Recent Topics
My Ford orange turned pink
by BeerCan
06/21/18 12:45 PM
Any plants/garden experts?
by maverickfhs
06/21/18 12:43 PM
Internet Sales Tax O.K.ed by Supreme Court
by doitmyself
06/21/18 12:23 PM
Brake fluid for a '03 Volvo S60
by earthworm
06/21/18 11:22 AM
Oil Weight Change - Mid Production Cycle
by PolarisX
06/21/18 11:20 AM
Kia ATF - OEM, Eneos, Maxlife - TDS - DIFFERENT!
by Spddm0n
06/21/18 11:19 AM
Dillon Precision Is Simply The Best!
by 2015_PSD
06/21/18 11:17 AM
First OCI - 156k miles Prius
by Greg L
06/21/18 11:11 AM
Brake Squeal on Rear Discs
by BlitzPuppet
06/21/18 11:10 AM
Coolant leak.
by LeakySeals
06/21/18 11:05 AM
Looking for a Home Depot coupon 10% off?
by GravelRoad
06/21/18 10:59 AM
Which is more important for low wear HTHS or ZDDP?
by Building3
06/21/18 10:40 AM
Valvoline DuraBlend 80W-90
by dogememe
06/21/18 10:34 AM
Lifter Tick
by Delta
06/21/18 10:28 AM
I Got Locked Up Today
by Zee09
06/21/18 10:24 AM
GM new 2.7 turbo pick up motor
by ZZman
06/21/18 09:45 AM
PUP at Canadian Tire $33 CAN
by Snagglefoot
06/21/18 09:15 AM
How to use up a case of SF?
by atikovi
06/21/18 09:08 AM
Read The Fine Print- Credit Cards
by Zee09
06/21/18 09:06 AM
Employer Exit Interview.
by JustinH
06/21/18 08:53 AM
Newest Members
wil892, Spddm0n, ronw1309, Suth31, yamahaboy125
65286 Registered Users
Who's Online
93 registered (ArrestMeRedZ, aquariuscsm, ARCOgraphite, AndyB, atikovi, ammolab, 8 invisible), 1707 Guests and 62 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65286 Members
67 Forums
285710 Topics
4768294 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4614880 - 12/26/17 04:28 PM static vs dynamic balancing
WhyMe Offline


Registered: 12/18/12
Posts: 513
Loc: Washington for now
i noticed that DT only put weights on the inside. on the old tires there was a tape weight in the middle as i can see the resdiue. i have a little shimmy at 68 to 70 mph.

So should i have them do a dynamic balance ?

Top
#4615008 - 12/26/17 06:23 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
Kira Offline


Registered: 08/19/10
Posts: 5238
Loc: Champlain/Hudson Valley
Yes

Top
#4615029 - 12/26/17 06:51 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
Silk Offline


Registered: 07/26/03
Posts: 4560
Loc: New Zealand
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tyres would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to differnt parts of the rim depending on rim design.
_________________________
1987 BMW R65 - Penrite V Twin 20/50
2005 Nissan Expert - Gulf Western 10W-40
1996 Volvo T5 - Penrite HPR15 - 15W-60. Ryco syntec filter.

Top
#4615043 - 12/26/17 07:04 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
spk2000 Offline


Registered: 02/19/13
Posts: 984
Loc: Prospect, KY
Not sure why but Treadwright from Texas recommends static balancing on their remolded tires. I asked the guy that installed them and he said he knew what to do. He tried dynamic balancing on one just to see and it would not balance that way.
_________________________
96 Grand Marquis
01 Sable LS
02 Montero

Top
#4615055 - 12/26/17 07:11 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Silk]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32635
Loc: ME
Originally Posted By: Silk
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tyres would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to differnt parts of the rim depending on rim design.


Maybe he has fancy rims and you can see the "outer" weights clumped in the middle. The middle isn't a particularly great place-- to close to the center to be effective unless you use a bunch of weight.

But yes the answer is yes, go for a dynamic rebalance. They "can" do it and just ASSumed you preferred the clean look of inside weights.

Top
#4615065 - 12/26/17 07:17 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: spk2000]
Kira Offline


Registered: 08/19/10
Posts: 5238
Loc: Champlain/Hudson Valley
Years ago a shop I knew used a spin balancer where the operator had to measure the width of the mounted tire. They used calipers on the outside of the wheel (bead to bead). Then they turned a knob. Perfect EVERY time.

