Battery care for winter question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to button start dirt bikes. Recently towards the end of summer I picked up a lightly use Yamaha Wr450f. Since I'm not riding this winter (eastern Washington). Should I pull the battery and store it inside? If so should I leave it on the battery tender inside too? Thanks

Yes if your storage drops below 50F and yes wither way.

I’ve done it this way for years and my bike batteries seem to last forever. My KLR battery isn’t easy to remove so it’s in the garage on a tender...we’ll see how it survives temps possibly down to 0F

Chemical reactions in general occur twice as fast for every increase of 10 degree C (18 degree F) and also occur half as fast for every decrease of 10 degree C (18 degree F). Also a discharged battery can be damaged by freezing if the temperature is too cold.

So for the longest life you want to keep a battery in cold temperatures, but not cold enough to freeze it. It is also a good idea to use a battery tender to keep the battery charged.

So basically if I leave it on the battery tender I should not have to remove it? I doubt we get cold enough to freeze a charged battery here. Rarely gets zero.

The battery in my Harley is over 3 years old, and is left in the bike in a unheated garage all winter, on a tender. It gets riden 1 day a week, and starts normally with 20/50 wt oil in it. The winter temps here get down to 5 f at times. I usually won't ride at that temp, but anything over 25 f is a go, unless there's snow or ice on the road. If your battery is iffy, I don't believe a tender will do much for you.,,, .

Remember garages don't get as cold as all outside, either. Mine bottoms out in the low 20s thanks to the concrete slab. When I had a bike I just put a battery tender on it for 2 hours on Valentines day then topped it off when I dusted it off in Spring.