Recent Topics
BMW LL-17 FE+
by supercity
04/20/18 04:24 AM
Changing fluids on truck that sits for long time!
by Chris B.
04/20/18 03:54 AM
2012 Honda Accord transmission clunk in Reverse?
by Chris B.
04/20/18 03:36 AM
Another one of those how your brain works tests
by Shannow
04/20/18 03:25 AM
How do you get under there?!?
by Isophix
04/20/18 12:51 AM
Just my opinion nothing more
by Marco620
04/20/18 12:26 AM
Bought our first new couch...
by gregk24
04/19/18 10:55 PM
Vibration. CV axle or wheels?
by Kurtatron
04/19/18 10:15 PM
Bad Wheel bearing? 2012 Mazda5
by Oscar_Ruitt
04/19/18 09:49 PM
7 seater vehicle suggestions - No Van
by maverickfhs
04/19/18 08:56 PM
KTM 1190 Adventure Oil?
by JasonK94Z
04/19/18 08:50 PM
Chrysler 5.7 and 6.4 intake manifolds
by JLTD
04/19/18 08:37 PM
Current Router Attack and Router Choice
by Y_K
04/19/18 07:41 PM
Pugging in RPM sensor Lift Master
by Gebo
04/19/18 07:21 PM
Rockauto newsletter today
by CourierDriver
04/19/18 07:15 PM
Front end bug protection?
by AZjeff
04/19/18 07:03 PM
Internet speed super slow on Linux laptop...
by daves66nova
04/19/18 06:39 PM
12 or 20oz of Techron Complete Fuel System.
by diphon
04/19/18 05:58 PM
Any night owls listen to 740 AM in Toronto?
by 340_Magnum
04/19/18 05:38 PM
Canadian tire - Quaker state conventional on sale
by JC1
04/19/18 05:32 PM
Newest Members
SirEatsALot, Alko, Projecto, Kole, toyobaru
64791 Registered Users
Who's Online
43 registered (Alexey88rus, alarmguy, billt460, 69Torino, andyd, Astro_Guy, 5 invisible), 724 Guests and 99 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
64791 Members
68 Forums
281988 Topics
4707736 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4617805 - 12/29/17 01:17 PM Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay?
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 3926
Loc: Midwest USA
Going to upgrade my old circa 2008 Cisco/Linksys 2.4Ghz 802.11G router now that I've got the new cable modem. Certainly got my money's worth out of it!!

Want a good basic Dual Band (2.4 & 5Ghz) job preferably with a USB port so I can connect up an external drive for easy WiFi backups and etc. The Netgear R6200 looks like it fits the bill, and has USB 3.0 port which is the newest standard. Internet subscription is only for 30Mbps (all I need), have only 5 - 7 clients, so I've no worries about an 802.11ac router getting it done. Need the 5Ghz band due to 2.4 getting crowded around me.

The Netgear R6200 also has Beam Forming but not sure it works when router on 2nd floor and clients on 1st?

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-routers/R6200.aspx#tab-techspecs

Their 6120 is a little less money, has USB 2.0 port instead of 3.0, no Beam Forming:

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/wifi-routers/R6120.aspx#tab-techspecs
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4617813 - 12/29/17 01:27 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35553
Loc: Great Lakes
For under $100, I'd probably get this one instead:
http://a.co/12YGxSa

Well ranked by smallnetbuilder.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#4617815 - 12/29/17 01:28 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
Linctex Offline


Registered: 12/31/16
Posts: 5603
Loc: Waco, TX
I used to be a huge fan of D-link... not so much anymore.

Happy with my Netgear I'm using now.
_________________________
"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."

Top
#4617818 - 12/29/17 01:30 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
wkcars Offline


Registered: 07/06/11
Posts: 753
Loc: MO
My current and previous routers are netgear no issues, the old router was still running fine but it was old like your cisco.

Top
#4617820 - 12/29/17 01:34 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32371
Loc: ME
Take a look at TP-Link, most of them can run DD-WRT and have all sorts of cool gadgets.

IMO USB 2.0 would probably be fast enough for just backups.

Top
#4617822 - 12/29/17 01:37 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
SrDriver Offline


Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 2789
Loc: Southeast Alabama
Both myself and some friends have had good luck with TP-Link routers. I have the Archer C9 and it has good range.

Top
#4617835 - 12/29/17 01:51 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 35965
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Netgear makes decent stuff in the consumer and SMB realm, I think you've made a good choice.

I'm not a fan of Toilet Paper Link, or D-Link.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4617836 - 12/29/17 01:52 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1318
Loc: USA
Netgear is a decent brand. The 6120 is a lot less of a machine than the 6200, though either one would be suitable for a 30 Mb connection. The ports on the 6120 are limited to 100 Mb while the 6200 is gigabit ready. Personally I'd buy a TP-Link Archer C7.

USB3 has not been a great idea for routers since it has GHz signals on the wiring, and the inevitable RF leakage tends to jam the 2.4 GHz radio that is just inches away.

Beam Forming kicks in when someone is on the edge of the coverage range. It's basically trading speed for distance.