So much has to do with the operator's competence....and CARE FACTOR.

Top
#4615187 - 12/26/17 09:05 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Kira]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32635
Loc: ME
Originally Posted By: Kira
Years ago a shop I knew used a spin balancer where the operator had to measure the width of the mounted tire. They used calipers on the outside of the wheel (bead to bead). Then they turned a knob. Perfect EVERY time.

So much has to do with the operator's competence....and CARE FACTOR.


That's the dynamic balance. You can also find the width stamped in the rim, or just guess seven inches. If you get it wrong, you chase a little weight. But zero is zero.

BTW, a dollar bill is six inches wide.

Top
#4615239 - 12/26/17 10:23 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Silk]
FordBroncoVWJeta Offline


Registered: 04/16/16
Posts: 768
Loc: KS
Originally Posted By: Silk
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tires would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to different parts of the rim depending on rim design.
Ummm nearly every Walmart TLE. We can switch static and dynamic with a touch of a button. We dynamic most of the time, but some of the "Fancy" rims dont have any place to put weights on the outside, so we static balance them. So we just clamp weight the inside, even then some of the rims wont accept that. So its just sticky waited on the outside lip of the rim. Honda rims are like that, possibly some of the hardest OEM rims to date I can think of. Thats why I like steel rims so much. They might not look the best but they are the best riding rims.
_________________________
17 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T
15 Honda CRV 2.4
12 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0
01 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2

Top
#4615250 - 12/26/17 10:34 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
WhyMe Offline


Registered: 12/18/12
Posts: 513
Loc: Washington for now
static is balancing just up and down . dynamic is up/down side to side .


Top
#4615424 - 12/27/17 07:37 AM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: spk2000]
CapriRacer Offline


Registered: 02/22/03
Posts: 3369
Loc: Somewhere in the US
Originally Posted By: spk2000
Not sure why but Treadwright from Texas recommends static balancing on their remolded tires. I asked the guy that installed them and he said he knew what to do. He tried dynamic balancing on one just to see and it would not balance that way.


This makes no sense.

Could you point me to where Treadwright makes this recommendation? I don't see it on their web site. What I do see is that they pre-static balance the tires, but I'm not sure what they mean by that.


Edited by CapriRacer (12/27/17 07:42 AM)
_________________________
CapriRacer

Visit my web site: www.BarrysTireTech.com

Top
#4615960 - 12/27/17 03:58 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
Kestas Offline



Registered: 06/04/02
Posts: 12330
Loc: The Motor City
I have a 1952 Snap-On static balancer that uses a beam to determine how much weight to put on the 120 deg positions. The thinking back then was that having two balance points opposite the heavy point makes for a better balance.

Top
#4616013 - 12/27/17 04:48 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
Traction Offline


Registered: 06/04/13
Posts: 980
Loc: iowa
A tire could have for example, be zero statically balanced, but could have like several ounces of residual dynamic imbalance with the 2 points 180 degrees apart. Although the tire wouldn't hop, it would shimmy like crazy. The only way to truly understand it is to balance about 8000 tires by yourself, like I have in the last 16 years. You can also have a dynamically balanced tire with residual static imbalance too, causing a hop, with no shimmy. A hop happens once per revolution, and a shimmy is usually twice per revolution of the tire/wheel. As to the OP's original question, yes they definitely need to be dynamically balanced with tape weights.


Edited by Traction (12/27/17 04:59 PM)
_________________________
Tire Industry Association Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4

Top
#4616774 - 12/28/17 02:10 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
WhyMe Offline


Registered: 12/18/12
Posts: 513
Loc: Washington for now
so i called them and ask them about the balancing. the guy just said sometime they need one sometimes two. dynamic always has 2 weights correct?

Top
#4616925 - 12/28/17 04:39 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
Traction Offline


Registered: 06/04/13
Posts: 980
Loc: iowa
Originally Posted By: WhyMe
so i called them and ask them about the balancing. the guy just said sometime they need one sometimes two. dynamic always has 2 weights correct?

No, it's possible to dynamic balance with one weight, but I think your shop is just another
"Flintstone tire shop" and you need to go somewhere else, and show the results to them.


Edited by Traction (12/28/17 04:40 PM)
_________________________
Tire Industry Association Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4

Top
#4617155 - 12/28/17 08:37 PM Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32635
Loc: ME
Calling isn't going to fix it. Going in there will.

Zero is a number, so there's a shot that one side of one tire won't need a weight.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >