Recent Topics
1NZ-FE Under Valve Cover - 280,000 Miles
by kschachn. 03/25/19 12:44 PM
Coolant Leak '06 300C
by Redright9. 03/25/19 12:40 PM
New truck
by double vanos. 03/25/19 12:26 PM
What pressure washer should I buy?
by wallyuwl. 03/25/19 11:27 AM
Natural Gas from Ohio Valley
by SubLGT. 03/25/19 11:18 AM
CVT Reliability and Durability
by raffy. 03/25/19 11:00 AM
comfortable seats
by redhat. 03/25/19 10:29 AM
walmart evinrude tcw-3 clearance score
by 1978elcamino. 03/25/19 10:15 AM
Mixing SN/d1G1 with SN+/d1G2?
by doyall. 03/25/19 10:14 AM
Best 2nd Phone Number App ?
by LoneRanger. 03/25/19 09:56 AM
Crud! Wix jacking up prices again! :(
by SubieRubyRoo. 03/25/19 09:53 AM
Interior "quick detailer"
by Redright9. 03/25/19 08:21 AM
Seafoam For Last 100 Miles Before Oil Change ?
by ChrisD46. 03/25/19 07:56 AM
WIX 57151XP factory filled with synthetic oil
by Donald. 03/25/19 06:58 AM
BMW Buying Guide: Every Model, Explained
by wemay. 03/25/19 05:43 AM
Double Din Android Auto Advice
by JeffKeryk. 03/24/19 11:25 PM
VW mk5 a/c intermittently works
by ram_man. 03/24/19 11:01 PM
Newest Members
sonusfaber, Rollo, Drifted, Jcar516, gregjr7
67614 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
125 registered members (ARB1977, 2015_PSD, 2009Edge, Altima2, aquariuscsm, Alfred_B, 8 invisible), 2,241 guests, and 64 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics286,399
Posts4,907,593
Members67,614
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
static vs dynamic balancing #4614880
12/26/17 05:28 PM
12/26/17 05:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
WhyMe Offline OP
WhyMe  Offline OP

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
i noticed that DT only put weights on the inside. on the old tires there was a tape weight in the middle as i can see the resdiue. i have a little shimmy at 68 to 70 mph.

So should i have them do a dynamic balance ?

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4615008
12/26/17 07:23 PM
12/26/17 07:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,231
Champlain/Hudson Valley
Kira Offline
Kira  Offline

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,231
Champlain/Hudson Valley
Yes

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4615029
12/26/17 07:51 PM
12/26/17 07:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,086
New Zealand
Silk Offline
Silk  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,086
New Zealand
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tyres would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to differnt parts of the rim depending on rim design.


1987 BMW R65 - Aegis SAE30
2005 Nissan Expert - 5W-40 Castrol Magnatec diesel.
1996 Volvo T5 - Penrite HPR15 - 15W-60. Ryco syntec filter.
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4615043
12/26/17 08:04 PM
12/26/17 08:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,257
Prospect, KY
spk2000 Offline
spk2000  Offline

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,257
Prospect, KY
Not sure why but Treadwright from Texas recommends static balancing on their remolded tires. I asked the guy that installed them and he said he knew what to do. He tried dynamic balancing on one just to see and it would not balance that way.


96 Grand Marquis
01 Sable LS
02 Montero
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Silk] #4615055
12/26/17 08:11 PM
12/26/17 08:11 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
Originally Posted By: Silk
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tyres would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to differnt parts of the rim depending on rim design.


Maybe he has fancy rims and you can see the "outer" weights clumped in the middle. The middle isn't a particularly great place-- to close to the center to be effective unless you use a bunch of weight.

But yes the answer is yes, go for a dynamic rebalance. They "can" do it and just ASSumed you preferred the clean look of inside weights.

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: spk2000] #4615065
12/26/17 08:17 PM
12/26/17 08:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,231
Champlain/Hudson Valley
Kira Offline
Kira  Offline

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,231
Champlain/Hudson Valley
Years ago a shop I knew used a spin balancer where the operator had to measure the width of the mounted tire. They used calipers on the outside of the wheel (bead to bead). Then they turned a knob. Perfect EVERY time.

So much has to do with the operator's competence....and CARE FACTOR.

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Kira] #4615187
12/26/17 10:05 PM
12/26/17 10:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
Originally Posted By: Kira
Years ago a shop I knew used a spin balancer where the operator had to measure the width of the mounted tire. They used calipers on the outside of the wheel (bead to bead). Then they turned a knob. Perfect EVERY time.