Edited by mk378 (12/29/17 02:06 PM)

Top
#4617858 - 12/29/17 02:15 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
TinyVoices Offline


Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 464
Loc: Vienna, VA
I agree with the above suggestion for the tp-link archer c7. One of the best routers for the money.

I currently have a linksys ac1200wrt and very much like it.
_________________________
1993 Toyota MR2 Hardtop N/A - 157k miles - Valvoline Max Life 5w30
2006 Toyota Matrix XR AWD (Fiancee) - 126k miles - Valvoline Max Life 5w30

Top
#4617871 - 12/29/17 02:37 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
IndyFan Offline


Registered: 06/16/05
Posts: 505
Loc: Danville, Indiana
I just bought a Netgear AC1900 combo modem/router, and it is nice and fast, especially on 5g. It also has no trouble reaching every corner and floor of my 6,000 square foot house. (It is located roughly in the center.)

I got it for 200 bucks at Best Buy, which matched a sale on Amazon.
_________________________
18 Jeep JLUR Wrangler 3.6 2.5k
15 Ford Transit 88k, Reman 3.5 @85k
08 Jeep Wrangler 3.8 123k
01 Ford F150 Crew 5.4 79k
99 Mercedes E430 Sport 81k

Top
#4617873 - 12/29/17 02:52 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
JustinH Offline


Registered: 04/17/04
Posts: 5110
Loc: Texas
I have a tp-link router that is not capable of DDWRT, and it works fine. Make sure you do your research and get one that can be flashed to open source firmware.

I believe the ones with the broadcom chips can not be flashed. For $50 on amazon, a dual band router that works great is a good bargain however.


Edited by JustinH (12/29/17 02:52 PM)
_________________________
'11 Hyundai Sonata GLS
'11 Scion XB

Top
#4617876 - 12/29/17 02:55 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: mk378]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 3926
Loc: Midwest USA
Originally Posted By: mk378
Netgear is a decent brand. The 6120 is a lot less of a machine than the 6200, though either one would be suitable for a 30 Mb connection. The ports on the 6120 are limited to 100 Mb while the 6200 is gigabit ready. Personally I'd buy a TP-Link Archer C7.

USB3 has not been a great idea for routers since it has GHz signals on the wiring, and the inevitable RF leakage tends to jam the 2.4 GHz radio that is just inches away.

Beam Forming kicks in when someone is on the edge of the coverage range. It's basically trading speed for distance.


So I want the 6120 that has USB 2.0 port? What a design flaw, if USB 3.0 rf leakage jams the WiFi signals !!! I've never heard of that. Surely, they have the gigabit stuff wrapped in sheathing that contains any rf radiation?
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4617883 - 12/29/17 03:04 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: IndyFan]
csandste Offline


Registered: 05/31/02
Posts: 1095
Loc: St. Peters, Missouri
I've got a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900-R6900 which I think was a Costco only model with a couple of missing ports--think I paid about $160 for it in 2015. Works good, although I have a Linux Mint box which occasionally doesn't connect, have a couple of wi-fi dongles which I occasionally switch out. I'm probably going to install Ubuntu Mate 18.04 in April and see how things settle out. I've owned three Netgear routers and have no complaints, although I'm not brand loyal.


Edited by csandste (12/29/17 03:05 PM)

Top
#4617895 - 12/29/17 03:29 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: csandste]
wallyuwl Offline


Registered: 06/02/09
Posts: 1742
Loc: Wisconsin
Originally Posted By: csandste
I've got a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900-R6900 which I think was a Costco only model with a couple of missing ports--think I paid about $160 for it in 2015. Works good, although I have a Linux Mint box which occasionally doesn't connect, have a couple of wi-fi dongles which I occasionally switch out. I'm probably going to install Ubuntu Mate 18.04 in April and see how things settle out. I've owned three Netgear routers and have no complaints, although I'm not brand loyal.


I have a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 as well, though it is a slightly different model (I think AC1900-R7000). I bought mine in late summer 2014 when it first came out for about $200. It has been great. I also really like the Genie desktop software and android app for monitoring and configuring the router.

My only minor issue was one of the settings out of the box. It limited upload speeds to 1 mbps. Took a call to tech support to get it figured out. But other than that, no problems now in more than three years.

The range is great as well. We currently have a 1600 sq. foot ranch house. It is placed about in the middle of the house, and no issues anywhere in the house. We also get good reception in most of our yard, which is more than 1/3 acre.

I would definitely buy it again and recommend it. Right now the model at Costco is on sale for $130.

Top
#4617897 - 12/29/17 03:31 PM Re: Anyone Have a Netgear Router, are they Okay? [Re: LoneRanger]
Leo99 Offline


Registered: 03/30/14
Posts: 2864
Loc: NJ
I had a netgear. Worked fine but now the router is built into my xfinity cable modem.
_________________________
Without data you're just another person with an opinion. W. E. Deming

2003 Corolla 250,000 miles
2004 Rav4 333,000 miles
2015 Camry 40,000 miles

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >