Car and Driver's Top 10 picks for 2018

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got a subscription to Car and Driver magazine because it was a good deal and I will say I have been enjoying it but thier top 10 pick is Bull and a bit agrevates me.
Being I own a Challenger and I am pretty much a Dodge and Ford guy I read that they didn't consider the Challenger since it hasn't changed since it's reentrance and they talked about the Hellcat but stated the Demon just wasn't in a price range that could be considered practical. Ok?
Now let's look at some of their Top 10 picks. Corvette, yeah, that's practical two seater, price ranges right in there for a middle income class, Chevy Camaro V6/V8, have they changed since they were introduced because you can still barely see out the windows, blind spots galore. Mazda Miata, are you serious, two seater and a trunk big enough for your half your age girlfriends make up bag, practical.But the Best one, Mercedes Benz AMG. Really, That's in a price range of what a house?
Sorry, I am venting but it's quite clear these tests and results are compromised. Not one Ford, really cause I see as many Fords as Toyotas who I don't think got any kudos either.

Their 10 best list is pretty misleading. It's basically the 10 best new cars. Which means that some older car could be better, but it's not new so it doesn't make their list.

Also the best is the E43 which some consider isn't a real AMG as that would be something like the E63 or S63/S65. It probably should have been called something like the E550 but they got rid of that in 2015. The E43 starts at about 72k but if you throw in the P3 package along with a few other options, you're well over 80k.

The E400 sedan should be out next year so that should be a little bit lower in price.

Please, I blew off such "Top 10 Lists" when I was a kid.

OOOhhhhh, it's the newest...it's the best....it's improved.....just marketing to look good in print.