So much has to do with the operator's competence....and CARE FACTOR.


That's the dynamic balance. You can also find the width stamped in the rim, or just guess seven inches. If you get it wrong, you chase a little weight. But zero is zero.

BTW, a dollar bill is six inches wide.

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: Silk] #4615239
12/26/17 11:23 PM
12/26/17 11:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,157
KS
FordBroncoVWJeta Offline
FordBroncoVWJeta  Offline

Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,157
KS
Originally Posted By: Silk
What makes you think they did a static balance ? I don't think any shop that fits tires would have a static balancer in the 21st Century. You can set most modern machines to fit weights to different parts of the rim depending on rim design.
Ummm nearly every Walmart TLE. We can switch static and dynamic with a touch of a button. We dynamic most of the time, but some of the "Fancy" rims dont have any place to put weights on the outside, so we static balance them. So we just clamp weight the inside, even then some of the rims wont accept that. So its just sticky waited on the outside lip of the rim. Honda rims are like that, possibly some of the hardest OEM rims to date I can think of. Thats why I like steel rims so much. They might not look the best but they are the best riding rims.


2017 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T - 2015 Honda CRV 2.4 - 2012 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 - 2007 Chevy Trailblazer 4.2 - 2001 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4615250
12/26/17 11:34 PM
12/26/17 11:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
WhyMe Offline OP
WhyMe  Offline OP

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
static is balancing just up and down . dynamic is up/down side to side .


Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: spk2000] #4615424
12/27/17 08:37 AM
12/27/17 08:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,542
Somewhere in the US
CapriRacer Offline
CapriRacer  Offline

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,542
Somewhere in the US
Originally Posted By: spk2000
Not sure why but Treadwright from Texas recommends static balancing on their remolded tires. I asked the guy that installed them and he said he knew what to do. He tried dynamic balancing on one just to see and it would not balance that way.


This makes no sense.

Could you point me to where Treadwright makes this recommendation? I don't see it on their web site. What I do see is that they pre-static balance the tires, but I'm not sure what they mean by that.

Last edited by CapriRacer; 12/27/17 08:42 AM.

CapriRacer

Visit my web site: www.BarrysTireTech.com
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4615960
12/27/17 04:58 PM
12/27/17 04:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,884
The Motor City
Kestas Online content
Global Moderator
Kestas  Online Content
Global Moderator

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,884
The Motor City
I have a 1952 Snap-On static balancer that uses a beam to determine how much weight to put on the 120 deg positions. The thinking back then was that having two balance points opposite the heavy point makes for a better balance.

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4616013
12/27/17 05:48 PM
12/27/17 05:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,189
iowa
Traction Offline
Traction  Offline

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,189
iowa
A tire could have for example, be zero statically balanced, but could have like several ounces of residual dynamic imbalance with the 2 points 180 degrees apart. Although the tire wouldn't hop, it would shimmy like crazy. The only way to truly understand it is to balance about 8000 tires by yourself, like I have in the last 16 years. You can also have a dynamically balanced tire with residual static imbalance too, causing a hop, with no shimmy. A hop happens once per revolution, and a shimmy is usually twice per revolution of the tire/wheel. As to the OP's original question, yes they definitely need to be dynamically balanced with tape weights.

Last edited by Traction; 12/27/17 05:59 PM.

Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4616774
12/28/17 03:10 PM
12/28/17 03:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
WhyMe Offline OP
WhyMe  Offline OP

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 687
Washington for now
so i called them and ask them about the balancing. the guy just said sometime they need one sometimes two. dynamic always has 2 weights correct?

Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4616925
12/28/17 05:39 PM
12/28/17 05:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,189
iowa
Traction Offline
Traction  Offline

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,189
iowa
Originally Posted By: WhyMe
so i called them and ask them about the balancing. the guy just said sometime they need one sometimes two. dynamic always has 2 weights correct?

No, it's possible to dynamic balance with one weight, but I think your shop is just another
"Flintstone tire shop" and you need to go somewhere else, and show the results to them.

Last edited by Traction; 12/28/17 05:40 PM.

Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: static vs dynamic balancing [Re: WhyMe] #4617155
12/28/17 09:37 PM
12/28/17 09:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,095
ME
Calling isn't going to fix it. Going in there will.

Zero is a number, so there's a shot that one side of one tire won't need a weight.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™