Mental health VS Daily lifefamilymarriage struggle

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,

Ok I’m getting a bit personal here, but I’m looking for anything you might say after reading this.

First, I have a depressive background since I was 5yo. Wasn’t aware at this moment, but it’s obvious now that I look back. That said, I went though 3 years of therapy, psychology and psychiatry. I feel really better now, but...

My life has changed. In my 20s, I used to enjoy hanging out with friends, motorcycle rides, car joyrides, listening music, making some, I had many hobbies.

Now I’m 30, I’m married, have a 2yo son with my wife who already have a now 6yo daughter. I work as an IT MSP and enjoy what I do. Family life is hard because constantly being in a underlying war with the daughter, wife avoiding intimacy with me, coming up with various reasons day after day. Not having time to do what I loved to, barely see friends, motorcycle barely 1 time every 2 weeks, well... I’m trying everything I can to make it (family life) right but I feel alone, it’s like it will never happen, still I hope.

Although I’d probably be better somewhere else doing something else with someone else, divorce isn’t an option for now, first I love my wife, second we have a son. So I try to accept and deal with it but... I’m tired.

Pretty common story.

Most of these issues are communication based, even the issue with the daughter.

You're talking about your marriage on a website about motor oil. Why are you not talking to your wife? Is this something that doesn't happen? Would approaching your wife feel abnormal?

What stopped you from doing the things you enjoy? It wasn't having children. It was something else.