New wheels/tires, bigger

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Thinking about putting some new wheels on my Sonata, currently has 17's. Going to go up to 18's. I have the Limited trim and it came with 17's and the Sport trim has 18's. I'm wondering what the overall difference might be by doing so? I know it won't ride quite as well but I don't think it'll be a huge degradation. I am hoping however that it'll help the handling because right now it's not that great. I'm a pretty spirited driver most of the time and the handling just isn't made for that. Biggest problem is body roll in corners (really needs stiffer springs) and I'm hoping the less cushy tires will reduce that. Just wondering how other's cars have changed by putting on larger wheels.

Thanks!

And if you're wondering which wheels: https://cdn.discounttire.com/sys-master/...kes_5_20_dp.png

And yes I know that the larger wheels will reduce the life of my shocks, struts, and other suspension components.

The only reason is look or to fit big brakes.

Otherwise new tires can improve anything you find deficient with the current ones.

be it handling, traction etc.

Originally Posted By: Rand
The only reason is look or to fit big brakes.

Otherwise new tires can improve anything you find deficient with the current ones.

be it handling, traction etc.

For sure, the OEM Kumho's are eh. I'm not enthralled with them to say the least. Main reason is looks but a super close second is truly to try and improve the handling even marginally. I thought about lowering springs but that's just not my style. Never really understood the desire for lowered look (nor the practicality) myself but to each his own.