Detroit series 60 15w-40 oil suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm going to be doing an out of frame rebuild on a 99 model engine. We will be balancing and blueprinting the engine. Everything new.

I'm still learning about all these ratings, cj-4, ci-4 and so on. I'm wanting to make sure I'm running a top notch oil. My family has always run Chevron oil since I can remember, we actually have some oil Chevron jugs and even some old RPM jugs which I think used to be Chevron back in the day.

So, my question is, with all the ratings and test results of today, is Chevron still a top notch oil? I want to stay with an oil that's readily available on the highway. Seems rotella, delvac, Chevron are the most popular, I'm starting to see Kendall pop up on the road also. A local distributor is pushing the Kendall oil pretty heavy, his big push was something about titanium in the oil or something. And I'm understanding that Detroit's own oil is bottled by delvac.

A friend is running Schaefer's oil in his fresh engine, claims that his consumption dropped from running Chevron. But, it's not readily available on the road.

My current engine has 800k on it, I service every 20k, running Chevron 15w-40, I use 2 gallons of oil between changes. Always has since it was fresh. Oil samples come back ok, but seeing the engine has miles on it, we seem to be getting high iron content in the samples. She's tired, so I don't expect samples to be perfect anymore.

I have no issues doing some reading, so any links posted are a help as well.

Any of the major brands will serve you well if you want the conevience of buying the oil on the road.

It's not so much the convenience, I think of emergency situations. I carry a couple gallons with me, always do my own services, but in an emergency can I get the oil on the road.

In an emergency on the road, they are all mixable. Just top up and run on, just like all over the road truckers do. Change at regular interval.