Cold air intake - 2000 F150 4.6 V8 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DR1

I know the term the best....is frowned upon,but is there one cold air intake that it better than any of the others for my 2000 F150 4.6 V8 4x2 auto trans. ext cab? Do these actually work?

Last edited:
you are going to put a hot air intake? I bet the engine cant use all the air the stock intake can provide. Might sound meaner though.

I was a mechanic at a Honda dealer eons ago. I've seen them from time to time. They didn't add any power but they did add noise.

The best cold air intake for a 10th gen F150 is the OEM intake. It pulls air from the fender well, outside the engine compartment.

Some will do the "Gotts mod" where the intake enters the fender well to make it larger, but it is mainly a sound thing, no proof of any more power from it.

I have seen some take the tubing section from an aftermarket intake and adapt it to the OEM filter and inlet to smooth out the airflow and change the sound, but again, no proof that it does anything at all except make your wallet lighter.

Pick one that looks good to you and doesn't cost much. There will be absolutely no performance gains either way. On some vehicles, removing the stock airbox and replacing with a short ram or CAI can make the engine bay much nicer looking and accessible. I doubt it's the case with an F-150, but my '01 Civic's airbox and intake silencer assembly were together bigger than the entire engine. I got rid of that mess real quick. I put on the cheapest eBay intake tube I could find (for my application, they were all the same from $40 - $400). Didn't add power, mpg, or sound (nor did it hurt anything) but I don't have to remove all that stuff just to do the simplest things now.

If you do decide to go that route, make sure you get a good quality air filter. I like AEM DryFlows.

Originally Posted By: Nick1994
Yup, the one Ford put on your truck in 2000.

+1

It won't do anything except maybe add some noise. Maybe.