Valvoline dex/merc in a Honda trans

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I’m borrowing my girlfriends 05 Saturn VUE as my subaru is being worked on (bodywork). Well, I’m tryin got get a good tuneup while I’m borrowing. So as I’m checking stuff, there’s a large 1 gallon jug of valvoline dex/merc blue bottle in the rear. It’s half full. So apparently, someone put it in the car a while back. What harm is this? Auto trans are kinda a mystery to me.

The car does some weird things. When the car is on a negative load. Like between shifts or if i leave it in low, it will make a “grinding” ish noise. But only when cold. Shortly after driving, it’s much quieter. The car shifts ok, maybe a little sluggish.

The car is the Honda equipped 3.5 and Auto. The fluid is dark red. I’m not sure it smells burned, but doesn’t smell right, but I’m also not an expert on Auto.

What should i do? Should i flush it via, cooler, qt at a time? Drain and fill can get very very expensive. I’ve already put a reasonable amount of money into this.

Thank you.

From what I have heard, many Honda transmission using just dex merc will shift very hard (but it is not damaging to the transmission), actually earlier honda spec Dex Merc IIe from factory.

Z1 and DW1 soften it and MaxLife or other brands' import multi-vehicle ATF are designed to work with Honda transmission, so it should be ok as long as the bottle said so on the label.