LMM Duramax 400k mi; Delo 5w-40 20k mi

Vehicle 2009 Chevy 3500 cutaway chassis. In service date Aug 2011
Engine: Duramax LMM
Oil: Chevron Delo 5W40 Full Syn CJ4 for whole life. NO Additives!
Filter: Fleetguard LF16102

Service Interval: 20,000 miles for oil and filter

Below is a data summary report for this unit. On the right side are the averages and the max values for each measured item. TAN was not tested at every sample..hence only 12 counts vs 20.

[Linked Image from bobistheoilguy.com]

Filters are cut open at every service and checked. Will post pics if anyone interested. Unit has one more service interval on CJ4 and then will switch to CK4 Delo 5W40 syn.

Last edited by a moderator:
This is incredible. Also incredibly good. I'm not an expert on Duramax engines but it seems like this is one with a "9th injector" and therefore no fuel dilution due to regeneration. What a difference between this engine and previous ones with up to 6% fuel dilution.
The main difference of the CK4 seems to be less Zn/P. Will be interesting if wear #s go up.

What a great sheet of information that is. If that's something that Polaris offers, that would be a good reason to use them. Thanks for sharing this with us!

Originally Posted By: leje0306
Ummm bypass filter?

No...no bypass filter...just the full flow Fleetguard. I bought a bypass system (Racor)...but never installed it once I saw the numbers were what they are.

Originally Posted By: dustyroads
What a great sheet of information that is. If that's something that Polaris offers, that would be a good reason to use them. Thanks for sharing this with us!
Dusty - it is included in the Polaris service. There is a Management Reports menu that has various reports you can run, one of them being the Data Analysis Report:

WCHxU1.jpg

After doing a little reading around the site I think I should maybe add a few comments.