Shelf life of motor oils???

Hi Guys,
I am a newbie on this forum, so please be gentle...

A few days ago, I sent this email to Shell/Pennzoil Motor Oil:

"About six years ago, I moved, and apparently, I misplaced 5 one quart bottles of Platinum Full Synthetic SAE 5 W 30 motor oil. I just found them a couple of days ago. Very soon I will be due for my next oil change on my "Pride and Joy". Since this particular car has an eight quart capacity crankcase, I am 3 quarts short. My question to you is if I could safely mix or combine this "old" oil with three quarts of "new" oil. I remember reading somewhere that now Pennzoil synthetizes their oil from natural gas rather than from conventional oil stocks. I have no idea what the synthesis procedure was six years ago. I just want to make sure that this "two different oils" are miscible with one another and that I WILL NOT harm my engine."
The answer was short and sweet, somewhere along the lines of: Pennzoil Motor Oil has a shelf life of four years.We recommend you dump this oil and buy new one.

What do you guys think? Can I still safely use it or not? We are talking retail price of about $40.00 to just simply "Dump".

Thanks for your help.

welcome2.gif
to BITOG!

Go ahead and use it. It's fine.

You might want to be aware of the oil spec. And older spec oil would not be appropriate for some modern engines.

In a worst case, there's always the lawn mower. The oil won't go bad just sitting there and as PimTac suggested, give it a good shake.

Look at how long oils sit and are used in the car. I am sure that there are 50s and 60s cars that still have their original oils in the axles and trans etc... a few years sitting on your shelf isnt anything.

Any Pennzoil employee telling you that its synthetic oil has a four year shelf life is a nitwit. Make sure it has the right API rating for your vehicle, and give it a good shake before pouring.