I located Pennzoil Platinum Euro LX 0W30 locally

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know it's been discussed on here before. Select Advance Auto locations are selling it, so I bought a case of six.
Needless to say the price sucks, but I might take one for the team and do a UOA just to see how the TBN will hold up.
The oil was made September, 2015 which kinda sucks. But the TDS on the Pennzoil website dates back to May, 2015.
What is interesting is Pennzoil stating on the TDS of this oil reducing inlet valve deposits and the viscosity index is 204.

Does the high viscosity index make it any better or worse in some way?

http://www.pennzoil.com/en_us/products/f...c_Motor_Oil.pdf

In the face of VW 504/507 and MB 229.52, I wouldn't worry too much about any individual parameter. This is seriously tough stuff.

Normally, when I see a high VI and low-ish flash point, I think "VIIs". But I'm no expert, so maybe someone better informed can comment. If this oil's viscometrics say anything definite to me, it's that this oil has VERY good cold properties for an xW-30.

Oil-club.ru seems to think this is the same oil as Shell Helix Ultra ECT C2/C3 0W-30. If so, here's a link to a better VOA than we ever get here on BITOG: http://www.oil-club.ru/forum/topic/14974-shell-helix-ultra-ect-c2c3-0W-30-svezhee/

Found this at my AAP as well. I believe it's eligible for the rebate. Anyway..would love to see how it holds up. On paper it looks like a good oil. Keep us posted.

Originally Posted By: BTLew81
Found this at my AAP as well. I believe it's eligible for the rebate. Anyway..would love to see how it holds up. On paper it looks like a good oil. Keep us posted.

The Euro L and LX are a specific type of oils. Nothing on the website or the product pics leads me to believe that the euro offerings are eligible. What makes you think otherwise ?

Originally Posted By: d00df00d