Need input on a CPO '15 Malibu

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm eyeing this 2015 Malibu LT . Their asking price is $13,865 down from $16,xxx. Has 22k miles on it. I'm thinking of offering $13,000 out the door with top offer of $13,500 out the door. What do you think my chances are of getting it for that price range? Going to test drive it tomorrow.

The 2.5L 4-cylinder in those Malibu's is not that sturdy of an engine....it's anecdoctal, but I work in a garage, and I've seen a couple of them come in for timing-chain related issues, both the 2.4 and the new 2.5.

I know GM revised the OLM to shorten OCI's, but I think these engines are going to have more and more problems as time goes on.

Well, I've seen quite a few Malis of that vintage in MI, and the 16k was real high to begin with...

I think 13k (or a little below) would be a good way to go. We have a glut of used sedans around here-and they are going nowhere near their value. Seen a few local lots going under 12k with a bit (slightly) than the one you are looking at.

I'd give it a shot!

Originally Posted By: Lolvoguy
Only if the blonde is included in the deal.

I can't imagine the maintenance needed on that item.
crackmeup2.gif

Originally Posted By: JohnnyJohnson
Chevys aren't selling well. I wouldn't go over $13000 out the door.

Noted, thanks.
smile.gif

Originally Posted By: addyguy
The 2.5L 4-cylinder in those Malibu's is not that sturdy of an engine....it's anecdoctal, but I work in a garage, and I've seen a couple of them come in for timing-chain related issues, both the 2.4 and the new 2.5.

I know GM revised the OLM to shorten OCI's, but I think these engines are going to have more and more problems as time goes on.

That's a bit concerning. I saw a few things of concern on Car Complaints , but besides the 2017, the 2015 has the fewest complaints hence the reason I chose that years' model. Also will ask them if the 2 or 3 recalls on that model year has been addressed.