12/29/17 02:37 PM
12/29/17 02:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 784
Danville, Indiana
IndyFan Offline
IndyFan  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 784
Danville, Indiana
I just bought a Netgear AC1900 combo modem/router, and it is nice and fast, especially on 5g. It also has no trouble reaching every corner and floor of my 6,000 square foot house. (It is located roughly in the center.)

I got it for 200 bucks at Best Buy, which matched a sale on Amazon.


18 Jeep JLUR Wrangler 3.6 13k
15 Ford Transit 105k, Reman 3.5 @85k
08 Jeep Wrangler 3.8 127k
01 Ford F150 Crew 5.4 89k
99 Mercedes E430 Sport 90k
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617873
12/29/17 02:52 PM
12/29/17 02:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,248
Texas
JustinH Offline
JustinH  Offline
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,248
Texas
I have a tp-link router that is not capable of DDWRT, and it works fine. Make sure you do your research and get one that can be flashed to open source firmware.

I believe the ones with the broadcom chips can not be flashed. For $50 on amazon, a dual band router that works great is a good bargain however.

Last edited by JustinH; 12/29/17 02:52 PM.

'11 Hyundai Sonata GLS
'11 Scion XB
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: mk378] #4617876
12/29/17 02:55 PM
12/29/17 02:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,340
Midwest USA
LoneRanger Offline OP
LoneRanger  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,340
Midwest USA
Originally Posted By: mk378
Netgear is a decent brand. The 6120 is a lot less of a machine than the 6200, though either one would be suitable for a 30 Mb connection. The ports on the 6120 are limited to 100 Mb while the 6200 is gigabit ready. Personally I'd buy a TP-Link Archer C7.

USB3 has not been a great idea for routers since it has GHz signals on the wiring, and the inevitable RF leakage tends to jam the 2.4 GHz radio that is just inches away.

Beam Forming kicks in when someone is on the edge of the coverage range. It's basically trading speed for distance.


So I want the 6120 that has USB 2.0 port? What a design flaw, if USB 3.0 rf leakage jams the WiFi signals !!! I've never heard of that. Surely, they have the gigabit stuff wrapped in sheathing that contains any rf radiation?



'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QS HM 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: IndyFan] #4617883
12/29/17 03:04 PM
12/29/17 03:04 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,530
St. Charles County, Missouri
csandste Offline
csandste  Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,530
St. Charles County, Missouri
I've got a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900-R6900 which I think was a Costco only model with a couple of missing ports--think I paid about $160 for it in 2015. Works good, although I have a Linux Mint box which occasionally doesn't connect, have a couple of wi-fi dongles which I occasionally switch out. I'm probably going to install Ubuntu Mate 18.04 in April and see how things settle out. I've owned three Netgear routers and have no complaints, although I'm not brand loyal.

Last edited by csandste; 12/29/17 03:05 PM.

2017 Kia Soul Plus-- VWB 5-30, 54,000 miles.
Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: csandste] #4617895
12/29/17 03:29 PM
12/29/17 03:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,827
Wisconsin
wallyuwl Offline
wallyuwl  Offline
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,827
Wisconsin
Originally Posted By: csandste
I've got a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900-R6900 which I think was a Costco only model with a couple of missing ports--think I paid about $160 for it in 2015. Works good, although I have a Linux Mint box which occasionally doesn't connect, have a couple of wi-fi dongles which I occasionally switch out. I'm probably going to install Ubuntu Mate 18.04 in April and see how things settle out. I've owned three Netgear routers and have no complaints, although I'm not brand loyal.


I have a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 as well, though it is a slightly different model (I think AC1900-R7000). I bought mine in late summer 2014 when it first came out for about $200. It has been great. I also really like the Genie desktop software and android app for monitoring and configuring the router.

My only minor issue was one of the settings out of the box. It limited upload speeds to 1 mbps. Took a call to tech support to get it figured out. But other than that, no problems now in more than three years.

The range is great as well. We currently have a 1600 sq. foot ranch house. It is placed about in the middle of the house, and no issues anywhere in the house. We also get good reception in most of our yard, which is more than 1/3 acre.

I would definitely buy it again and recommend it. Right now the model at Costco is on sale for $130.

Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger] #4617897
12/29/17 03:31 PM
12/29/17 03:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,478
NJ
Leo99 Offline
Leo99  Offline
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,478
NJ
I had a netgear. Worked fine but now the router is built into my xfinity cable modem.


Without data you're just another person with an opinion. W. E. Deming

2003 Corolla 250,000 miles (RIP)
2004 Corolla 125,000 miles
2004 Rav4 370,000 miles
2015 Camry 70,000 miles
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™