How to brine my turkey before smoking it?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since I'm a novice at brining foods before cooking them , I purchased a "brining kit" from my local grocery store last year. I brined my turkey and then cooked it in my electric smoker, and it turned out great! Since the turkey turned out so well, I thought I'd look for any additional tips to improve my results.

My brining kit says to brine the turkey for no more than 1 hour per pound, then rinse, season and cook. However, I see Charbroil says "Remove the turkey from the brine, rinse it in cold water. Be sure to rinse all surfaces of the bird, including the body cavity." and "Dry off the turkey with a towel, and let it rest for about 12 to 24 hours so that the salt and flavors can really disperse throughout the meat." Source: https://www.charbroil.com/learn/smoke-turkey-electric-smoker

From those of you smoker connoisseurs, does the Charbroil method sound like good advice? Any other tips, hints, etc., for an amateur turkey smoker?

Thank you!

Ed

I tried to brine turkey and it just does not do well cuz of the size,
I watch oscar myer do the injection thing.
I bought a turkey injector and mixed up my brew and injected the turkey all around and let it chill.
I baked it and the result was YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY.

I am going do the next one with a rub along with the injection.

we brine our turkeys using a dry rub salt mixture rubbed all over the bird. The bird stays in a big plastic bag in the fridge for about 2 or 3 days prior to cooking....very juicy turkeys

We have a 5 gallon bucket with a lid - immerse 20 lb turkey along with a bunch of garlic, herbs, salt. (search for brine recipes)

We let ours soak for at least two days in the fridge.

Remove from brine, we don't rinse it, place in cooking bag and put in oven.

Always comes out delicious!

I've been doing a dry brine with salt, pepper and a little baking powder to help with the skin.