Recent Topics
Questions About 9011 Bulbs
by knerml. 09/24/18 02:23 PM
Lubricant Additives - A Practical Guide
by wemay. 09/24/18 01:39 PM
Fram Ultra--Any Real Competition?
by IndyFan. 09/24/18 12:59 PM
Used generator price.
by Eddie. 09/24/18 11:55 AM
More energy concerns about Bitcoin
by OVERKILL. 09/24/18 10:01 AM
Soot loading from DI engines - Size of particles
by StevieC. 09/24/18 09:58 AM
New TV bad picture some channels
by raaizin. 09/24/18 09:35 AM
Crown Victoria HVAC repair
by emmett442. 09/24/18 08:44 AM
2007 Toyota Camry LE Alternator
by maverickfhs. 09/24/18 08:28 AM
AutoSense drying not drying
by Ifixyawata. 09/24/18 08:23 AM
Time for a new Generator... Wisdom desired!
by webfors. 09/24/18 06:36 AM
flat roof weight bearing support
by henni. 09/24/18 06:29 AM
ADD A MARBLE - Make Life Easier
by MasterSolenoid. 09/24/18 06:17 AM
Newest Members
albert001, LG_Electronics, TCam, OzFrog, Kursk
66062 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
96 registered members (ArrestMeRedZ, 69GTX, Audios, 2010Civic, BeerCan, advocate, 6 invisible), 1,917 guests, and 31 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,944
Posts4,852,979
Members66,062
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS #4599418
12/09/17 10:57 PM
12/09/17 10:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
I went into my BIOS to check what the computer's Boot Device order was setup to - these are factory setting from Dell. Running Windows 7, SP1.

I want to make sure it will boot from my CD/DVD drive if it can't boot from the HDD, so if I have a Windows Repair Disk installed it will boot-up. Here's a snap-shot of my current BIOS settings. Not sure how a PC boots from an "Onboard NIC Device". The 3rd option "Internal ODD Device" is my CD/DVD drive.

So if I leave it in this configuration will it boot from my CD/DVD drive since I don't think I have any way to boot from a NIC device ("Network Interface Card") ... ?? I don't know anything about booting from a NIC device.




Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599429
12/09/17 11:20 PM
12/09/17 11:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 362
AL,NC,TX,Germany,Korea,Italy
Timo325 Offline
Timo325  Offline
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 362
AL,NC,TX,Germany,Korea,Italy
Change the two out. HHD, CD-ROM, then NIC if that's what you want.


2011 Odyssey Touring Elite 80k mi. M1 EP, 0W-20, FU
2008 Mustang GT 81k mi. Edge EP (Gold) 5W-20, FU

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599430
12/09/17 11:21 PM
12/09/17 11:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,813
CA
spackard Offline
spackard  Offline
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,813
CA
It should work with what you have set.
You could optimize it more, if you want. Disable USB booting. Move the ODD device to 2nd boot device.

Google PXE Boot for more information about booting from the NIC, but you won't want to put that kind of work into a home PC.

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599435
12/09/17 11:30 PM
12/09/17 11:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
I tried making some changes to the Boot Device settings, and it doesn't let me adjust each on independently. For instance, if I change the setting for the 2nd Boot Device, it will also make the 1st Boot Device setting change to something else. I'll have to go back into the BIOS and play with it again.

I guess I can also make the computer boot from the CD/DVD drive by hitting F12 on boot-up and choosing it.

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599438
12/09/17 11:37 PM
12/09/17 11:37 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,366
The land of USA-made Subies!
SubieRubyRoo Offline
SubieRubyRoo  Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,366
The land of USA-made Subies!
If you want the functionality, make the CD drive 1st and HDD 2nd, NIC 3rd. If there is no disk in the drive on boot, it will skip it and go to the HDD. NIC booting is for network-based stuff, does not apply. You should be able to go into the NIC line item and disable it.

