No more steel canister filters huh?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it on the newer Toyotas or is all the auto world going to just pleated refill cartridges? Its a little more of a PIA to do but its ok with me. I can see whats in the pleats and what was in my oil. Kinda messy too. Ive been changing my own oil for over 40 years up until just a few years ago when I had free OC for our new car. Just wondering if everybody is doing this now.

Now? This is old school tech. My early 1980s Mercedes cars use this and it's the best design ever - fully accessible from the top with just 13mm wrenches. Why other manufacturers have to invert them and require giant funky sockets is beyond me.

I much prefer a cartridge filter topside and vertical. Totally clean, easy to look at the media, etc.

My old Porsche 356's and my Porsche 912 both has a steel filter canister with a lid. It had a Fram sticker on
it. I've seen older cars, American and foreign with same set up. No mess. You just pull the element out and wipe the leftover in the canister out with a paper towel. Drop in need element and tighten lid. We just bought a 2014 Grand Cherokee with the V6 and it has a cartridge filter on top of the engine. I haven't had the privilege of that mess yet, but the OC will probably be some time in the spring.

Last edited:
The BMW "big six" had a cartridge filter with Purolator cast right into the housing. That was the 70's.

How are you changing your oil that it is any messier than dealing with a canister? Those are the messy ones unless you're lucky enough to have one pointed straight up and down.

well i did have a pickup that was up and down.I mean instead if just wiping the sealing surface clean and screwing the new on now you have clean out the old oil, and use a o ring etc. Not much more just a few extra steps that you never did with steel cans. Its all easy to an old wretch like me. Got more time than money. That's always been the truth in my life. LOL