Recent Topics
Ruger LCP .380
by PW01
06/23/18 11:24 PM
Launching boat with stick shift
by troutfisher
06/23/18 11:22 PM
Free oil
by Spitter
06/23/18 10:53 PM
Porsche Panamera buying advice
by CharlieBauer
06/23/18 10:04 PM
RC cars
by red7404
06/23/18 09:36 PM
Any Good 4K Movies ?
by Warstud
06/23/18 09:06 PM
Gray on Oil Dipstick?
by chinee
06/23/18 08:41 PM
Clear plastic scratch remover?
by Quattro Pete
06/23/18 08:15 PM
Parking wars show.
by Chris142
06/23/18 08:15 PM
set for years
by 93cruiser
06/23/18 08:07 PM
Looking to replace 2005 Sienna with SUV
by i6pwr
06/23/18 07:26 PM
Trying to fix chainsaw
by turtlevette
06/23/18 06:48 PM
tire rotation
by marine65
06/23/18 06:48 PM
Reese hitch $30 Walmart YMMV
by pda1122
06/23/18 06:14 PM
Managing Anger During Unexpected Tire Change
by TheLawnRanger
06/23/18 06:14 PM
2016 Honda Pilot appears to be consuming oil
by pilot1226
06/23/18 06:00 PM
New belt squeal cause damage to belt?
by pda1122
06/23/18 05:33 PM
Food Safety - If You Have Children
by Zee09
06/23/18 05:15 PM
Reduce TORQUE to COMPENSATE for lubed threads?
by SumpChump
06/23/18 05:02 PM
Chain cleaning and lube
by dadinfo
06/23/18 04:57 PM
Newest Members
bwechols, bowupid, pod423, lemaitrix, azzid0906
65303 Registered Users
Who's Online
58 registered (4WD, Ag76, 379KITTY, AdmdeVilleneuve, aquariuscsm, 3 invisible), 1053 Guests and 31 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65303 Members
67 Forums
285885 Topics
4770957 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4614668 - 12/26/17 12:28 PM New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Ended up with a Zoom 5370 instead of a TP-Link 7610. Both are DOCSIS 3.0, so doesn't matter.

I pay $29.95/month for 30-5 service (Mbps downstream-upstream). Here are the test results on the new Zoom 5370. Prior to this was renting an Arris DG860 from Wide Open West, and unfortunately don't have test results for it. It wasn't necessarily slow but wanted to stop renting it for $10/month plus the 860 is notorious for continuing to monkey with packets while in full bridge mode (no NAT) even though you've disabled the firewall (Arrius DG860 is a combo modem/router). That schiznit was most apparent when I would connect to my workstation at the office, from home via Cisco AnyConnect VPN, as the connection always had lag spikes and random VPN disconnects. So far so good on the VPN with the Zoom 5370 but then it is a modem-only with no firewall and ALG.

I have it connected to a Cisco WiFi router with SPI Firewall active (VPN Pass Through enabled).




_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4614680 - 12/26/17 12:38 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
14Accent Offline


Registered: 08/03/17
Posts: 395
Loc: MN
Congrats! I bought that same modem about a year ago. Wanted to get all 16 channels bonded that Comcast offered in my area. It's been rock solid so far, never had to reset unless I was making network changes, just to refresh it.
_________________________
2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

Top
#4614686 - 12/26/17 12:47 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Thanks, it was between this one and TP-Link 7610 which I thought my fiancee had bought the TP-Link and actually said prematurely the other day in skyactiv's Christmas gift thread that I would be opening a TP-Link, LoL. We opened presents later yesterday and Lo and Behold she'd bought me the 5370.

The modem shows only three upstream channels bonded out of the possible four, but that is because WOW hasn't yet activated a fourth upstream in our region yet. Not that it matters at the Mbps tier I'm paying for though.



_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4614691 - 12/26/17 12:52 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35885
Loc: Great Lakes
Run this test for comparison: http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
#4614699 - 12/26/17 01:02 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: Quattro Pete]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Run this test for comparison: http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest


Done. I'm hitting pretty much what I pay for but it only grades a "C"?





_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4614816 - 12/26/17 03:29 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
Jeffs2006EvoIX Offline


Registered: 02/28/10
Posts: 1623
Loc: Imperial Valley, California
So are you stating your Modem is giving you better speed? Isn't all this set by your IP?

Where I am we have Time Warner, or SPECTRUM now. Its [censored]. On their top tier program I average 20mps and on busy times can be as low as 5mbs. Just depends on the time of day.


Jeff
_________________________
"You don't have to be crazy to do this... But it helps." Bob Ross.

Top
#4614899 - 12/26/17 04:43 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
Brybo86 Offline


Registered: 10/08/11
Posts: 2950
Loc: Chicago, IL
I routinely get 192-200 mbps from sprint wireless,
Comcast gives me 22mbps for $19.99



Edited by Brybo86 (12/26/17 04:47 PM)
_________________________
08 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4L M1 EP 0w20 145k
01 Kymco People 50
95 Lexus LS400 M1 AFE 0w30 193k
95 Yamaha Jog

Top
#4614960 - 12/26/17 05:38 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: Jeffs2006EvoIX]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Originally Posted By: Jeffs2006EvoIX
So are you stating your Modem is giving you better speed? Isn't all this set by your IP?

Where I am we have Time Warner, or SPECTRUM now. Its [censored]. On their top tier program I average 20mps and on busy times can be as low as 5mbs. Just depends on the time of day.