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599445
12/09/17 11:56 PM
12/09/17 11:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,109
Northern Ontario, Canada
Danno Offline
Danno  Offline
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,109
Northern Ontario, Canada
Setting HDD as 1st boot will help the system boot faster as it won't search the cd drive each time you boot. And the way I think about it is if you can't enter into the BIOS to change the boot order, you have bigger issues than a boot from CD will solve.


2016 Sorento SX V6 AWD
2015 KIA RIO SX
2010 Mazda 3 2.0L
2009 Venza V6 AWD
2013 Sonata 2.4L RIP in write-off crash
Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599508
12/10/17 03:37 AM
12/10/17 03:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
Went back into the BIOS and set the Boot Device order. I was able to change the order as shown. Not sure what a "USB Floppy" is, but boot-up sequence will never get that far anyway.

I just want a Repair Disk to boot from the CD/DVD drive in case the HDD can't boot up without going into F12 and choosing the boot device. Should be good to go.



Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599512
12/10/17 04:51 AM
12/10/17 04:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,400
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Garak Offline
Garak  Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,400
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
A USB floppy is just that, since there aren't a lot of built in 3.5" floppies any longer. But, some people may have a use for starting from a floppy still, albeit it very rare.

There are lots of good suggestions here, and what you have will work. Some people, as indicated, like the CD first, which has some advantages, but most of them are obsolete. Trying the HD first is faster, of course, and has its advantages, too.

I rarely boot from an optical disc, unless I'm redoing the operating system, so I have it set something like you do, and simply boot from the CD/DVD manually by going into the boot options and booting from the DVD manually. I see your secure boot is disabled from the factory, which is kind of odd. For me, it's disabled, because Mint's support is spotty, as is the developers' understanding of it.


Plain, simple Garak.

2008 Infiniti G37 - Shell ROTELLA T6 Multi-Vehicle 5w-30, NAPA Gold 7356
1984 F-150 4.9L - Quaker State GB 10w-30, Wix 51515
Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: Garak] #4599523
12/10/17 05:43 AM
12/10/17 05:43 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,730
PNW
Originally Posted By: Garak
I see your secure boot is disabled from the factory, which is kind of odd.


I didn't know what Secure Boot was, so did some Google research. It's disabled because Windows 7 doesn't support it. It sounds like Windows 8.1 and beyond supports Secure Boot technology. When I bought this computer Dell was selling both Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 machines ... I opted for Windows 7.

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599527
12/10/17 05:49 AM
12/10/17 05:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,400
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Garak Offline
Garak  Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,400
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Ahh, okay. My historical knowledge of Secure Boot isn't great. I had to battle with it a little while back, when one version of Mint worked with it, and the subsequent version, paradoxically, did not. I had some arguments with the developers over that, because they claimed no support for Secure Boot in Mint. Then, they decided to update some secure boot packages, which caused me to go off on them, because muddling with secure boot packages when you don't support secure boot in your OS is the height of stupidity and time wasting.


Plain, simple Garak.

2008 Infiniti G37 - Shell ROTELLA T6 Multi-Vehicle 5w-30, NAPA Gold 7356
1984 F-150 4.9L - Quaker State GB 10w-30, Wix 51515
Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599632
12/10/17 09:18 AM
12/10/17 09:18 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,104
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,104
ME
Secure boot was a pox on my ubuntu install as well. Went through some workaround script. Was cool when it worked though as I didn't need GRUB though it was set up anyway-- could go into BIOS and pick my OS that way as well.

OP is set up fine. In the rare occasion that he has too boot off a CD what's an extra second wait for the NIC to not work?

Re: Boot Device Sequence Setup in BIOS [Re: ZeeOSix] #4599643
12/10/17 09:29 AM
12/10/17 09:29 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,209
Texas
JustinH Offline
JustinH  Offline
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,209
Texas
NIC boot is used to apply a corporate image over a LAN to the computer.

We use it all the time at work, you would not use it at home.


'11 Hyundai Sonata GLS
'11 Scion XB

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™