Jeff


I wanted to ditch the rented Arris DG860 because 1. Save $10/month and 2. It's not a very stable device. So I asked for a cable modem for Christmas, she said "You'll have to send me a link because I won't know what is what or where to get one." So I sent her a link to buy a Zoom 5370 off Amazon, then after a couple guys here said TP-Link 7610 was really great bang for the buck I sent her a new url to order the TP-Link off of but apparently she'd already gotten the 5370. cool
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4615078 - 12/26/17 07:28 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
BJD78 Offline


Registered: 08/05/17
Posts: 493
Loc: Nebraska
As long as netflix does not go into buffering mode I do not care about what speed test says. Used to have high speed internet with Time warner and it buffered constantly..Time Warner lied about their speed and were sued over it, TW is not to be trusted. I dumped them like a bad habit when they failed to fix it and wanted me to pay yet another $10.00 per month for "super Roadrunner Turbo" A Scam IMO, anyway went to Windstream with no buffering ever at least so far and have had used WS for 5 years. We also just got the option of ALLO super high speed fiber internet, but for our purposes Windstream works just fine, besides ALLO is $80.00 per month where as my WS is about $45.00. sadly with internet most of us have few choices and many cities only 1 choice(here in Lincoln we have 4 TW, WS, Allo and Internet Nebraska and I suppose Dish as well or buy a "hot spot" would be another option, and then as a consumer you have to select the one you think sucks the least.
_________________________
2010 Forester:122K
2009 Sonata :189K
2010 Tucson:55K

OCI 5K using the cheapest dino oil I can buy,usually NAPA or TSC Travelers oil.

Top
#4615183 - 12/26/17 09:04 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Around here for cable broadband we have only Spectrum (Time Warner) and Wide Open West. AT&T offers a DSL bundled w/ Direct TV, and there might be a satellite option or two. No fiber that I know of. Wide Open West seems to be okay so far.
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4616060 - 12/27/17 05:29 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
Jeffs2006EvoIX Offline


Registered: 02/28/10
Posts: 1623
Loc: Imperial Valley, California
I did the same thing but went with a Motorola unit. Just not sure where the post is going with the speed tests? Should be the same no matter what Modem your using as long as it meets your IP's requirements.


Jeff
_________________________
"You don't have to be crazy to do this... But it helps." Bob Ross.

Top
#4616183 - 12/27/17 08:25 PM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Speed tests are fun. They're like 1/4 mile runs but for data.
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4616366 - 12/28/17 06:32 AM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: Jeffs2006EvoIX]
alarmguy Offline


Registered: 07/10/12
Posts: 2152
Loc: South Carolina
Originally Posted By: Jeffs2006EvoIX
So are you stating your Modem is giving you better speed? Isn't all this set by your IP?

Where I am we have Time Warner, or SPECTRUM now. Its [censored]. On their top tier program I average 20mps and on busy times can be as low as 5mbs. Just depends on the time of day.


Jeff


Jeff,

If your not getting the speed you pay for, it can be 50/50 on whos fault it is.

Its very possible the speed is being delivered to your house but your equipment and possible ragtag way it is set up could also be the issue. Lets not discount electrical interference and wiring in your home either.

Internet providers have nothing to do with what goes on in your house and computers, only can get the speed to the "front door" or modem. Much information on the INTERNET on properly having everything properly set up. A lot of people do miss the "electrical interference" thing though.

Im not sure how common but it is a real issue. SO yes, your provider may not be getting the speed to your front door but in many the cases its the homeowner and why the system is set up. I see some retarded set ups in my line of work.


Edited by alarmguy (12/28/17 06:32 AM)
_________________________
14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50

Top
#4616367 - 12/28/17 06:33 AM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: LoneRanger]
alarmguy Offline


Registered: 07/10/12
Posts: 2152
Loc: South Carolina
Its very cool to have a system your set up in your home and see that you are getting the speed you pay for and sometimes a bit more!
Looks like your having fun with it. I remember the ZOOM modem name back in the old "dial up" days. It was the "got to have" brand and I did have one if I remember correctly.


Edited by alarmguy (12/28/17 06:35 AM)
_________________________
14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50

Top
#4616514 - 12/28/17 09:22 AM Re: New Cable Modem (Zoom 5370) Speed Test Results [Re: alarmguy]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4060
Loc: Midwest USA
Originally Posted By: alarmguy
Its very cool to have a system your set up in your home and see that you are getting the speed you pay for and sometimes a bit more!
Looks like your having fun with it. I remember the ZOOM modem name back in the old "dial up" days. It was the "got to have" brand and I did have one if I remember correctly.


Well, I may have praised the Zoom modem too soon. Although it may be a line condition since it seems to coincide with the recent very cold (single digits at night) weather arriving. Modem is showing it has dropped channel 16 altogether, 0 dBmV level, and data errors showing as uncorrectables on several other channels. channel 14 and 16 always showed barely over 30 SNR each. Channel 16 (657Mhz I think) dropped to show 28 SNR right before it died altogether and now shows among the bonded downstream channels but shows not locked and 0 dBmV. The signal to noise ration (SNR) on all other channels has stayed right around 40 - 41 dBmV which is a good range. It usually locks 579 Mhz as the starting channel and up until yesterday would show a perfect spread 6 Mhz apart with no skips in channels. Sounds a lot like a line problem cropping up actually.
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >